We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mayfield Motel

503 Maitland Rd Mayfield West, Newcastle, New South Wales 2304 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (10)
Room & Suite (2)
View from Room (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 5 motels in Newcastle
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Classic 1960s Motel. All 22 units are ground floor and most have parking right in front of the room.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Breakfast in the room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
37Reviews1Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 9
  • 13
  • 11
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Christian wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
+1
Biggest mistake I ever made… Don’t stay here!!! After reading some reviews, and needing a place to stay for 5nts while doing a training course, it ticked the boxes that I heeded, manly the location! Unfortunately after the first night of no sleep due to the noise from, what I would say drug dealing from other room?’s! Loud violent voices, it was scary… I asked to cancel the next 4nts to move elsewhere but was denied a refund! Stuck in hell for 5nts, better get some earbuds… so I unpacked and had a look at the room. OMG phots attached! The cleanliness of the room was a disgrace… FYI a health hazard, what I found under the bed, and the dust everywhere… after showing the manager, he still refused my refund and said that all other rooms are book? I have it cleaned tomorrow, sit mate I’ve need to sleep in this mess! Then I was told, leave if you’re not happy. WTF! Pls pls pls do stay here! I never write reviews, but I have to let everyone know how bad this place is. Look at the room and underneath the bed before you pay!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: If you are desperate and can’t drive any further, and there are no other motels hotels or rooms...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
David T wrote a review Dec 2019
Central Coast, Australia105 contributions34 helpful votes
My wife and I are always delighted to stay at this quaint Motel. The Manager has a lovely happy disposition and is very welcoming. The Room was very comfortable and we both had a great night's sleep. The bed is so comphie with a few pillows to choose from. The shower was great and heated up in split seconds. Excellent value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MrsCarlaStrong wrote a review May 2019
Sydney, Australia16 contributions16 helpful votes
I stayed here on a Friday night in May, en route to a friend’s house. I’d searched the Internet looking for a 1960s motel in the area and was so excited to find the Mayfield. My stay did not disappoint. Kathy the owner was just lovely. Welcoming, warm, and had a wonderful knowledge of the area and some great stories to tell. My room was cosy, spotless and comfortable, and I slept like a baby. The fresh milk on arrival was a great, homely touch. I would have loved to take a dip in the pool under the palm trees but it was a little chilly for that. I’m planning another visit soon as the vintage charm and neon signage of this motel has me hooked! Thanks Kathy, for a fabulous stay. I can’t recommend your motel enough!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from 503welcome, Owner at Mayfield Motel
Responded 21 May 2019
Thank you, Carla. So happy we didn't disappoint. Hopefully you got some great pics of your stay. Glad you slept well and were fresh for your big day. Thanks again for saying such lovely things about us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Kathy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
william b wrote a review Apr 2019
Elderslie, Australia250 contributions16 helpful votes
Stayed here for 2 nights about 3 weeks ago for the steamfest festival which was great fun. Fairly good size motel room plenty of parking just off the main road, had 32in TV and microwave which came in handy as I brought my own food cheaper, also had free WiFi but wasn't working properly thanks to optus other wise it was pretty quiet, bed was comfortable, the only thing I would is the curtains as their nearly see through instead of block out ones. Shop we're only about 20min down the road. Good hosts nice and friendly too.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 503welcome, Owner at Mayfield Motel
Responded 2 May 2019
Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your stay, William. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and also had a great time at steamfest. Thank you for letting me know about the curtains, so I can check on them. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Kathy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
aussiescotts wrote a review Mar 2019
Brisbane, Australia85 contributions28 helpful votes
It is a 3 star motel but everything you need if you just need somewhere to rest your head and have a shower. Staff were very friendly and location to the airport was very convenient. Bed was comfortable and did have tea and coffee making facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 503welcome, Owner at Mayfield Motel
Responded 2 May 2019
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a comfortable stay. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Kathy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Batty56 wrote a review Jan 2019
Gosford, Australia37 contributions9 helpful votes
Rooms are basic but clean and have everything required, including a multi power point next to the bed which also has USB points- great for charging the mobile. Plenty of hot water and bed is comfortable. Breakfast is also available for a good price. There is a pool onsite which many of the other local motels don't have, so great for Summer.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. A popular hotel for truck drivers as there is off-street parking for trucks.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 503welcome, Owner at Mayfield Motel
Responded 25 Jan 2019
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our Motel. We work hard to make your stay with us a comfy one and I will pass your comments on to my cleaning staff as well. We hope to see you again some time. Kind regards, Kathy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
UniquePerth wrote a review Nov 2018
Australia314 contributions69 helpful votes
Small, compact room - clean and tidy. Disappointed that our host was not more friendly, just accommodating even though we thought we had some common interests. Was adequate for a night but there are far better places nearby that are cheaper with breakfast included. It was a semi reasonable experience at the time. It is an older style motel which is very basic.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Shop around nearby
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 503welcome, Owner at Mayfield Motel
Responded 7 Nov 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are indeed a basic, older style (classic 60s) motel. I am please that you noted we do strive to keep our rooms clean and tidy. I do hope it was not me that you did not find friendly, perhaps I was not here when you checked in. I am renowned for being friendly and helpful to our guests, but there are a few, very rare, times when I am away for some reason. I am sorry you did not enjoy your check in experience. Regards, Kathy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alan M wrote a review Oct 2018
Greater Sydney, Australia6 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here long weekend, clean and comfortable, decor was original 60’s Cooked breakfast not available but choice of local cuisine was good. Access to motel is good and pool looks inviting I will be back
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 503welcome, Owner at Mayfield Motel
Responded 7 Nov 2018
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in our 60s motel. I am sorry you stayed with us during the brief period when cooked breakfasts were not available. It was a rare thing. Our pool certainly has been popular during this recent warm weather. Very refreshing. We look forward to seeing you again sometime. Regards, Kathy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marcustowsonp187 wrote a review Oct 2018
Wee Waa, Australia63 contributions51 helpful votes
A great cozy motel and Greeted by the Lovely manager/owner! Nice sized room, with Comfy beds! Clean room comes with a decent sized en-suite, a tv, and coffee making facilities, and an in ground pool on site! This motel is located very close to Woolworths and plenty of takeaways, I would certainly stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 503welcome, Owner at Mayfield Motel
Responded 7 Nov 2018
Thanks so much for your lovely comments about your stay with us. We are please you enjoyed your visit. we look forward to seeing you again sometime. Regards, Kathy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Leonie Vale wrote a review July 2018
Taree, Australia6 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed at this motel overnight because I had to be at the John Hunter Hospital at 6 am the next morning. The beds were comfortable, good amenities and extremely friendly lady on front desk. The room was very clean, and quiet too, despite being on a main road. Will stay there again if visiting the hospital.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newcastle area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$109 - AU$115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater NewcastleNewcastle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MAYFIELD MOTEL (AU$109): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Newcastle) - Photos of Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mayfield Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Mayfield Motel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Reality - Escape Rooms Newcastle (6.7 km), Newcastle Afoot (7.1 km), and Newcastle Memorial Walk (7.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mayfield Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Mayfield Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mayfield Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Mayfield Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mayfield Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sapphire Indian Restaurant, Babbingtons Bar & Grill, and Three Monkeys Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mayfield Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Mayfield Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nobbys Head and Breakwall (7.7 km), Fort Scratchley (7.7 km), and Shepherds Hill Fort (7.6 km).