We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Billabong Moon

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Billabong Moon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 62: English reviews
Start your review of Billabong Moon
 Click to rate
patrickjj
Reviewed 26 January 2017

We had a wonderful weekend in the Hunter - group of 4 staying at Billabong Moon. We had the Billabong cottage to ourselves - each couple had their own bedroom with en-suite and a common sitting/dining/kitchen area. Lovely touches like bottle of wine left for us on arrival and breakfast in the fridge (bacon/eggs/butter/bread). Beautiful location though the actual billabong...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank patrickjj
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Sunset Ridge cabin at billabong moon, great accom, plus was definitely the fireplace and spa bath which has nice views. Pet friendly which is also a huge tick with us! Breakfast was left in the fridge plus a bottle of wine and cheese platter, which was a lovely suprise. Highly recommend Macquarie Dale organic winery which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rayna1980
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Great location - close to nice restaurants and vineyards, yet still very private. We were very pleased with the selection of food in the fridge - little cheese platter, bacon, eggs, beautiful fresh milk (AMAZING!), bottle of wine etc. Rooms were clean, unfortunately bathrooms were a bit stinky. Also on the sofa there was a little blood stain which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marta V
Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 20 September 2015

"The property was great and arriving with it all set up thanks to Hunter concierge was a special treat." What a special place all the comforts needed to unwind and relax. It's the little details that made the weekend the fireplace fishing rods and comfy lounge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jarrod W
stays999, Manager at Billabong Moon, responded to this review

Hi Jarrod Thanks for the lovely review, Glad you had a great time in the Hunter and at the very special Billabong Moon. Come back again soon.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 September 2015

My partner and I just got back today from a perfect two night getaway at billabong moon's artist studio. It was absolute bliss, a beautiful little cottage, very cozy & felt all of the luxuries. Quietly nestled into the trees for extra privacy, we didn't see anyone else at all on the property our entire stay. After not reading the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie M
stays999, General Manager at Billabong Moon, responded to this review

Hi Sophie Thank You for your wonderful feedback. It is lovely to know that you had an amazing time. I agree with the blanket and candles and the will be there for your next visit. Come back soon

Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

This accommodation is in a really good location. on the same street you will find loads of wineries and it is very central. The little touches were great. Lots of coffee pods, yummy food in the fridge (bread cheese muesli etc) it has clearly had a revamp recently with new couches and accessories. It was a great stay however I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank drinkeatsleep-repeat
stays999, General Manager at Billabong Moon, responded to this review

Hi Sophie Thank You for your wonderful feedback. It is lovely to know that you had an amazing time. I agree with the blanket and candles and the will be there for your next visit. Come back soon

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

I went to Billabong Moon last year and it was just fabulous...clearly the new owners had a high standard to meet!!!! On returning for our second visit, it was good, but lacked the finesse of our previous visit: 1. No bathrobes...that was a hard hit! 2. Could you spare the expense of more then 2 towels for 2 people for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lexie8889
HunterValleyStays, Manager at Billabong Moon, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all guest comments as this allows us to work closely with the Housekeepers and Owners to refine details of the property to allow guests an ultimate experience. All cottages should have extra warm blankets and two sets of towels for any stay of a longer duration of 2 nights. We can...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 April 2015

We had such a lovely Easter Long weekend in the Hunter. We loved staying at Billabong Moon - Artists studio, it was stunning! We will definitely return. This place is for those looking for a relaxing peaceful escape.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AliceandLeo
stays999, General Manager at Billabong Moon, responded to this review

Hi Alice and Leo We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Billabong Moon. Please come back again soon

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 February 2015

The property was pretty private and in top condition. The cheese platter, bottle of white and breakfast pack was a nice touch. Will definitely recommend to family and friends. Thank you Billabong Moon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jameslwang
HunterValleyStays, Manager at Billabong Moon, responded to this review

Thanks so much for a fantastic review. Please come back again soon

Nowra, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2015

My husband and I stayed in the treetops cabin for two nights. We are itching to go back as it was the most relaxing getaway we've been on. Each cabin is perfectly located seperately from one another. We were given a delicious breakfast hamper as well as wine and cheeses. The room was very clean and tidy. The owner was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jessinaus
KykoFinance, Manager at Billabong Moon, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us jessinaus and please come back again soon. Maybe try one of the other fantastic cottages....Did you get to use the outside bath?

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.4 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
823 reviews
14.5 km away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
2.1 km away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#3 of 15 in Pokolbin
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
5.3 km away
Berenbell Vineyard Retreat
Berenbell Vineyard Retreat
#9 of 41 in Pokolbin
90 reviews
4.2 km away
The Grange on Hermitage
The Grange on Hermitage
#3 of 41 in Pokolbin
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A waterfront cottage at Pokolbin along with four other individually designed and decorated cottages located over 10 hectares, makes Billabong Moon a unique place to escape. With couples and small groups in mind, Billabong Moon has an eclectic mix of comfortable contemporary and pre-loved timber furniture, intimate outdoor living, large, comfortable beds, deep baths and spas to help establish the relaxed and indulgent atmosphere. Fish from the deck of Billabong cottage, swim in the salt water pool, gaze at clear night skies or snuggle up fireside. With privacy the priority this is a great place to relax after a day indulging in Pokolbin’s fine wine and food. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Billabong Moon

Address: 393 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Price Range: $336 - $626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Billabong Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billabong Moon Hotel Pokolbin
Billabong Moon Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Billabong Moon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The billabong cottage is literally on the lake, it would have beautiful views however the artist studio suited us just fine”
 of 5 bubbles D4505DLsophiem, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in the cottage on the lake, and would definitely recommend this one, although I am sure the others are just as well presented.”
 of 5 bubbles jon_gitt, 13 Aug 2014 | Read review
“All cabins a secluded- pick one to suit the numbers in your group”
 of 5 bubbles JonoRooksbridge, 30 May 2014 | Read review
“The treetops studio, perfect for couples.”
 of 5 bubbles pd_mitch, 20 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Arrive just before sunset so you get the benefit of the cottages namesake!”
 of 5 bubbles FelicityF395, 26 Jun 2013 | Read review
5 of 5