The Premier Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Premier Hotel

1 Brunker Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2292 Australia
The Premier Hotel
Traveller (8)
Family Room
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

AU$97
Get rewarded with One Key
AU$97
No booking fees
AU$80
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#18 of 27 hotels in Newcastle
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value

The Premier Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Newcastle, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

The Premier Hotel is a family-friendly hotel offering air conditioning in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The hotel features room service and a coffee shop. Plus, guests can enjoy a lounge, which has made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Newcastle. For guests with a vehicle, parking is available.

While staying at The Premier Hotel, visitors can check out Queens Wharf Tower (1.7 mi) and Maritime Centre (2.1 mi), some of Newcastle's top attractions.

While in Newcastle be sure to experience nearby seafood restaurants such as Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, Scotties Seafood and Bar, or Andy's Take Away Food.

Plus, during your trip, don’t forget to check out some of the popular monuments and statues, such as World War One Memorial, Newcastle Mercantile Marine Memorial, and The Obelisk.

Enjoy your stay in Newcastle!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Babysitting
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
ATM on site
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English

Location

1 Brunker Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2292 Australia
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 50 out of 100
50
Williamtown Airport
Sydney Airport
124.7 km
See all flights
67Reviews4Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 19
  • 13
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Elicia T wrote a review Jan 2020
Newcastle, Australia7 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We held my mum's 70th Birthday Party for 40 people yesterday at the Premier Hotel Bistro, and can't fault the service we received. Bistro Manager Mel was especially helpful in overseeing all aspects of the function. The party area was nicely set up, food was great, and the staff were exceptionally accommodating. I can definitely recommend this venue for relaxed parties and gatherings.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heather M wrote a review Feb 2022
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed our meal here. Snitzel, lamb shanks and 3 meat burger were all very tasty. Service was good and staff were lovely. As we weren't locals we asked directions and they were happily given by a staff member. Would go there again when we are in Newcastle
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
picture_of_innocence wrote a review Nov 2013
Sydney, Australia176 contributions104 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
A word of warning, most of the rooms do not have ensuite bathroom facilities but rather a shared toilet, shared shower (down a corridor) which didn't suit us so we left and stayed elsewhere. Room was neat and tidy.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at The Premier Hotel
Responded 17 May 2015
Thank you for your review. Please note that when booking the rooms that have a 'shared' bathroom are clearly stated and these start from $74 a night - great value. We do have ensuited rooms available.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Savannah T wrote a review June 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room was booked via our roadside service company as we had broken down while interstate.

A queen bed in a tiny room with a bathroom was $141.00 for 1 night.

No tea or coffee facility, Not even a glass to drink water from.

A small kitchen down the hall where you might make a coffee using a paper coffee cup.
But no milk. No glasses there either.

Don't have too many bags as there are stairs, no lift.

I would not stay her again given the price and lack of in room facilities
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lisa m wrote a review Oct 2013
coffs harbour11 contributions11 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the premier over the recent long weekend. Was horrified to arrive home after a day out on the monday to find the main door to my room propped wide open, and the screen and glass door to the balcony unlocked. I was down a few towels on the daily ration of three so I assume cleaning staff left my door propped open and forgot to go back. Thank god my 3k camera was still there. there was no message bank to leave a complaint about this on their phone, so I used their web booking form to complain then and there on the night. That was a week ago today and not heard back from the management at all. Additionally, there is no designated parking for guests and parking close means that there satellite disrupts your central locking which was a problem over the whole trip. Pretty dirty shared bathroom too.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: stay elsewhere - further up brunker road there at two great hotels for not much more at all per...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at The Premier Hotel
Responded 15 Oct 2013
Firstly, Lisa we appreciate for your feedback. We have notified our contract cleaners of the incident as soon as this review came to our attention, please note that this has never occurred at The Premier Hotel and to say we are disappointed is an understatement. Management have put procedures in place to ensure that this never happens again. We do pride our self on providing comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation from $79 per night, if you are ever in Newcastle again please contact us directly and we will ensure you are looked after. We also have rooms with facilities and if these are available we would be happy to offer you one of these for your stay. Again, we apologise for any inconvenience caused and do hope you visit us again. Ben - Licensee
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
franky b wrote a review Oct 2012
Sydney, Australia9 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I've stayed in a few pubs over the years as i travel a bit for work, most are pretty average so i wasn't expecting too much, but i was really suprised. The staff were really friendly and very helpfull, and the room was spacious and modern. Also the pub and restaurant has a really good feel to it, friendly locals and the food was amazing would definetly reccomend the the premier to anyone who is looking for cheaper accomadation in newcastle.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Grab the ensuite family room with the balcony, good value.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben M wrote a review Oct 2012
Newcastle, Australia2 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at The Premier Hotel for a friends birthday function which was held down stairs in the Hotel itself. Everything was perfect from the staff to the food and the rooms we stayed in. We ate in the restaurant every night we were there because the food was so good. I am still dreaming about The Lamb Salad!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam W wrote a review Oct 2019
Tennyson, Australia249 contributions80 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were staying around the corner for a concert and stumbled in for a beer and dinner. It was great busy but staff were friendly and helpful and my T-bone was tops. How good are the staff, we got raffle tickets that were being drawn as we headed off to the concert....no worries the barman took the tickets and said come back after the concert....yeh sure...so we wander back in and the barman goes two prizes- yee ha...but you can't take the slab because of the lockout laws???? come back in the morning----again we thought yeh right- wandered in in the morning and there is my slab ready to be picked up- a great aussie pub with top staff.....we will be back next time!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hansie13 wrote a review June 2014
Australia195 contributions116 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Premier is a good option at the cheaper end of the market in Newcastle. The rooms are clean and comfortable - the shared facilities are clean and well maintained - and the hotel has a good restaurant and a good bar. The Hotel is convenient to Broadmeadow railway station. I booked a return visit, and was well treated again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Louise K, Guest Relations Manager at The Premier Hotel
Responded 17 May 2015
Thank you for your review. The Premier is a great local hotel, we pride ourselves on offering great affordable accommodation with the added bonus of a great restaurant downstairs.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
frox05 wrote a review Nov 2012
3 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I was staying here recently for one night for business and didn't like it at all. I've been to many pub style hotel rooms and this would be the worst I've seen. Very basic and no attention to detail. I guess if you want a cheap stay and you're not a fussy person it's ok - but I wouldn't go back there...
Read more
Date of stay: November 2012
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Finlay Australia asked a question Jan 2017
Newcastle, Australia12 contributions1 helpful vote
is there easy on street parking? for an suv? do you have an ironing board / iron in room?
Answer from W S
Jakarta, Indonesia76 contributions7 helpful votes
Dear Ian, there are ample unlimited time street parking in the neighbourhood. They're just not on the closest side to the hotel. Just watch for the parking sign.
Peter P asked a question June 2015
Nimbin, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hi, do you have off street parking? Peter P.
Answer from Byronba
64 contributions47 helpful votes
Sorry no off street parking
Sarah P wrote a tip Sept 2017
Newcastle, Australia32 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not sure about the rooms. Great location (not to far from Beaumont Street)"
Read full review
Armidalekay wrote a tip May 2017
Armidale, Australia21 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not sure as I had a single room. Although facing the street there was no traffic noise."
Read full review
W S wrote a tip Dec 2016
Jakarta, Indonesia76 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Family room number 1 was quite spacious and the closest to the common pantry."
Read full review
DougNewcastle2300 wrote a tip July 2016
Greater Newcastle, Australia4 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Can't help as I have never stayed here. Review is for the restaurant only."
Read full review
Helen M wrote a tip Feb 2016
Gunnedah, Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Four of us friends shared a family room it was roomy. and quite had a balcony it was all good"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newcastle area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$83 - AU$110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater NewcastleNewcastle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PREMIER HOTEL (AU$83): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Newcastle) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Premier Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Premier Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Newcastle City Farmers Market (0.6 km), Rices Bookshop (1.0 km), and The Retro Wardrobe (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Premier Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Premier Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Premier Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Premier Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kings XI Indian Restaurant, Limoo Cafe, and Mockingbird.
Are there any historical sites close to The Premier Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nobbys Head and Breakwall (5.0 km), Fort Scratchley (5.0 km), and Shepherds Hill Fort (4.1 km).
All Newcastle HotelsNewcastle Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NewcastleHotels near The Premier Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars