We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Willyama Motor Inn

30 Iodide St, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880 Australia
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (3)
Overview
30 Iodide St, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880 Australia See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews(95)
Traveller rating
  • 46
  • 34
  • 10
  • 4
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Show reviews that mention
  • Filter
  • English
Sophie T
185
Reviewed 5 days agovia mobile
I have previously stayed at the Old Willyama and been content with our stay however our last stay was terribly disappointing. The main reason we booked to stay here was because of the pool, which we found to be closed for maintenance during our stay. However, at no point during the booking process (and I talked to Juanita multiple times) were we informed that this was the case. In fact we did not find out it was closed until we had been to the shops to buy bathers especially and we were in our bathers ready to swim. This was incredibly disappointing because we booked just for the pool. Then in our room we discovered that the smoke alarm did not have batteries and was hanging down off the ceiling- a safety hazard that is not acceptable! I did not feel comfortable contacting the manager because the reception was not open (and has never been open on previous stays) even though it is advertised that it is open. Therefore the only way to contact the manager is through an after hours emergency number and it feels as though you are inconveniencing them. A disappointing stay, will not be back.
Thank Sophie T
Quest817212
20
Reviewed 2 Oct. 2018
I booked into this motel after a long drive.

Juanita was very helpful at reception and she gave me some handy ideas for activities in the area.

After checking in I went for a walk around town.

By dinner time I was tired and hungry, so I went to the dining room attached to the motel. Very much enjoyed my meal.

When I returned to my room I noticed that it was a good size with a clean modern bathroom.

The wifi reception was good, so I did some work on my computer. However, I was tired so I only worked for while and then retired to bed.

The bed was comfortable so I was able to get a good night's sleep and recharge the batteries.

The Old Willyama is a reasonably priced motel and it ticks quite a few boxes for the price.

Next time I visit the area I would definitely consider staying again.
Thank Quest817212
Response from Juanita N, Front Office Manager at Old Willyama Motor Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for your review, great to hear you enjoyed staying here with us @ The Old Willyama, and Broken Hill. Its a beautiful place for all to enjoy. Hope to see you again in the near future, take care and all the best. Regards Juanita
Steve H
172
Reviewed 17 Sep. 2018
This was the end of a week long outback motorcycle trip and this motel was a great place to clean up and have a great sleep..
great room, clean, good bed and pillows and quiet.
I would have prefered a ground floor but it was busy time in Broken Hill and was very pleased to get this great motel.
Thank Steve H
Response from Juanita N, Front Office Manager at Old Willyama Motor Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Steve, thanks for taking time to leave a review. I am really happy you enjoyed your stay here with us, it was a pleasure to meet you. Hope to see you one day again the near future, we will do our best to make sure you have a downstairs room. Take care and all the best Regards Juanita
geoff291
Brisbane, Australia
3918
Reviewed 13 Aug. 2018
The room was small but clean. A small round table & two chairs were included. Wifi was good. Refrigerator was OK. Coffee equipment was OK. No microwave. Unfortunately there was no light in the centre of the ceiling - the bedside lights worked, but are an inadequate light source (however the cord does reach to the table). The heater/aircon did work but was oddly positioned, giving uncertain temperature control. There was a spAre blanket in the wardrobe, but if you want an electric blanket - bring your own. There is an attached restaurant specialising in Asian cuisine - quite good, but not open for breakfast. The motel can provide a continental breakfast.
Thank geoff291
Response from Juanita N, Front Office Manager at Old Willyama Motor Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Geoff, thanks for taking the time to write a review. I can definatley agree with you and the position of the lights and air conditioners I find it strange myself, this is something that we are looking into changing in our quiet season. Sorry we do not have electric blankets in any of our rooms as is our house policy. Glad you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant and your stay, we hope to see you again in the near future, take care and all the best. Regards Juanita
Plodow
Wonthaggi, Australia
152
Reviewed 21 Jul. 2018via mobile
This was the 3rd time I had stayed at this motel. The rooms were always very clean and the staff have always been very friendly. The last two times we have travelled with another couple, this time we had no hot water on two of the three days we stayed. The situation was the same for the cuople travelling with us. I was also advised that there was no wi-fi as it had been down for a few days. Got the feeling that new owners were struggling to make ends meet. Won't be back.
Thank Plodow
Response from Juanita N, Manager at Old Willyama Motor Inn
Responded 26 Jul. 2018
Hi plodow, Sorry you did not enjoy your time with us this trip - I understand why. Everything that could go wrong did go wrong and other guests suffered also. We had to wait 16 days for our internet provider to send a technician (they said we were to remote) which was a huge inconvenience for everyone including myself and in the meantime the hot water system decided to be tempremental, which just made everything even more difficult and frustrating. Thanks for your concern regarding the owner and his financial situation - I can assure you this is far from the truth. I apologise and hope that you may change your mind and stay with us again, hopefully by then our new studio apartments will be finished and you can see the changes the new owner is making. Warm regards Juanita
PreviousNext
12345619
About
Description
The Old Willyama Motor Inn has modern motel suites, all fitted with quiet reverse cycle air-conditioning, AUSTAR TV, phones, wireless ADSL connection, bar stocked fridge, tea/coffee making facilities. Dry More cleaning service available , business and disabled facilities. Room Service is available from our licensed Restaurant & Hotel (7 days), swimming pool & spa, BBQ and beer garden, Refurbished Restaurant/Bar and Coffee Lounge. Less
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Breakfast Available
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Minibar
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Wheelchair Access
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Suites, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Suites, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available
Number of rooms
29
Price range
USD 95 - USD 118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Suites, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available
Number of rooms
29
Price range
USD 95 - USD 118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Photos
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (3)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 nearby hotels
Red Earth Motel
392 reviews
.09 km away
Imperial Fine Accommodation
127 reviews
.38 km away
Comfort Inn Crystal
74 reviews
.43 km away
Royal Exchange Hotel
162 reviews
.49 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 65 nearby restaurants
The Silly Goat
566 reviews
.36 km away
Trinders in The Astra
274 reviews
.30 km away
Alfrescos Cafe
440 reviews
.28 km away
The Exchange Restaurant @The Royal Exchange Hotel
128 reviews
.48 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 40 nearby attractions
Broken Hill Visitor Information Centre
529 reviews
1.03 km away
Broken Hill Regional Art Gallery
130 reviews
.19 km away
Sulphide Street Railway & Historical Museum
174 reviews
.89 km away
Broken Hill Miner's Memorial
512 reviews
.82 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Wendy D
11 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Ben H | Property representative |
Hi Wendy we offer a few differnt options for what you are asking if you would like to contact us on 0880 883355 or 1800 100 777 I can talk you through them.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"I prefer a ground floor as steps can be difficult with luggage."
L8434ZUsteveh
17 Sep. 2018
Read review
"Don't choose rooms near stairs as it is noisy when people walk up and down."
j0sephine4
19 Jun. 2018
Read review
"a little bit of noise from staircase from other guests"
juden69
10 Jun. 2018
Read review
"it is a two story hotel so claim a downstairs room if you can't climb."
Deajavoo
2 Jul. 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing