We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge Hotel Newcastle

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,239: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms were clean,bed was very comfy the lady at the front desk was lovely it just needs some renovations and fixing especially on the top floor where there was water leaking in the hallway a bit drab for what you pay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P1087KQcharless
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear P1087KQcharless, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel, it's greatly appreciated. Any feedback is of the highest value to us, so I would like to thank you for letting us know where we can improve. We hope to see you again in the future Kind Regards, Natalie Graham Hotel Duty Manager

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stay well away from the dining room, use leagues club around the corner (excellent) and maccas over the Rd for brekkie, rooms clean and good value for money though a musty smell in corridors off putting, good fish and chips in shopping centre over the Rd

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 718colinw
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear 718colinw, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle. We are grateful of the fact that you've given us some positive feedback to share with our team and also some which will allow us to improve. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Natalie Graham Hotel...

Yeronga
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights for work. Room was large, quiet and clean. Paid $15 extra p/n for parking. Food at restaurant is good (had a steak). I found the staff were friendly and professional. The hotel is in a good location and it wasn't far to walk to the main restaurant areas.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M7405DMjasond
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear M7405DMjasond, Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your stay at Travelodge Newcastle. We are so happy you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to your next stay with us. Kind Regards, Natalie Graham Hotel Duty Manager

Meadow Bank
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Apart from the very loud nightclub music playing till 2:30am opposite the hotel everything was great. The pillows were a bit hard but good room amenities and excellent air con. Parking was a bit hard to get and ended up parking up the road as the car park gets full towards the end of the night. Friendly staff

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S6144NYgregorym
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear S6144NYgregorym, Thank you for the positive review of your stay at Travelodge Newcastle, the team greatly appreciate it. We hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Newcastle in the near future! Kind Regards, Natalie Graham Hotel Duty Manager

Mount Druitt, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

our stay at travel lodge was perfect the staff were happy to help with all our needs they were fantastic with the kids our only complaint is with one of your cleaners on our way out in her loud rude voice she said THANKGOD THE FERALS ARE LEAVING now we know racism when we see it we hear it all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaydenluvsme
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear jaydenluvsme, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle. In regards to your feedback I will be investigating & following this up directly with the housekeeping team. This is disappointing to hear and I am very sorry this occurred. If you would like to discuss this any further please contact...

Broadbeach, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is NOT a 4 star hotel. We drove to this hotel and went to check in at 4.30pm on Saturday afternoon. We had trouble getting off the street due to vehicles lined up in front of us. Check in process was ok until I was asked if I wanted “off street parking” Arriving by car of course I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bradley N
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Bradley N, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Travelodge Newcastle. I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not the positive experience that I hope all of our guests have. I want to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us,...

New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here just for one night and will never return. Booked for myself in a king bed but on arrival had two singles. I was heading out to dinner so I politely asked reception if while I was out they wouldn't mind making my bed up as a proper king, as sleeping in a single is not something I enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin345
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Colin345, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not as comfortable as you had expected it to be. In regards to your comment being allocated a room with single beds, your booking did come through as a twin room and...

Gunnedah
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Air conditioner leaked on the carpet was "fixed" than leak again straight after! Was still made pay the whole price for the room and for parking!! The last night they offered us to move into another room after we had stayed in that room for 3 nights!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Finlay17
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at Travelodge Newcastle. I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not the positive experience that I hope all of our guests have. I want to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, and we have contacted you directly...

Hamilton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lighting circuits didn't work, false fire alarm, smelly water damaged carpets in the hall way. Needs a modern revamp, as it is looking a bit tired. TV small and old. Great central location. Good hotel if you just want a quick overnight stay due to its central location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ubaldot415
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear ubaldot415, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Travelodge Newcastle. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not as comfortable as you had expected it to be. Any feedback is of the highest value to us, so I would like to thank you for letting us know...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a room on the sixth floor overlooking the shopping centre. On the first night, Saturday, loud party goers and car hoons kept us awake until early morning. On subsequent nights there was some traffic noise but not the partygoers, so sleep was easier. It was very hot during our stay so the quiet and effective air conditioning was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilipM817
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear PhilipM817, Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor, we are pleased that you had a great stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing clean comfortable value for money accommodation in Newcastle. I am pleased you enjoyed the location of the hotel and appreciated the facilities the rooms have to offer. I have passed your comments onto the...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
929 reviews
2.0 km away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
785 reviews
0.1 km away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#11 of 22 in Newcastle
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
4.6 km away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
329 reviews
0.9 km away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Newcastle

Address: 12 Steel St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2302, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: $133 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Travel Lodge Newcastle
Newcastle Travelodge
Newcastle Travel Lodge
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Hotel Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Tangalooma2000, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Just ask to see the rooms and feel the carpet”
 of 5 bubbles garyrY5552RA, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 101. Car parking is free on the street after 12pm Sat and all day Sun”
 of 5 bubbles arkanite, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have less traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles Nayaram4750, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Very short walk to the shopping centre and take away.”
 of 5 bubbles 344suzanned, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5