We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge Newcastle

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Travelodge Newcastle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,201: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I arrived at the Travelodge at very short notice and found the English Ladies at reception very kind helpful and welcoming . I must admit I was not expecting the Motel to be much but was pleasantly surprised because although it was an old building it was really clean with old but well shampooed carpets and the room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Gary R, Thank you for your recent review of Travelodge Newcastle, we really appreciate the time you have taken to write it and your fantastic comments. We pride ourselves on providing clean comfortable value for money accommodation in Newcastle. I'm glad to read the team and our cleanliness were highlights of your stay! I have passed your comments onto...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Checked into the hotel was greeted by the ever friendly Emily, only gripe was that she told me my room number verbally in front of other guests.. not too good from a security standpoint when it was already written down in front of me. The room itself is nice sized with double glazing to cut down noise (windows need a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at Travelodge Newcastle. I am very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take feedback such as this very seriously, and I will be sharing this with the entire team to help us improve upon our service. We hope that we have...

Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the hotel is excellent especially if you want to be close to Newcastle CBD but not too close. The room (king bedroom) was a good size with king bed, small lounge, table and chairs etc. The bed itself and pillows were quite comfortable and the linen fresh and crisp. There is plenty of tea/coffee making ingredients also....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mazjoy
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Mazjoy, Thank you for your recent review of Travelodge Newcastle, we really appreciate the time you have taken to write it. I'll be speaking to the Housekeeping & Front Office team regarding the feedback you have left. Small details make all the difference and this should not have occurred, please accept our apologies. The team and I hope one...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel staff were nice and friendly. Room was clean, bed was comfy. Supermarkets are very close by, which is nice. Parking was a bit expensive, but understandable during the working week. Unfortunately we were placed in an accessible room, so water goes everywhere when taking a shower. Additionally, we were right near the lifts, which was noisy. Lastly we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Tim R, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Travelodge Newcastle. We are glad to read that you found our hotel good value for money, our team offered a high level of service. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not as comfortable as you had expected...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

had an overnight stay for business at late notice. Booked via Expedia and all went smoothly despite Christmas shortened bistro hours and services. Travelodge is located close to shops and restaurants and not far from waterfront, cinema and pubs. Room was well appointed, spacious and even had a separate bath tub. Staff were friendly and helpful. extra charge for parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Peter F, Thank you for your recent review of Travelodge Newcastle, we really appreciate the time you have taken to write it and your fantastic comments. We aim to provide clean, comfortable accommodation in a great location and I'm glad your comments indicate this. Thank you again for taking the time to post your valuable comments. We are so...

Liverpool
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Basic .Simple and not too clean rooms.Carpet is dirty,Travelodge deserves better.Walking distances are ok. Renovations is in some progress but prices are as everything is ok.I hope next time would be better...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 796ismetk
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at Travelodge Newcastle. We are sorry that your stay wasn’t enjoyable, I'll be speaking to the Housekeeping team regarding the feedback you have left, please accept our apologies. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel so that you can experience...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The pool is as small as a bath - it is totally oversold on the website. So disappointing. 5th floor hall carpet was badly water stained, bathroom tiles on floor were either dirty or more likely, stained. The rooms were clean, which is why we stayed. The location is central but offers nothing really. Did not eat in the hotel....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlitterbabeNZ
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy your stay. We apologise that the pool size wasn't as expected and that you found the floor stained. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually...

Connells Point
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelodge Newcastle provides great value for money in a convenient central location. Room amenities were great and cater for most needs. House keeping while sufficient can still be improved. Overall we had a pleasant stay and would go back again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Khabbazeh
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor, we are pleased that you had a great stay with us. We are glad that you liked the room amenities and appreciated our convenient location. We will be sure to pass on your comments regarding Housekeeping. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Newcastle....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Travelodge Newcastle on our way through to the Sunshine Coast. The lady who greeted us was very friendly and checked us in with ease. The rooms are basic but nice. Restaurant on site unavailable for dinner so had to get a small taxi ride into the city centre to get dinner ( hotel about 1.5 km from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RunQuincyRun
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about you recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing clean comfortable value for money accommodation in Newcastle. I am pleased that you liked our friendly staff and rooms. We apologize that our restaurant wasn't open on the night you stayed with us but hopefully our...

Warrawong, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

upgrade your rooms especially bathrooms, old mouldy silastic. get a bigger TV, Get some decent beds. Put some biscuits in the room for your guests this is not a big expense but means a lot to travellers.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A9926ATjeffd
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Travelodge Newcastle. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy your stay. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. Kind Regards, Lauren Porter Duty Manager Travelodge Newcastle

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
917 reviews
2.0 km away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
771 reviews
0.1 km away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#10 of 22 in Newcastle
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
322 reviews
2.3 km away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.9 km away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Travelodge Newcastle

Address: 12 Steel St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2302, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: $102 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Travelodge Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Travel Lodge Newcastle
Newcastle Travelodge
Newcastle Travel Lodge
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just ask to see the rooms and feel the carpet”
 of 5 bubbles garyrY5552RA, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 101. Car parking is free on the street after 12pm Sat and all day Sun”
 of 5 bubbles arkanite, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have less traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles Nayaram4750, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Very short walk to the shopping centre and take away.”
 of 5 bubbles 344suzanned, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“My room was at the front of the Motel and I guess all the rooms would be similair”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffB638, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay