We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Cnr Broke & McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (454)
Room & Suite (193)
Dining (48)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#12 of 15 hotels in Pokolbin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Welcome to Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, your Pokolbin “home away from home.” Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a minibar, and Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including room service. In addition, guests can enjoy a pool and a lounge during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

If you’re looking for a French restaurant, consider a visit to Elements Bar and Dining, which is not far from Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens.

If you’re looking for something to do, Hunter Valley Gardens (0.1 mi) and Constable Estate Vineyards (1.0 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Hotel.

Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens puts the best of Pokolbin at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Iron
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Languages Spoken
English
1242Reviews7Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 388
  • 499
  • 226
  • 73
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
febenine wrote a review Feb 2024
Kincumber, Australia167 contributions49 helpful votes
Back to our favourite hotel, this time to celebrate our 65th Wedding Anniversary! We do love resorts, but as very senior seniors, some things have become most important to us, and our favourite room at Mercure Hunter Valley has all our needs. I now have mobility problems, just a walking stick so far, but very bad balance, and after a lifetime of travelling overseas and seeing the world on liners from 1956 till 2020 we are happy to live about an hour from Pokolbin, and experience a good hotel!!! This one now has our car handy at our front door, two lovely big beds, lots of space and a very good bathroom and best of all for my husband, a lovely swimming pool and jacuzzi right outside our back door, with a pleasant patio and lots of trees and greenery! And it is spotless to enjoy! The breakfast buffet, another one of our very favourite travel musts is excellent, and though I normally order eggs done differently, this time I enjoyed the scrambled eggs twice!!! Wish I knew what chef puts in them to give that flavour and colour. Staff here could not be more helpful and friendly, and I have made sure to bock our next visit for my 90th birthday!!! Many thanks Mercure Hunter Valley, see you soon!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Enjoy!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Marissa T wrote a review Jan 2024
St Clair, Australia8 contributions1 helpful vote
We had our ceremony and wedding reception at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley and we couldn’t have asked for anything more. The food and beverage package for us and our 16 guests were just superb. Danielle was our coordinator assigned to us for the night and there was nothing too hard and she went above and beyond the day after also. Our accommodation was faultless and although I concede it was getting on and needing refurbishment, it was clean and comfortable. We highly recommend this lovely venue for any couples looking to book a small wedding.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
wendy w wrote a review Dec 2023
Leichhardt, Australia134 contributions113 helpful votes
We stayed recently for 3 nights. Check in was easy and all staff were very friendly. Yes, the place is getting dated but our room was nice and clean.The bed was comfortable, the TV worked well. The dining room is quite small for such a big establishment, so first night we couldn't get a table. We wandered to The Wood Restaurant at Brokenwood Winery (10mins) We didn't eat dinner the next night, we had a late lunch at Harrigans Irish Pub (20min walk) Then on our last night there was 2 busses in house, so we walked across to Roche Estate (10mins) and dined at Oishii Thai/Japanese. We did enjoy a few drinks at the bar each day tho. We walked to Hunter Valley Gardens for the spectacular Christmas Lights Show (10mins) We had an early pick up one morning for a Wine Tour so thought we'd have room service breakfast - only to find out room service is only available 12 midday to 8pm. There's a fridge in the room but no mini bar and we were quite surprised that no Complimentary Water was provided in the room. The best thing of this establishment is the location. Right next door is a small village with shops and some eateries etc. We'd stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Em wrote a review Nov 2023
Adelaide, Australia188 contributions95 helpful votes
I'm sure this hotel was nice a decade ago. Now it is in need of a renovation and a good clean. Our family had several rooms, one of which hadn't had the bathroom cleaned so cleaners had to be arranged to come back. My room had a broken cupboard door that wouldn't stay shut and needed a deep clean - there was dust and crumbs in the cupboard. When we checked out another family member dropped our key cards off at reception for us. The man on reception called us and was very rude saying we hadn't paid an ugprade fee and for drinks we'd bought (and paid for) the previous day. We told him we already paid but he was rude, not listening to me when I insisted we paid and ignoring me when I said we were on the road to the airport and it wasn't an appropriate or safe time to talk. When we provided screenshots of our bank accounts proving we'd paid everything he was not particularly apologetic. The gardens are beautiful and the pool/spa area is nice although the pool is freezing. There is a good gym as far as hotel gyms go.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Responded 14 Nov 2023
Dear Em, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you did not share this with us during your stay so we could resolve this for you. Certainly not ok to have these things missed in your room. In regard to the refresh, it is currently underway but yes, we wish it was fully complete now too. TV's, beds, Lounges, outside tables have all been replaced. The external walls have all been repainted, roads resurfaced, Library, bar and restaurant furniture has been replaced and we have started working on bathrooms, desk chairs and our tiling around the hotel. It is certainly a process; we are proud of what we have been able to do but still a bit to go. In regard to the receptionist, I can only apologise. This person does not work for us anymore and sadly in his last week this was the interaction with you. I cannot apologise enough. I hope we can have you pass through again and show you far improved services for next time. Thank you for sharing with us. Kind regards Julie at Mercure
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
S B wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
The Staff we encountered were not friendly , over priced for what accommodation you get , outdated Only thing nice about this place was the gardens … I do not recommend staying here , won’t be a repeat customer
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jodi D wrote a review Oct 2023
Gunnedah, Australia6 contributions
Extremely dissappointed in this accomodation. Initially we were charged $718 for ONE NIGHT in a King Room with a Spa. My husband wanted to show me a lovely weekend away so was happy to pay it, if that was the price but for $718 our expectations were HIGH! We walked into the room and it was normal to small size with just the bed and desk and a 2 seater lounge. There was a mini bar which was EMPTY! We are in the Hunter Valley! Where is the wine selection?? There wasnt even any bottled water in the fridge!! Ive stayed in $100 motels that even had water in the fridge! I went looking for a tissue to blow my nose.... no tissues!!! We paid an extra $100 for the spa which was amazing but we were still only provided with 2 towels! I would have expected at least 4 towels. There was no extra toilet roll, just what was on the roll holder. So to say we were blown away with dissappointment was an understatement! The bed was comfortable, the shower and spa bath were wonderful, but those little luxuries you would expect for a $300 and over room were non existent! Even basics like water, tissues and an extra toilet roll. I googled the motel on the apps to see what we were missing paying $718 for one night. My husband was told by a woman that booked him in that this was the weekend rate! So I googled the weekend rate for next weekend. The most expensive King Room was $370. Plus $100 extra for the spa which he was told was over and above the amount listed, Still only comes to $470 for a single night. No mention of a weekend rate. I questioned it with the gentleman on duty and I quoted the prices shown on the app with my understanding that even with an exta $100 per room, it still didnt come to $718. He agreed we had been overcharged!! He gave us a $308 refund, but that room still cost us $410!!! With no toilet paper, no water, no tissues, just 2 towels when we paid an extra $100 for the spa bath. If you want to stay in this place, dont expect to get anything that you might expect to be a normal service. Anything other than a bed and bathroom will cost extra. Terribly overpriced and terribly underserviced and dishonest in their charges!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Heads up about what you are getting for your money. Check your charges. Dont expect water in the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gold Coast Traveller wrote a review Sept 2023
Gold Coast, Australia250 contributions144 helpful votes
My fourth stay at this resort. We actually really like staying here. It’s well located next to the Hunter Valley Gardens. The resort has a fantastic restaurant and bar. We had a lovely 2 course meal in Elements with outstanding service from Brodie. The resort also has a wonderful pool area although the pool temperature is cold. Our room was a spa king and the bed was super comfortable. It had a lovely little courtyard outside. Resort is now getting on in age and it is reflected in the state of the furniture in the room (apart from the bed which was fantastic). The curtains in our room could reallly have done with a clean. Overall we had a lovely stay and will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jenn wrote a review Aug 2023
Tweed Heads, Australia14 contributions10 helpful votes
Rude staff, badly in need of repairs, room not maintained. Outside patio was disgusting, breakfast plates left outside for days. Cut our stay short as it was not enjoyable at all. Emailed concerns and never received a reply. Not recommended .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Chantelle T wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
Great hotel but terrible hostile management. The hotel room was lovely but not what we asked for. Ended up having to sleep on the sofa because someone at reception made a mistake and didn't allocate 2 beds, mistakes happen and that's okay but what made it a stressful experience was the horrible manager who implied we were lying and accepted no responsibility for their staff booking error, blaming it on anyone else including me as the customer. 10/10 for the events manager who managed to turn the bitter experience around, 10/10 for the facilities, 0/10 for the manager on duty!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Responded 28 Aug 2023
Thank you for your feedback Chantelle. I am sorry about how this was handled by the manager on duty. Delighted to hear however, that the team managed to turn this around and you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Julie at Mercure
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cas w wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
For an Accor property this was very disappointing- we had booked a romantic dinner and night in a king spa suite - what we got was not what is promoted on the website. I have to say the food while excellent and the staff service was also great the whole experience was let down by the cafeteria style restaurant loud, bright, where they served breakfast except they didn’t move any of the breakfast stuff they just covered it in sheets. No table cloths- nothing like the intimate Romantic dinning room portrayed on the website promotional pics- further our room had left off socks and half filled wine glasses from the previous guests, cobwebs galore and cakes on filthy dirt around the handles in the spa gross. I complained and they gave me an apology and $50 refund which is the room upgrade fee. The response from management has been generic and stated that th restaurant has been in the breakfast room for 6 years now!!! Perhaps they should update their website with more accurate pictures if that is the case very disappointing an Accor hotel
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: good service from the reception and restaurant as well as delicious food but this is not a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pokolbin area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$154 - AU$206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure resort hunter valley gardens hotel pokolbin, mercure hotel pokolbin
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater NewcastleCessnockPokolbin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MERCURE RESORT HUNTER VALLEY GARDENS (AU$160): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Greater Newcastle) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens?
Nearby attractions include Hunter Valley Gardens (0.2 km), Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food (0.3 km), and Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oishii Japanese and Thai Restaurant, The Cellar Restaurant, and Goldfish Bar & Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Pokolbin.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Poppet Head Park (13.2 km).