We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all B&B in Newcastle

The Grand Hotel Newcastle

88 reviews
Save
Traveller (32)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (2)
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good52%
  • Average17%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(13 reviews)
“jazz night”(2 reviews)
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (88)Write a Review
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
20
43
14
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
20
43
14
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubjazz nightstreet noise can begreat locationlarge balconytop floormin walknight's stayroom was cleanmini fridgerooms are smalldouble bedgreat sizetable and chairsair conditioninggreat place to staylovely hotel
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room 7 with the big veranda is a great room stayed there twice but the whole hotel needs some love and attention. Its one of those places that could be so much better if they just put a few dollars into it and tried to...More

Thank underthemicroscope01
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Got there on a Bank Holiday so found it closed but luckily the owners sister turned up to stay so she called Mark and he appeared in 2 mins and sorted us out into room 6. Really nice chap very helpful and carried the cases...More

Thank Zen&Co
A TripAdvisor Member
34
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Bad mould in bathroom Toilet roll holders falling off 3 globes blown in the room Half the tv channels don't work Tea and coffee shelf about to fall off Quiet noisey not that this is the hotels faults Quite run down and tired with poor...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Response from StaceHGrand, Accommodation Manager at The Grand Hotel NewcastleResponded 5 September 2017

Hi There! We appreciate your feedback, thank you for making us aware of the issues with your room, however if you had informed one of our friendly staff members of the lighting and TV issue during your stay we could have rectified the problem then....More

Reviewed 4 July 2017

Arrived after 7pm to find absolutely no parking so had to bring bags down the hill from about 250 metres away. No big deal really. The hotel has a great world of character with its wide verandah and I'd taken the opportunity to get a...More

Thank 425darren
Response from StaceHGrand, Accommodation Manager at The Grand Hotel NewcastleResponded 14 July 2017

Hi Darren, Thank you for your feedback, we're sorry you felt your stay with us was disappointing. Parking within the CBD can be extremely difficult especially after metered hours when it becomes free, that is beyond our control as it does state on Booking.com and...More

Reviewed 28 June 2017

We had a function in Newcastle recently so given the location of The Grand Hotel and the many positive reviews online, it was an easy choice. We weren’t disappointed. There are many different room categories and the level of amenities relates to the price (as...More

Thank PrincessInTransit
Response from StaceHGrand, Accommodation Manager at The Grand Hotel NewcastleResponded 14 July 2017

Hey There, Thank you for your feedback, we're happy that you a great stay with us. I'll be sure to let the Bistro know that you enjoyed your meals. We look forward to having you stay with us again. :)

PreviousNext
12345617
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (32)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (2)
Hotel & Grounds (22)
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 89 - USD 117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 89 - USD 117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
janlewis19
28 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from OLLIEATBONNYS | Reviewed this property |
Hi, Parking near the Grand on weekdays could be hard to find and is time restricted. Weekend and overnight parking should be ok, as it is only timed on Saturday morning. There is a loading zone at the entrance in Bolton St... More
1
Vote
Damian H
12 April 2016|
Answer
Response from 842brucec | Reviewed this property |
Street Parking round the site and that is metered. Multi-storey carparks in side street, usual rates.
0
Votes
8 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Paul O | Reviewed this property |
Not sure, give them a call, i'm sure they will be happy to tell you
0
Votes
Room Tips
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite