We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Discovery Parks - Dubbo

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Discovery Parks - Dubbo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 345: English reviews
Start your review of Discovery Parks - Dubbo
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in a 3 bedroom one bathroom cabin. Bathroom ceiling was covered in mold, blankets were unwashed and smelly, receptionist was unfriendly on arrival, no wifi as advertised, cabin had not been maintained as there were rips in the lino in the lounge area and was extremely overpriced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
Geraldton, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

No room to put awning out door to Caravan right on top of power box can't move caravan Sewerage drain right oustside window no wifi Well n truely over priced we are sitting in neighbours front door It's horrible and for a BIG4 it's unbelievable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jensie21
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this review

Thankyou for providing feedback on your recent stay. Our drive-through sites certainly do not have the same space as our regular powered sites, and we are sorry that it didn’t meet your expectations. We will look at what options we have to address the drain and power box location on that site, should it be practical to relocate. The wifi...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our visit was only for one night hence we chose a cheap option and stayed in a standard 3 bedroom cabin after our day at the zoo. Reception was friendly enough although the big signs explaining the field mouse plague freaked me out a bit. Within five minutes of checking in our kids wanted to go home. Dirty top bunks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jules P
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this review

We're sorry to read that you were disappointed with the cleanliness in the cabins and that you had a poor night's sleep, Jules. Should you wish to discuss your feedback further, we invite you to contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Sadly this caravan park was disappointing. The facilities were not very clean and unable to cope with a full park as it was a long weekend. Our site was rocky and slopped even though we had mentioned we had soft fall camper trailor..the site wasnt suitable Also we would strongly recommend security cameras or similiar are installed asap. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxwellfamily2003
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this review

We're sorry that the site was not suitable and we appreciate the feedback in order for us to address these issues. As we would like to understand your comments about security and your experience at our park further, we invite you to contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There were many things to like about this park. Very basic welcome and check in. However, Sites are small hence you have your neighbours car very very close to where you sit. Bins right on our site first day smelly then ok but not something that's enjoyable to look at. We got 5 punctures out of 8 tyres. Cats eye...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benjamunji
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this review

We're sorry to read that you were disappointed with some aspects of your experience at our park. We have addressed your feedback with staff and will look for possible future improvements to our in-park experience. Should you wish to discuss this further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Redhead, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed two nights in a Superior 2Br cabin and were impressed! Comfy beds, clean and well stocked. Great for kids, water park, BMX track and jumping pillow were a big hit with our 6 year old. Close to the zoo and not far from other attractions either. Very happy, would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathleenw534
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this review

We're pleased to know that you were impressed with your stay at our park, Kathleen! It's wonderful that you and your family were able to enjoy the facilities. Thank you for sharing your review.

Sydney
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Dubbo Discovery Park is a great place to stay with the kids. It has a pool which is heated (which is great when the weather cools). The pool has a big slide for the older kids and for the little ones they have a big play area with small slides, buckets etc although venture in with caution when the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this review

Thank you for rating us highly as a family friendly park, Kathy! We're glad that we're equipped with the facilities needed for a full family holiday.

Cairns Central
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We stayed 2 nights in a deluxe safari tent. Was great value for us(2 adults and 4 kids under 8). Awesome tents, very clean and everything you need for cooking. The play area at the park was great. Kept the kids occupied for hours and gave myself and my husband some much needed time out!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maryke M
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this review

We're glad that both the kids and adults were kept busy, Maryke! Thank you for sharing your review of our facilities.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Have stayed hear on two accasions in cabins cabins are so clean and the cleaning staff allways asked if we needed anything and were great on the heads up on local attractions thankyou gale,great pool also

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxienepescud
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our cabins and facilities.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Stayed for 2 nights in the Park on one of their busiest periods - Easter. Even though there were approx. 500 people staying in Park there was room for all with good space between sites. Fabulous Park for kids with wonderful facilities - playground, sandpit, jumping pillow and water slide. Amenities - a) laundry very well equipped including iron and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jillmccrone
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Dubbo, responded to this review

We're pleased that our park was spacious and comfortable even in the busy period, Jill. Thank you for sharing your review of our customer service, facilities and location.

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
1.0 km away
Ibis Budget Dubbo
Ibis Budget Dubbo
#16 of 30 in Dubbo
438 reviews
3.2 km away
Dubbo Midstate Caravan Park
1.5 km away
Dubbo City Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
0.3 km away
Quality Inn Dubbo International
1.5 km away
Country Apartments
Country Apartments
#2 of 30 in Dubbo
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discovery Parks - Dubbo covers every reason why people travel for leisure. Looking for some awesome sights to see? Check out Taronga Western Plains Zoo, which plays host to a wide variety of animals or see the Old Dubbo Gaol for a fascinating look at the past. Prefer to relax? Enjoy Discovery Parks - Dubbo's WiFi and heated outdoor swimming pool, while your kids play on the kangaroo jumper and playground. Turn your boring school camp or corporate retreat into something more exciting by using Discovery Parks - Dubbo. We have experience in hosting school trips, work functions and sporting competitions. Are you ready to discover one of New South Wales' best-kept secrets? Whatever your reason for coming to Dubbo, Discovery Parks - Dubbo has you covered! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Dubbo

Address: 154 Whylandra Street, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia (Formerly BIG4 Dubbo Parklands)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Price Range: $73 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Dubbo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Discovery Parks - Dubbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Parks - Dubbo staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Parks - Dubbo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here at all”
D2012GRheatherh, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a luxury cabin and you might find better quality”
452julesp, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If we stayed again, we would get a site with an ensuite for bathroom and toilet.”
163kathyg, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Safari tents are great and the kids loved them.”
marykem2015, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The deluxe cabins seemed to be situated in the middle of the park away from the main highway. Much quieter.”
amccarthy3, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Agoda.com
Ctrip.com
Booking.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates