We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hunter Valley Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hunter Valley Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

680 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hunter Valley Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 670: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 March 2015 via mobile

A good and open location with vineyards all around. Pizzas in the cafe and beer/wines at the bars are superb. Visiting the vineyards, wine theatre experience are all a thing to experience. Hunter Valley Gardens, Cheese factory, Museum area all near. Kangaroos just infront of our room's doorstep..Wow..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeelaBini
sydney
Reviewed 28 February 2015

Exceptional service at the cellar door and also by all staff in reception and in the restaurant. I was extremely surprised at the high quality of the food at dinner. we booked this hotel when we went to the Paul Simon and Sting Concert in February. The hotel was conveniently located on one of the concert/event bus routes .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank plenge
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 February 2015

we only had the 1 night here but it was all self contained and had great facilities including the pool and spa ,although outdoor was very well maintained and clean. the room was a nice size with great views . the only thing that was missing was a mini bar (although there was a fridge ) but a drink machine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 27 February 2015

Staying at the Hunter Valley Resort was wonderful. The nearby vineyards, Kangaroos running in front of our room's doorstep, the wine testing and winery classes all added entertainment and wine knowledge..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leela G
Reviewed 27 February 2015

room was big and roomy. Room looked out onto the vineyard which was nice. shower in room was awesome. we didn't eat at the restaurant or have breakfast. good location great service and the people were very friendly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikchris2
Marsfield, Australia
Reviewed 27 February 2015

Excellent value for money, hope to return soon and with slightly better weather! Great setting and excellent service from all the staff we encountered. Great place to spend a couple of lazy days just enjoying each others company

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl M
Reviewed 26 February 2015

desperately in need of money spending on this resort,on facilities and accommodation. The staff are very friendly but the restaurant is poor and cannot compete. Breakfast was not brilliant and certainly the resort should not classed as four stars. The resort is in excellent location and could be a great place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank spooooooons
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review

I see from your profile you are a "luxury traveller". Our property is a 35 room country inn or lodge, however with more facilities than most here in Wine Country - onsite brewery, winery, Segway, horseriding, massage centre, wine theatre, Candymaking school, and nestled within my family's vineyards. We have just totally refurbished our food and beverage facilities and in...

Hull, East Yorks
Reviewed 11 February 2015

We had pre-booked 2 nights as we had stayed here a few years ago & absolutely loved it. The vineyard rooms are very spacious & comfortable & the large patio doors open onto a terrace overlooking the vineyards. Very nice & clean with large comfy beds & good storage space, air con& fan. The bathroom, with bath as well as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hull_EastYorksJackie
Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 9 February 2015

We thought our package through wotif.com was good value (at first sight) as it included a "free cheese tasting, free winetasting, free breakfast, and an upgrade to a Vineyard Room". The photos on the resort's website certainly gave the impression we would be in for a treat. On arrival, we found our room to be clean, very large - but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank on-honeymoon-forever
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 January 2015

We stayed at the Hunter Valley Resort for one night mid January 2015. To keep the reading short, I will give you a quick overview of our experience: - very friendly and helpful girl at the reception - spacious room with everything you can expect in a 4**** accommodation - especially the AC is worth mentioning: very modern, quiet, with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lisa B

216 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (189)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
10.0 km away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
6.2 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.5 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
7.9 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
231 reviews
6.1 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Horse & carriage tour* Horse riding* Bluetongue Brewery Cafe * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our San Martino Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking/jogging track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa, mountain bikes * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Price Range: $126 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hunter Valley Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Sydney, Australia
8 months ago
Sydney, Australia

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hunter Valley Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lovely staff. The rooms have great views and outdoor areas as well as family room with games and well stocked library.”
 of 5 bubbles alu167, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cabins are definitely the best, private and beautiful views...”
 of 5 bubbles caitlinb526, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms seemed to have views across the vineyards”
 of 5 bubbles arbetty, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms along this part of the resort we were in faced east and caught the rising and morning sun on their small patio.”
 of 5 bubbles keithradford1, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seemed similar - ours was classed as a cottage”
 of 5 bubbles Susan872, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5