We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Pokolbin Village

2188 Broke Rd, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (139)
Room & Suite (62)
Dining (7)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#2 of 4 resorts in Pokolbin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Nestled in the heart of Pokolbin, minutes to all the major attractions and event locations, Pokolbin Village offers unique 4-star accommodation with a charming and friendly "Village" atmosphere, ideal for the perfect Hunter Valley getaway. We offer a range of Hotel style rooms as well as self-contained options for families and larger groups. Surrounded by vineyards, Pokolbin Village features 4-star accommodation, a full-size tennis court, swimming pool, boules court, landscaped grounds and an array of on-site attractions to suit couples, families and groups. Relax by the pool, play tennis or browse the on-site attractions including The Pokolbin Bottle shop (with a huge array of local Wines, local, imported and craft beers), The Pokolbin Chocolate & Jam Company, The Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop and Pokolbin General Store with a large range of essentials, gifts and memorabilia. Fawk Foods Cafe is also conveniently located on-site and is open daily from 7.00am is the perfect place to enjoy a sumptuous breakfast, coffee and cake or lunch 7 days a week. You'll be spoilt for choice for eating out with Blaxland Inn next door and Roche Estate an easy 5 minutes stroll away with their array of options for lunch, dinner and drinks, including the amazing range of cocktails at Goldfish Bar and Restaurant.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Horseback riding
Bicycle tours
Taxi service
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Dishwasher
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English
506Reviews4Q+A99Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 187
  • 217
  • 69
  • 14
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
David - Vanessa B wrote a review Dec 2023
Wagga Wagga, Australia21 contributions3 helpful votes
Lovely relaxing stay. Beautiful environment. Good service. Great amenities. Lots to do nearby. Cabins well provisioned. Peaceful. We would definitely go back. Nice wildlife with free ranging wallabies and birds.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
lh15 wrote a review Nov 2023
36 contributions8 helpful votes
Staff were nice but book in process antique...still took a $150 off credit card that took days to be put back on.... most places now do an imprint or $1....room was very noisy-the loft room with no ambience....otherwise ok ...just....room was clean and functional. Ok for one night....
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
GloriaSome wrote a review Mar 2023
Hobart, Australia226 contributions68 helpful votes
We stayed for two nights in a standard queen room. While compact, it had everything we needed, the bed was comfortable (pillows were a little firm) the bathroom was well appointed with lots of towels and toiletries. The AC was efficient as was the ceiling fan. There was a small balcony, with two chairs and a table. There was not cupboard and while there was a small rack of hooks there were no coat hangars and we had to organise with friends to drop us off some hangars for our “wedding clothes” this was a minor issue and did not detract from our pleasant stay. The room wa S good value for money and Pokolbin Village has excellent amenities including an excellent general store, bottle shop and several eateries, plus a pool which although we didn’t have time to use looked inviting! I would recommend staying at Pokolbin Village it is central to the Hunter wine trail and is clearly popular both for its accommodation and amenities
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Katherine V wrote a review Jan 2023
I stayed with my mum and two children (9yo and 6yo) and we all loved it. We were upgraded from a 3 bedroom villa to the 4 bedroom Homestead at no extra cost, and the amenities, privacy, and space was wonderful. Wifi was fantastic, Netflix was included, full kitchen, lovely big bath. Air con in the living room and fans in each bedroom. There is a gorgeous long deck at the back of the homestead overlooking a paddock where kangaroos would gather to feed at dusk, the kids loved it. We had a swim in the pool, which is just a regular pool, but still fun for the kids. The location is amazing - so good to have the shops of Pokolbin Village out the front (two cafes, a boutique homewares/jewellery/clothing store, a general store, a cheese/chocolate shop), Roche Estate with two lovely restaurants next door, Hunter Valley Gardens only a few mins away, and the zoo about 8 mins away). The staff were very friendly and helpful, I had to ring up a couple of times to change dates and they were very flexible about it all. My mum also left something behind and they went and found it for us and are posting it back. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bonnie M wrote a review Jan 2023
We spent our Christmas break at Pokolbin Village for 4 days, the Villa was great, very clean, comfortable, & well stocked with supplies, toiletries & clean towels. We had a lovely quiet,peaceful stay, I certainly would reccomend friends & Family to stay there & we will be happy to visit & stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Companion16528235646 wrote a review Jan 2023
Run down rooms with broken air conditioning, with management unwilling to address issues, even when reported Carpet is in very poor state with multiple visible marks across the room. Bathroom faucets also need maintenance
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Dickson, General Manager at Pokolbin Village
Responded 19 Jan 2023
Thanks "companion16528235646" for taking the time to review your "stay". Noted that you mention "rooms", how many did you stay in during your stay or did you inspect several? While not sure what "rooms" you stayed in that had "broken air-conditioning" as we only had one unit that we believed required being replaced. That unit has since been replaced in the first week that our AC unit technician returned from Xmas holidays. As a matter of record, once that unit was ID'd as being inefficient, that room was taken offline and no guests stayed in it over the past 4 weeks. If you've reported a faulty unit, we have no record of it. As for the carpets, again not sure which of the "rooms" you stayed in or inspected, but given this is the first complaint we've had along such lines we'll be sure to check rooms to ensure their status.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Toni G wrote a review Jan 2023
Theodore, Australia328 contributions69 helpful votes
+1
From the friendly advice given via emails before our stay until our checkout, we had nothing but positive experiences with our stay here. Our unit was extremely spacious with our deck overlooking the pool. The skylight in the bathroom was great for light in the whole unit. The decor and furnishings were very comfortable, must admit the couch (actually a sofa bed) was fantastic place to relax on after a busy day of wine, chocolate, cheese and olive tasting. The village was also so convenient, everything from ice from the bottle shop to repeat visits to Fawks. Purchases were also made from the General Store, Smelly Cheese Shop and the Chocolate shop 😊 Other attractions were literally within easy walking distance, adding to Pokolbin Village being the perfect base for your Hunter Valley holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
LovesToTravel85 wrote a review Jan 2023
Sydney, Australia269 contributions35 helpful votes
Stayed in a small 2 bedroom cottage for 7 days. Kitchen with a smaller fridge, oven and microwave. Bathroom with shower. Dining table and seating for 4 people. Couch seating for up to 3 people. Two swimming pools and two tennis courts. Where reception is located, there is a cafe, general store, restaurant and a few other shops too. Centrally located to places like Hunter Valley Gardens and Cessnock. A quiet place with plenty of kangaroos roaming around the area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Melanie wrote a review Nov 2022
+1
Had an amazing stay at this wonderful accomodation. My family of four stayed at the Country Villa which consists of three bedrooms and beds which can be separated in to single beds or can be combined in to a King size bed. Beds & pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and functional, the shower contained two shower heads with great water pressure and was fully stocked with numerous toiletries & towels upon arrival. The kitchen is fully equipped with a fridge & freezer, stove, oven, microwave, kettle, toaster & includes plates, glasses, cutlery & everything you would require in a kitchen. The living room has two couches, a large tv and a reverse cycle air-condition perfect for any weather. There is also a dining table perfect for enjoying meals. As mentioned above there are three bedrooms in the Country Villa accomodation, each has a sliding mirror for clothes storage and a window which allows you to look outside in to the yard & blinds for when you are ready to sleep. All bedrooms have its own fan and bedside tables and have two power points on each side. The middle room has a door which allows you to walk outside on to the verandah. The verandah is a lovely area where you can sit outside and relax and also consists of a table, chairs and a private barbeque. There is also ample space for parking outside the country villa. There are two pools & tennis courts at this accomodation which we enjoyed using. Pokolbin Village also has many specialty shops right on site. We came for a concert which was being held at Hope Estate and it is literally walking distance/ right across the road which was wonderful and very convenient. Pokolbin Village is in the heart of the Hunter Valley and is a quick drive to pretty much anywhere in the Hunter Valley. A very big thank you to the wonderful ladies at reception! Upon arrival we met Amanda & Ngaire who were extremely warm, helpful, knowledgeable and even offered to walk us to our property when we got a bit lost. They made sure to let us know that if we needed any assistance that they would be there to provide it. Also a massive thank you to Nicole who from the moment we booked the accomodation right up until the time we arrived was very helpful with phone calls and emails & answering all of our questions. And during our stay right up until the moment we left was extremely helpful & just all around lovely. Amanda, Ngaire & Nicole… you are the heart of this accomodation and we thank you & appreciate you! Whether you are coming to the Hunter Valley for a vacation or a few days rest I recommend staying at Pokolbin Village accomodation, I will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Prime location. Across the road/ walking distance to Hope Estate
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Earl B wrote a review Nov 2022
We had a great holiday in this village, its very relaxing and close to natural, it is very accessible too going to the Vineyards. A little bit dusty going back and forth inside the village but overall experience is fabulous.😊
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pokolbin area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$140 - AU$238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pokolbin village hotel pokolbin
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater NewcastleCessnockPokolbin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

POKOLBIN VILLAGE (AU$140): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Greater Newcastle) - Photos of Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Pokolbin Village
What are some of the property amenities at Pokolbin Village?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Pokolbin Village?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Pokolbin Village?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Pokolbin Village?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pokolbin Village?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Pokolbin Village accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.