We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carrington Place

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Carrington Place
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Carrington Place
See the most recent reviews
Showing 73: English reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

After hearing about this so called great boutique hotel we made the effort to try it out. The staff had NO interaction with us at all service was terrible. The meals were very average for the price, Im sorry Carrington Place but you have got business for the last time.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ross P
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Carrington Place, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you had that experience we would love you to give us another try.

Wagait Beach
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very neat, clean and conveniently located to Newcastle if you have a car for which off-street parking is available. We stayed 5 nights and noise levels from the kitchen varied from none on Sunday and Monday nights to extremely noisy on Friday night. This was due to a large function and the noise of cleaning up after the event. If...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christhol
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The area is quiet, nice guest house and service! If you are looking for a peaceful nights sleep elsewhere might be better as it can be noisy with guests from bar and bistro! Comfortable rooms, plenty of on street parking and around 10-15 minutes walk to harbour restaurants and city centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LJSok
Valla, Australia
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The room is well presented, new carpet (although this affected the ability to plug anything into the powerpoints but staff provided a power-board to plug all my electronics in), bed comfortable,TV well positioned and easy to use. The shared bathroom provided two toilets and shower cubicles one suite together with a door and the other separate allowing for use by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
Boat Harbour, Australia
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I booked my room in early January on the phone directly to Carrington Place, the money came out of my account on 1st February, we turned up on 8th March and no room was available. I took them my bank statement to show them I had paid. It took them 10 days after several phone calls to give me a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendy H
Scott W, Owner at Carrington Place, responded to this review

As with all accommodation, double bookings can occur. This can happen with both the reservation engine facility used or human error. On this occasion it was human error. We offered you a room upgrade which you declined. Monies paid were refunded as agreed.

Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

The first time I went here for dinner I was greeted by friendly staff who knew what they were doing. I had food off the bar menu and it was delicious! The jazz night had a great atmosphere and a lot of fun... Of course I went back, many time! Eating in the restaurant is an experience I would highly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Misskridz
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Unable to look out a window and the 'ensuite' conversion enabled by a locked door leading directly to the restaurant on other side of the wall were initially disconcerting. However, the sincere hospitality, cleanliness and VERY tasteful renovation /decor and I was in love with this 'pub' within hours, the food is fabulous and the area generally has a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lostcelt
Castelldefels, Spain
Reviewed 8 November 2013

It is a nice hotel, with brand new furniture and nice, clean and tidy rooms. The staff is very kind and professional. There is a cool bar/restaurant downstairs perfect for wine tasting and enjoying the nightlife or a nice evening. The only con is that it is a little bit far from the city center, although there is a bus...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JseRjas
Orange, Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Great location close to city, excellent quality appointments even in the shared bathroom option. Quality food and friendly helpful staff. Highly recommended for either long or short stays and represents excellent value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 17 June 2013

As always, amazing. Had a birthday party there on the weekend. Delicious food, friendly staff and GREAT atmosphere. Thank you again Carrington Place, for an overall fantastic night. Will always be back for more! :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank El-le S

3 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
940 reviews
1.3 km away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,281 reviews
2.3 km away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
4.8 km away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
333 reviews
1.4 km away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Carrington Place

Address: 132 Young St | Carrington, Newcastle, New South Wales 2294, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: $85 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carrington Place 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Carrington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Carrington Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room towards end of hotel away from kitchen n bar end. Rm 8”
 of 5 bubbles , 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Queen room with ensuite bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles gordyf2015, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I didn't stay at the hotel - only ate at the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles LynetteB411, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“If you don't want a shared bathroom ask for the ensuite room downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 459jennyf, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs opposite the bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles Aussielins, 19 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5