We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge

Overview
100 Argent St, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880 Australia See on map
AMENITIES
Internet
Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Laundry Service
3 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
8
7
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
8
7
3
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On being told it was $85 per night for a single room with a shared bathroom, the hesitated and that is well over my budget, but went ahead anyway and booked 2 nights. Generally good facilities. Had a small single room with TV and fridge,...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Schimpf
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

9.30 pm book in non existent . They wouldn’t answer the phone for 15 minutes. We had done 1100 klms that day and just wanted to go to bed . Shown to the most basic room but the floor creaked so badly we thought we...More

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank lachym123
Response from DanikaS26, Administration and marketing officer at Broken Hill - The Tourist lodgeResponded 6 September 2018

Hi lachym123, Thank you for providing us with your feedback. Typically our book-ins finish around 5.30pm, as this is when our office closes. We try to contact any patrons that have not yet booked in prior to our office closing, but understand that sometimes patrons...More

Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Was impossible to sleep or have some rest because it’s very noisy. From the room you hear everything from outside, the footstep, voices, everything. The wall is thin like paper. Floor should be fixed. At least amenities were clean.More

Date of stay: May 2018
1  Thank Elisa P
Response from DanikaS26, Administration and Marketing Officer at Broken Hill - The Tourist lodgeResponded 5 July 2018

Hi Eliza P, Thank you for staying at the Tourist Lodge and for your feedback. We take all feedback seriously, and aim to provide a high quality service for a budget price. Your feedback regarding our floors, has been passed on to our management and...More

Reviewed 27 October 2017

There is a friendly and relaxed atmosphere at the Tourist Lodge. Ruth, the proprietor, is very pleasant and helpful to the guests. The kitchen/dining room is spacious and well equipped and the swimming pool area provides sunshine and shade. For budget priced accommodation, the cleanliness...More

Date of stay: October 2017
2  Thank JayBanx
Response from Janineg8, Manager at Broken Hill - The Tourist lodgeResponded 12 February 2018

Dear JayBanx, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Under the new ownership we have been working hard to maintain our regular guests and new ones. We are thrilled you had a good experience and enjoyed the relaxed like home for our...More

Reviewed 11 November 2016

For the price$50 it was a great place to stay for an overnight-er. Basic 'backpacker' lodging with a swimming pool. The only let down was the rooms creaky floors were so loud. I left early and felt bad when walking around as I'm sure the...More

Date of stay: November 2016
2  Thank ozikiwi68
View more reviews
About
Description
Finding an ideal budget friendly hostel in Broken Hill does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge, a nice option for travellers like you. More Rooms at Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge include air conditioning offering exceptional comfort and convenience. A pool will also help to make your stay even more special. While at Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge, guests can go online with internet access, and if you are driving, parking is available. Given the close proximity to Broken Hill Trades Hall (0.4 km), guests of Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge can easily experience one of Broken Hill's most popular landmarks. If you like cafes, Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge is conveniently located near Alfrescos Cafe, The Silly Goat, and Bells Milk Bar. If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Broken Hill Visitor Information Centre (0.1 km), Westside Plaza Shopping Centre (1.1 km), or Tri State Safaris Outback Tours (0.9 km), which are popular attractions amongst tourists, and they are all within walking distance. Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge puts the best of Broken Hill at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Air Conditioning
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
39
Price range
USD 56 - USD 66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
39
Price range
USD 56 - USD 66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 nearby hotels
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
297 reviews
.05 km away
The Argent Motel
33 reviews
.06 km away
Daydream Motel
192 reviews
.18 km away
The Palace Hotel Broken Hill
210 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 66 nearby restaurants
The Silly Goat
573 reviews
.71 km away
S-Que Restaurant
130 reviews
.05 km away
The Palace Hotel Restaurant
486 reviews
.32 km away
Gloria Jeans Broken Hill
74 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 41 nearby attractions
Broken Hill Visitor Information Centre
533 reviews
.07 km away
Broken Hill Regional Art Gallery
133 reviews
.89 km away
Broken Hill Miner's Memorial
516 reviews
.64 km away
Sulphide Street Railway & Historical Museum
175 reviews
.24 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"If a room is available some distance away from occupied rooms you are assured of uninterrupted sleep."
JayBanx
26 Oct. 2017
Read review
"ask if there are any rooms with solid floors"
ozikiwi68
11 Nov. 2016
Read review
"The hotel is a refurbished 60's-era Miners' Accomodation - so all rooms are the same."
alexp0rtn0y2256
4 May 2016
Read review
"I was given a double bed for a sole traveller."
beew2014
27 Apr. 2016
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing