We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge

Save
Share
100 Argent St, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
USD 70
View Deal
eDreams
Travelocity
Snaptravel
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (9)
Pool & Beach (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#8 of 20 Speciality lodging in Broken Hill
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Pool
Outdoor pool
Game room
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
32Reviews1Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 10
  • 7
  • 9
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sean J wrote a review Oct. 2020
1 contribution
For the price you get what you expect. My room was right for me. It was comfortable with reverse cycle airconditioning. The showers need alot of work. One continually leaks even though there is a sign to keep showers short due to drought conditions. The middle shower is ok and the first shower the water doesn't even shoot in the right direction. Toilets are clean as are the wash basins. The kitchen is basic. It would be good if there was more cutlery available. I went and bought dishwashing liquid and paper towels as the tea towels didn't look very appealing and I like to keep the surfaces I use clean. The carpets everywhere seriously need to be replaced. The fault alarm on the fire system needs to be fixed as that high pitch alarm is very annoying. The people that run the show are lovely and accommodating. They let me into my room an hour earlier than check in as it was hot and windy outside and I was exhausted. I would probably stay there again as it's very central to everything you need to see and do in town.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Janine G , Marketing at Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge
Responded 10 Oct. 2020
Dear SAJ9569 Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you mention, it is what it is and for $69 a night, we keep prices down to allow travellers such as yourself to enjoy Broken Hill and the region. We will take onboard your feedback and the areas we need to improve on, thank you for bringing it to our attention. Safe travels Tourist Lodge Broken Hill.
Read more
Somsuvro B wrote a review Oct. 2020
6 contributions1 helpful vote
We made an advance booking here and even though check in was at 2pm, we arrived at around 7pm as we drove down directly from Sydney. We had communicated our late arrival to the hotel well in advance but when we reached there, the reception was closed. We rang up the contact number and got directed to a different facility down the block. This one was an extremely basic motel style facility and was very different from what was advertised. The bed was uncomfortable and the walls were so thin that we could almost have had a conversation with the family staying in the next room! We will never return to this place.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Janine G , Marketing at Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge
Responded 10 Oct. 2020
Dear ThakelaDil Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you mention, it is what it is and for $69 a night, we keep prices down to allow travellers such as yourself to enjoy Broken Hill and the region. We will take onboard your feedback and the areas we need to improve on, thank you for bringing it to our attention. Safe travels Tourist Lodge Broken Hill.
Read more
Aoife wrote a review Oct. 2020
Sydney, Australia14 contributions4 helpful votes
You really pay for what you get here. The place is old and musty. The room is bare and old. But it was well cleaned and so were the bathrooms. Can’t fault them on any of that! We had no one to greet us when we arrived which was a bit annoying and had to wait outside and keep calling the hotel number until eventually someone answered and gave us the code to go in. My biggest complaint was the bed! We had 2 single beds which was fine but we ended up sharing the one small bed as the mattress on the second bed was so bad I could feel the wooden slats underneath me when I lay on it. It was basically like there was no mattress under me but just a thin blanket. Very very uncomfortable and the hotel should 100% replace! (Room 27 if I recall) The other bed was fine and comfy considering we both slept in it! All in all if you’re looking for somewhere cheap and unappealing then this is the place to go, just don’t expect luxury
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Janine G , Marketing at Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge
Responded 10 Oct. 2020
Dear aoifec1995 Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you mention, it is what it is and for $69 a night, we keep prices down to allow travellers such as yourself to enjoy Broken Hill and the region. We will take onboard your feedback and the areas we need to improve on, thank you for bringing it to our attention. Safe travels Tourist Lodge Broken Hill.
Read more
Kellie D wrote a review Oct. 2020
Sydney, Australia6 contributions4 helpful votes
We were booked to stay at the tourist lodge due to a shortage in accomodation. We have a 15 year old child with us. The very helpful staff member upgraded us to a close motel for no extra charge. We would like to thank her so much for her assistance and it made our stay very enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Janine G , Marketing at Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge
Responded 10 Oct. 2020
Dear KellieD910 Thank you for your review. We will always try out best to accommodate and look after our guests. I am very glad we were able to do this for you. Safe travels Broken Hill Tourist Lodge.
Read more
brian e wrote a review Jul. 2020
7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I had 3 nights at the Broken Hill Tourist Lodge which I enjoyed very much.Very reasonable prices & good facilities. Will be most happy to stay again on my next visit to a most interesting & welcoming city.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Janine G , Marketing at Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge
Responded 7 Sep. 2020
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write about your positive experience. We welcome you back anytime. Safe travels The Tourist Lodge
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 52 - USD 62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesBroken Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge?
Nearby attractions include Sulphide Street Railway & Historical Museum (0.2 km), Synagogue of the Outback (0.5 km), and Broken Hill Trades Hall (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include S-Que Restaurant, The Palace Hotel Restaurant, and Broken Hill Musicians Club.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Broken Hill.
Are there any historical sites close to Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Broken Hill Trades Hall (0.4 km).