We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Port Macquarie

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Port Macquarie
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

871 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Port Macquarie
See the most recent reviews
Showing 857: English reviews
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 3 February 2016 via mobile

Over priced the room is run down in desperate need of renovation, looks like you've time warped to the sixties a terrible view over a roof top. Antiquated shower in the bath very dangerous, no hand rails, the step out of the bath is frightening. Staff dismissive and rude. Went to have our evening meal at 8.30pm at the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn P
Reviewed 1 February 2016

We enjoyed a 3 night stay, unfortunately the room we had, had no lovely oceanview or even a poolview. The view was of the back of the shops and car park! The beds were comfortable, the room was neat and clean. The reception staff were friendly and professional. The decor was old and boring in the room. We hadn't pay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tripntjc
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Hi Tripntjc, Thanks for your review. Pleased to read you were impressed with the staff and comfortable beds. Yes, we have the limited parking available at $10 per night for hotel rooms. If an apartment or studio is booked the parking is included in the rate and is guaranteed. Thanks again for the feedback. Rydges Port Macquarie

Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

Ok we have stayed here previously: Fast early checkin with efficient and friendly staff thanks Nicole. Breakfast at Zebu delicious as always however table and chairs were sticky? Possibly need wiping down it is a bar. Pool area we enjoyed however there is a huge mouldy area around the edges that needs to be cleaned. Parking no problems and yes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Hi Donna C, Great, informative review, thank you! Nicole was thrilled to receive your shout out! Thanks for the positive feedback. I passed your feedback on to housekeeping regarding the pool. Thanks again for your comments. Hopefully we'll be welcoming you back again soon! Cheers, Rydges Port Maquarie

Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

This hotel has a great location, since it is in town and can walk every where. It is close to restaurants and shops. If you get a water view room it looks out over the water. The beach is probably under 10mins walking distance. The hotel room was spacious, nice and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachael S
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Hey Rachael S, Great review! Thank you! Happy to read you were impressed with the water view rooms and our staff! Thanks again for the positive feedback, Rydges Port Macquarie

Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for our annual anniversary weekend away in December. The staff were lovely, the rooms were fresh, clean and modern and the location overlooking the beautiful Hastings River is very central. The beach is approximately a 5 minute walk from the hotel and the shopping/ cafe district are just on your doorstep. Our only complaint from the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel J
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Hey Mel J, Thanks for the great review! Pleased to read you were impressed with the staff and central location! Hopefully we'll see you again...and with better weather next time! Thanks again, Rydges Port Macquarie

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Rydges Port Macquarie on our drive from Sydney to Brisbane. The hotel was in a great location close to the local shopping centre and cafes. Room was a great size, however the bathroom was outdated. The king bed was comfortable until we reached the gap between the split mattress. Our views of the water were obstructed with an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kayla-Jane M
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Hey Kayla-Jane M, Thanks for staying with us. Pleased to read you were impressed with the location and room size. Your comments regarding the bathroom have been passed onto management. Thanks again for your feedback. Cheers, Rydges Port Macquarie

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2016

We paid $450 a night in January for a king bedroom with balcony overlooking the river. I was expecting a reasonable level of luxury, but not so. The room was large with a very good king bed, but the furniture was quite old and in poor condition. The shower was in the bath which my wife had great difficulty using...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John F
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Hey John F, Thanks for your feedback. Pleased to read you were impressed with the room size and king bed. Apologies for any difficulties experienced with the shower over the bath. We do have four easy access rooms that don't have the bath. Please let us know if you stay again and we will be sure to allocate you one...

The Entrance, Australia
Reviewed 18 January 2016

I usually stay at Rydges locations with my wife on overnight getaways so this was my first choice when I had to come to town for business. Very spacious rooms with the signature Rydges Dream Beds. A very well set out twin bed room. A few little disappointments which could of been easy fixes though. 1) The door needs to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CC_Tourism_Journal
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Hi CC_Tourism_Journal, Firstly thanks for the positive feedback about the Rydges Dream bed - pleased to read you were impressed with them! I have passed on your other comments to housekeeping and maintenance. Apologies for any dissatisfaction! We value our guests and any feedback is appreciated. Thanks again for your review, Rydges Port Macquarie

Reviewed 17 January 2016

Brilliant location in Port Macquarie, the Rydges is central to most everything you need for a holiday / stopover hotel. Great sized rooms with comfy beds and plenty of pillows which we like. Reception and all staff encountered were very friendly and helpful. Two minor issues, one was the constant hum of what we assume was our neighbour's air conditioning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 99rollercoaster
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Hi 99rollercoaster, Thanks for the great review! Pleased to read you were impressed with the staff and your hotel room! Apologies about the air conditioning noise, I have passed your feedback onto the maintenance manager. Thanks again for the review. Cheers, Rydges Port Macquar

Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

Rydges is one of the best hotels in Port Macquarie, with a great location and good views over the Broadwater. Their two bedroom units are extremely spacious, not uber modern, but certainly up to date and comfortably furnished. All that is required for apartment living is there, with good air conditioning in the room. Parking is secure under the hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Todd S
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Hey Todd S, Great review! Thank you! Delighted to read you are impressed with the water view apartments and our central location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Cheers, Rydges Port Macquarie

234 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (216)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.3 km away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
810 reviews
0.7 km away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#4 of 42 in Port Macquarie
296 reviews
1.0 km away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by...
#11 of 42 in Port Macquarie
509 reviews
0.4 km away
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
0.3 km away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The location is the picturesque foreshore precinct filled with theatres, galleries, restaurants, boutiques and bars. With direct access to pristine swimming and surf beaches and only minutes to the amazing hinterland, Rydges Port Macquarie is the ideal destination for your next getaway on the water. Rydges Port Macquarie offers 103 contemporary and spacious rooms overlooking the water or CBD, complemented by 16 fully self-contained two and three bedroom apartments with private balconies. Also home to the award winning Zebu Bar + Grill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Port Macquarie

Address: 1 Hay St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Price Range: $169 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Port Macquarie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Rydges Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Port Macquarie Hotel Port Macquarie
Rydges Hotel Port Macquarie
Port Macquarie Rydges Hotel
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Port Macquarie staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Port Macquarie staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not book a standard room. The higher levels of hotel would be nicer view, but cannot comment on standard of rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles eagle1232017, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Worth being a Priority Guest member”
 of 5 bubbles gamain, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room did not face the water but was still lovely and very spacious and also quiet which suited us.”
 of 5 bubbles pkourt, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a balcony have a view over the river. All the rooms have a view over the town”
 of 5 bubbles 316ruthb, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“River views”
 of 5 bubbles lampsac, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5