We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crown On Darby Newcastle

Save
Share
101 Darby St Cooks Hill, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
USD 152
View deal
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (49)
Room & Suite (47)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 42 Speciality lodging in Newcastle
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Elegantly appointed and tastefully furnished, we passionately believe in making you feel at home. You'll never want to leave once you experience our spacious, comfortable, luxury serviced apartments and exceptional customer service, all perfectly located in cosmopolitan Darby Street, Newcastle, NSW. We provide visitors with the choice of stylish studio rooms, as well as beautifully furnished one, two, three and four bedroom apartments – meaning we can cater for couples, as well as families and groups of friends or business associates.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Golf course
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
ATM on site
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
289Reviews0Q+A70Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 132
  • 104
  • 29
  • 7
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
TheJudester wrote a review Mar 2021
Mudgee, Australia39 contributions18 helpful votes
Great location, friendly reception staff, comfy bed, rainwater shower. Crown on Darby is in a great location right in the midst of some fabulous cafes and restaurants. We had a room facing east which looked out over a quiet courtyard rather than Darby St. only downside was the shower screen which allowed water to run out and all over the floor. For those with short legs stepping out of the shower/ bath onto pretty slippery tiles could be a challenge. Would definitely recommend
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Sharon M wrote a review Jan 2021
22 contributions8 helpful votes
Due to check in on 30jan we asked to have a check out at 11. Staying 6 nights total cost 1440. Management has a grudge against us after our review from the last stay and wants to charge $20 for a 1 hour later than normal checkout this is the sort of petty behaviour that you would expect to come from a spoilt teenage girl. get over yourself crown manager. Scott and Sharon.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Wynn, General Manager at Crown On Darby Newcastle
Responded 28 Jan 2021
Hi Scott and Sharon Apologies you have taken our management position incorrectly. We hope you have a nice stay in Newcastle.
Read more
LisaGordonSimons wrote a review Jan 2021
Long Jetty, Australia657 contributions117 helpful votes
+1
This is my second stay at Crown on Darby. It's an excellent location, even more so now with the light rail a short walk away. My room was spotless (at the back - the front can be a little bit rowdy but that's ok) with it's own balcony. The staff are welcoming and helpful. There is nothing that one would want for in Darby Street and it's easy to walk and/or light rail to anywhere. Close to the Art Gallery and the great second hand book-shop, a plethora of eateries to choose from.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Quieter rooms are at the back (not the ones facing Darby Street)
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Wynn, General Manager at Crown On Darby Newcastle
Responded 10 Jan 2021
Thank you for your return business Lisa we appreciate it and look forward to your return when you next have the opportunity.
Read more
Lucy wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We were to stay this weekend however a Covid outbreak in the Northern beaches last night has advised us not to travel - no notice, we were just told not to leave the area at 6pm last night, the day before we were to come and stay. I rang Crown on Darby and spoke to Kate, told her the above and asked if there was any chance we could postpone our stay to a later date. She was possibly the rudest person I've ever had the misfortune to deal with. 'Nup" was what she said. That's it. When I questioned further she said "well, that's what you get when you book online". I rang the booking company I used, and they tried to call the hotel, spoke to Kate who just said "no" and hung up on them. I did book this place based on previous reviews. I will never stay here now if that is how you treat customers. Not my fault we had a covid outbreak, I was going to be coming with my daughter, she is very upset to miss our weekend away together. Just a little undertanding and empathy from Kate would have gone a long way.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Wynn, General Manager at Crown On Darby Newcastle
Responded 20 Dec 2020
Thank you for your review we may have to agree to disagree on the series of events that you have quoted in your review. Crown on Darby has provided refunds and modified reservations where possible due to the current crisis and the pandemic as it still unfolds there are many people that are not going to be able to see family members for Christmas we hope that everyone stays safe.
Read more
M2468PEpaul wrote a review Nov 2020
Port Macquarie, Australia5 contributions4 helpful votes
Very nice place to stay, central and convenient. Suited our needs perfectly. Our room had a small kitchenette, n office space and ensuite. All that we required for an overnight stay. Highly recommended if in the Cooks Hill area.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Wynn, General Manager at Crown On Darby Newcastle
Responded 8 Nov 2020
Thank you for your review we appreciate it and look forward to your return when next visiting the area. Kate Wynn Front Office Supervisor Crown on Darby
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 91 - USD 130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater NewcastleNewcastle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crown On Darby Newcastle
Which popular attractions are close to Crown On Darby Newcastle?
Nearby attractions include Coal and Cedar (0.5 km), Newcastle Art Gallery (0.2 km), and Newcastle Civic Theatre (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Crown On Darby Newcastle?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Crown On Darby Newcastle?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Crown On Darby Newcastle?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Crown On Darby Newcastle?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crown On Darby Newcastle?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wil & Sons, Three Monkeys Cafe, and Coal River & Co.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crown On Darby Newcastle?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Crown On Darby Newcastle have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Crown On Darby Newcastle offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crown On Darby Newcastle?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Crown On Darby Newcastle?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nobbys Head and Breakwall (1.8 km), Shepherds Hill Fort (0.6 km), and Railway Carriage Shed (0.8 km).