We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, an IHG Hotel

336 Oakey Creek Road, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (934)
Room & Suite (279)
Dining (77)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#7 of 15 hotels in Pokolbin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Enjoy the luxury and refinement of one of the Hunter Valley’s most prestigious estates. Situated on 70 acres of rolling countryside with spectacular mountain views. Kirkton Park is boutique hotel that blends classic elegance and charm with contemporary style. Stroll through manicured gardens, breathe in the fresh air make the most of our fitness centre and tennis courts. Or simply luxuriate in our impressive Grecian style heated indoor pool, spa and sauna. Only two hours drive north of Sydney, Kirkton Park is also a convenient venue for meetings, conferences and weddings. Versatile indoor and outdoor spaces to choose from, as well as mouth-watering food and beverage menus. The hotel also acts as your base from which to explore the delights of the Hunter Valley region. Discover boutique wineries, sample local cheeses and visit the magnificent Hunter Valley Gardens. Kirkton Park is your luxurious retreat in the heart of the Hunter Valley wine region.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Billiards
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Iron
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
1212Reviews12Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 508
  • 400
  • 174
  • 75
  • 55
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jen H wrote a review 5 Feb
4 contributions
Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting with great views and excellent large room with 2 queen size beds. Good location close to all the vineyards. Very pleasant staff and service. Buffet breakfast was wonderful with great variety of hot foods and pastries. A definite must before you start out on your wine tasting travels. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maddison Ingram, Owner at voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we love hearing about our guests having such a great time and enjoying our hotel! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! All the best, Maddison
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
bilty wrote a review Apr 2023
Sheffield, United Kingdom68 contributions21 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Fantastic location and spectacular views from our room. Staff are really amazing, so friendly and made time to have a conversation with you. Large bedroom with fluffy pillows. Breakfast was Buffet which was good and you can order eggs etc. Really enjoyed our stay .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joel Fletcher, Guest Services / Front Office at voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, an IHG Hotel
Responded 22 Apr 2023
Dear Bilty, Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We're delighted you had a wonderful time at our beautiful estate, and we hope to welcome you back in future! Regards, Joel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
toota101 wrote a review Jan 2024
Sydney, Australia78 contributions19 helpful votes
We decided to have High Tea. It was a lovely High Tea in the conservatory room. It was a 40 degree + day which made it warm. Overall it was a nice experience, the staff were friendly and very attentive. It’s something different to do at the Hunter Valley.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Possibly on a hot day have the High Tea inside rather than the conservatory.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maddison Ingram, Owner at voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi toota101, Thank you so much for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your high tea and your stay at our beautiful property. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Kristy D Guest Service Agent voco Kirkton Park
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Toni R wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
+1
Super friendly staff, the room are exceptionally clean and the view is breathtaking, I would thoughly recommend this place for anyone, although I currently am an employee of voco this does not make my opinion bias, and I am very proud to say I work here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maddison Ingram, Owner at voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Toni! Thank you so much for your lovely words! We definitely pride ourselves on providing exceptional service. We are glad that you love working at and visiting our beautiful property! Kind Regards, Kristy D Guest Service Agent voco Kirkton Park
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lynne M wrote a review Nov 2023
Gold Coast Australia9 contributions2 helpful votes
Luxurious, comfortable and stunning views Perfect place for a relaxing stay Great staff, spacious, well appointed rooms. Well maintained, expansive grounds. Perfect location for access to Hunter Valley gardens, shops and endless wineries.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maddison Ingram, Owner at voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, an IHG Hotel
Responded 20 Dec 2023
Dear LynneM328, Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We're delighted you had a wonderful time at our beautiful estate, and we hope to welcome you back in future! Kristy Davies Guest Service Agent voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Joy G wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
+1
What an amazing experience doing high tea at Voco Kirkton Park for our friends 50th. From the stunning venue and grounds, to the amazing and friendly staff and the delicious food. The table was so pretty with fresh flowers. We had someone who was gluten free and someone who was lactose free and the variety of food that was given to them was amazing. Everyone was made to feel very special, even the birthday girl was brought a special little cake which was a lovely bonus. Would definitely recommend a high tea here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maddison Ingram, Owner at voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, an IHG Hotel
Responded 20 Dec 2023
Dear joygF5130OD, Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your High Tea experience at Locavore Restaurant. We're delighted you had a wonderful time at our restaurant, and we hope to welcome you back in future! Kristy Davies Guest Service Agent voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
denirokeane wrote a review Nov 2023
Birmingham, United Kingdom181 contributions120 helpful votes
+1
Let’s start with the positives. The location is perfect. A wonderful Victorian hotel nestled in acreage. The hotel itself was well preserved being of old Victorian heritage. The room was comfortable well maintained, spacious and clean. Overall, the hotel in the setting were perfect onto the negatives. The staff were incompetent and the manager, the rudest person in hospitality I have ever encountered. We waited one and a quarter hours For two pizzas in the restaurant. They had five staff in the restaurant serving and only five groups of no more than four people. Two serve. Two drinks took 20 minutes to come. When we complained to the manager, she told us to leave the restaurant. She was so unprofessional we couldn’t catch our breath. She was the perfect Gaslighter who tried to make out it was our fault and push any blame onto us. Deflecting from the fact that the food was cold and late, but rather that we complained. It’s a shame because the hotel physically would have received a 5 out of 5. But I have never encountered such a competent and rude and untrained staff in all my time travelling. For this reason alone, I would not stay here again, truly the most awful manager, I have ever come across clearly in the wrong career
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you stay avoid the restaurant and bar unless you want to wait for hours for cold food and then...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, an IHG Hotel
Responded 28 Nov 2023
Hello denirokeane, Hosting your stay is a pleasure for us. We appreciate you for choosing the voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley as your travel partner. Thank you for sharing your experience. I am sorry to learn what happened. I've sent your feedback to our management team as a reference for improvements. I hope to get another chance to host your next visit. We promise to make the value of your experience worth it for all the right reasons. Yours in hospitality, Jeraldine R. Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SusanG72 wrote a review Oct 2023
Sydney, Australia9 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
I never write reviews - but felt I ought to this time as I always use other people's reviews to make my decisions and am always very grateful to them. Stayed October with 6 girlfriends (mean age 50 ;-)) . We each had a King Room Double - $650/night for B &B. Check-in: OK. 1 friend was at the polar opposite end of resort to the other 5 (despite a block booking). They were unable to change. Got given a keycard, handed a hotel map and pointed in the rough direction. No information about facilities/bar/pool/breakfast times etc. No help with luggage (didn't need it - but weren't offered it). ROOM: Double bed that can be spit into singles. Views were of partial valley - but also the car park. Bathroom was the main let down. Felt like a motel bathroom. Small and grubby. Internal room no windows. Dirty door (see photo). Very minimal bench space - no space to place toiletries. Stupidly positioned glass shelf above the sink - so every time you went to wash face/brush teeth - BANG - whack you head off it. All friends had same comment about this! Ridiculously positioned. Mould in silicone, tap bottons missing (friends room). No cotton wool balls - but there was a shower cap and sanitary bag. 3 big pump (plastic) bottles (1/2 filled). No 'Make up Room' door tag. No bottled water. Turn turn service happened 1 night only - (small chocolate). No Welcome card (note - one previous guest commented they had this). Cables from TV hanging across room - very amateur and unsightly. No easily accessible plugs for chargers (found one behind bedside cabinet - dusty). Tricky switch for bedside lamps - dangled down the back of bedside unit. Layer of dust in wardrobe. Robe but no slippers. Small (very noisy) fridge! Kettle/tea - didnt use. Shower pressure was good. Ironing board and iron in room. NO MIRRORS in the room. Out of the 6 rooms it was hit or miss how many you got! I had none. (Room 20). Room 18 had 3! (full length at back of door and 2 above bedside tables). BAR/LOUNGE: Big space with log fire. Despite it being very cold (10 degrees) - the fire was never on. Shame as this would have changed the whole feel to it. No tea lights on table - but think they did the second night (but we weren't in there that night). BREAKFAST: Buffet. DIY Coffee machine and help yourself to teapots etc. No table service. Asked for soy mild and was given a carton of nearly finished soy milk from kitchen. Friends bought their coffee from Bar as they had proper coffee machine there. No made to order eggs. RESTAURANT: Appalling service. Table at 7pm. Got served meal at 9.45pm. Disasters happen occasionally which is fine. What is not fine is the lack of any communication to let us know that dinner would be delayed by nearly 3 hours! It's 90 dollars for 2 courses (minimum). It was 10.30 before we were asked about deserts. Took a bit of discussion to make them realise that we were no longer wanting desert at that time of night - and therefore also didn't want to be charged for it. Oh and 2 of the 5 meals were wrong. Ordered 3 vegetarian and 2 lamb. 5 vegetarian came.... with little apology and certainly no chance of being offered the lamb! Think of Fawlty Towers... Then we had to get up and pay in the corridor at the register - fine dining it ain't. Had eaten at ESCA the previous night - 98 for 4 excellent courses with professional staff in a beautiful location and lovely food, No comparison. So overall disappointing. I wouldn't return. I would go back to Spicers Guesthouse. But there is definitely a lack of good quality hotels in this region. Needs a major overhaul. Could be wonderful with the right management.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, an IHG Hotel
Responded 15 Nov 2023
Dear SusanG72, Thank you for selecting our voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley while visiting Kirkton and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. It's a pleasure having you as our guest. I am truly sorry you did not experience an exemplary stay due to our bathroom, the service of our staff, and the cleanliness in our room. This is certainly below our usual high standard of service. Please be certain that I have noted and forwarded your feedback for the management to improve. In the middle of your experience, I am glad to know that the location of our hotel was still appreciated. I hope you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHG Hotels and Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
stugs123 wrote a review Oct 2023
Australia166 contributions67 helpful votes
Decided to meet up with friends who was up at the Hunter so a good reason for a staycation at the Voco for Foxy and I. We booked two rooms, one for us and one for our friends and their baby. As always the staff was very friendly and welcoming. Foxy loved the welcome pats and attention she received from the staff (This is why we keep coming back!) Beautiful room and hard working housekeeping team. The grounds are well kept and we got to say hello to the resident chooks and pigs. Really appreciate the hand written welcome card and delicious Kirkton Park honey which was personally delivered to our room. Overall Foxy approves!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sheree M wrote a review Oct 2023
Sydney, Australia5 contributions1 helpful vote
I visited here for a girly trip with my two teenage daughters. The grounds are lovely and the room was clean. We ordered room service which was delicious. As we travelled in winter I booked this hotel due to the heated indoor pool. The pool was huge but it definitely not heated which was disappointing. Otherwise a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pokolbin area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$221 - AU$384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sebel kirkton park hunter valley hotel pokolbin
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater NewcastleCessnockPokolbin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VOCO KIRKTON PARK HUNTER VALLEY, AN IHG HOTEL (AU$221): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Greater Newcastle) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Sutton Estate - Hunter Valley (8.0 km), Hunter Valley Wildlife Park (5.5 km), and Saddlers Creek Wines (2.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hunters Quarter, EXP. restaurant, and The Gates Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Poppet Head Park (9.6 km).
Does voco Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, an IHG Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.