We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Citigate Motel Newcastle

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Citigate Motel Newcastle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 108: English reviews
Start your review of Citigate Motel Newcastle
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

One night stay at the hotel on our way through NSW. Our room was very comfortable and had good services. Tv, fridge, free internet, good size shower etc were appreciated aftee a long drive. Budget price but definitely worth a look at if you need a place to stay in Newcastle.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phillyelly
victor l, Owner at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear phillyelly, thanks for your kinds words and the time you took to share them with us. It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us. All the best and see you soon! Warm regards, Manny

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a great stay at the motel. The room was clean, good size, convenient location with nearby food shops, bus stops right in front to city and shopping centres. The manager, Manny, was very friendly and helpful. She provided information readily on where we can visit both with public and private transport as we had rented a car only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TanSC_12
victor l, Manager at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear TanSC, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our Motel. Warm regards, Manny

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed over with our baby, and it was perfect. It was a 47 degree day, but we slept like babies with the air conditioning. The service was wonderful, flexible and friendly. Would happily stay there again, and i'm sure that we will:)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eockwell
victor l, Owner at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Eockwell , thanks for your kinds words and the time you took to share them with us. It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us. All the best and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Citigate Motel ! Warm regards, Manny

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with the family (4), room was clean, bathroom was neat and tidy and staff was very helpful and friendly. Staff recommended lots of places to go visit. Will be back on future stays. Thanks guys for everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ambrozio D
victor l, Owner at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Ambrozio D, Thank you for choosing our Motel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Motel in the future. Take care! with kindest regards, Manny

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

wow i was there again that morning the three witches were abusing my mate the receptionist (i think his name is stan } any way why would you not pay $7.00 for the breakfast scrooges?????,,,, its good value.we stayed again cause stan was very helpful last time and its a handy location for the hospital...keep your chin up citigate and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bozo5412
victor l, Owner at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear BOZO5412, Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review and recommendation,and we are looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us. with kindest regards, Manny

Reviewed 16 January 2017

Motel was clean ,but won't stay again ,because the man in reception was awful , just Awful .he even had a loud speaker to make sure we left by 10 ,didn't want to give us the free continental breakfast until I told hm it was on the website ,then said he will make suture that is taken off the website...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaye A
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

A traditional motel but bathrooms have been renovated. Exceptionally clean. Bed was comfortable. Decent kitchenette with a microwave. Great if you need to get off the highway or stop for a couple of nights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaymay2904
victor l, Manager at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this review

thanks Jaymay for you comments about our recently renovated and upgraded motel we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 5 January 2017

We were travelling from Victoria to visit family in Queensland and stopped over in Newcastle the first night. We were looking for something reasonably priced as we just needed a bed but we were very pleasantly surprised to find free parking, a very clean and comfortable room with an ample and well appointed bathroom. Location was great - not far...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penny K
victor l, Manager at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this review

thanks Penny for your kind comments..... we hope to welcome you again one day at the citigate.

Springwood, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Clean bathroom, comfy clean beds, air conditioning, and a big TV. Perfect for our family of four after a big drive. Secure, easy, and exceptionally friendly staff. Highly recommend, outstanding for the bargain price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helene_and_Ben
victor l, Manager at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this review

thanks Helene and Ben hope to see you again at the Citigate and thank you for your kind comment.

Reviewed 29 December 2016

The old receptionist fella was rude, racist and condescending. Two nights spent in a room with broken air con. Receptionist tells me that it's 'Newcastle weather". I asked for another room, he refused. Keeps telling me about how to put air con on 18, I know how to use an air con. I asked him for the name of someone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank B H

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
3.5 km away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
327 reviews
5.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
927 reviews
5.6 km away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Gateway Inn
The Gateway Inn
#11 of 22 in Newcastle
162 reviews
3.7 km away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
43 reviews
2.5 km away
The Sunnyside Tavern
The Sunnyside Tavern
#2 of 29 in Newcastle
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfortable, affordable accommodation, centrally located and suited to any type of travellers! We have free WIFI, Free Foxtel and upgraded all rooms to luxury NEW beds. Whether it's an overnight business trip, a quick stop over on your travels or a home away from home you're looking for, you'll find it at Citigate Motel. We provide a range of different accommodation choices to suit your needs and your budget. You'll find our facilities and rooms clean, comfortable and spacious with all of the necessities to make your stay with us a pleasant one along with a friendly customer service team ensuring you are well taken care of. Enjoy being just 10 minutes from the CBD, Beaches, Shoppings and all that Newcastle has to offer as well as being central to the beautiful Hunter Valley and Port Stephens areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Citigate Motel Newcastle

Address: 418-422 Maitland Rd | Mayfield West, Newcastle, New South Wales 2304, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: $106 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citigate Motel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Citigate Motel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Citigate Motel Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Email manager Manny before stay for any requests and she will definitely help”
 of 5 bubbles TanSC_12, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 25 is on the back end, away from the road, great locale”
 of 5 bubbles eockwell, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“excellent value motel”
 of 5 bubbles bozo5412, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room was near the main road but we didn't find it noisy at all. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles 589pennyk, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for ground floor unless you love stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles spin462002, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5