We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

650 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 607: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Hotel reception staff, property, room with a view all top class. Had a fantastic meal in the restaurant as did adjacent diners. Except for a stain on the bed spread (I was not using fortunately) which had the hallmark of last minute lovemaking by the previous occupier of room 103.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoyandJude
Dharama S, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear RoyandJude, Thanks for your constructive feedback and we have taken to the team to ensure we are ensuring all our guests leave the hotel recommending us. We sincerely hope to see you back again soon. Regards Dharama Sena

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 August 2015

We stayed in what was described as a deluxe two bedroom villa. I wouldn't really call it deluxe as it was really just a hotel room with two bedrooms. The bathroom had recently been refurbished but the rest of the room was very dated and in need of a facelift. The room was located right at the back of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
Dharama S, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Anna M Thanks for your review. We take all comment seriously and have spoken with our teams to ensure points mentioned have been addressed. We sincerely hope to see you back again soon. Regards Dharama Sena

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Staff here are great! We stayed in a suite with great views of the lake from the bedroom as well as underfloor heating in the bathroom. Perhaps the best shower of all places we stayed during our trip! Complimentary wifi is always a plus. Reception staff were happy to help with recommendations as well as assisting us with booking a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KALIA23456
Dharama S, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Kalia23456 Thanks for your glowing review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our wonderful staff amazing. We sincerely hope to see you back again soon. Regards Dharama Sena

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 1 August 2015

We spent 2 nights at the hotel. The hotel is very centrally located next to the lake and several eateries. There's also a gas station nearby and a couple of shops. Check in was quick. We booked a 2-bedroom villa and were assigned villa number 827. We drove to the villa and were disappointed to see its entire outer wall...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank TheShis
Dharama S, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear The Shis, Thanks for your comments and I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay and experienced issues with the standards of the Villas. The Spa pool is for private use only, and a set key is given to the user to have the only access to use the facilities. I will relay your comments to our team...

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 July 2015 via mobile

We were disappointed with this hotel. We had booked in for two nights and when we arrived it was freezing everywhere, the room, the lobby and the hallways. Yeah it's winter but the heating needs to be looked at. A small heater in the room that we used and no electric blankets on the bed and with minimal blankets? We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZtraveller81
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear NZ Traveller Thanks for your review and I am disappointed to hear that you found the hotel cold during your stay. This is of utmost importance to us that all our guests leave recommending us and I apologise we did not get it right for you on this occasion. If you would like to discuss further please contact me...

Castle Hill, Australia
Reviewed 11 July 2015

This hotel is perfectly placed for a comfortable stay in a lovely little town.. A great view from our one bedroom unit and a great base to visit Milford or Doubtful Sound. As the roads to Milford Sound were closed, we opted for the Doubtful Sound trip and were not disappointed!! Great day and great value for money!! We chose...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 963ChrisW963
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Chris Thanks for your glowing review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and I am humbled to hear the impression Robin made during dinner an you enjoyed our cuisine. I sincerely hope we have another opportunity in welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Regards Brent Stander

Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

This is a small town so the hotel is built accordingly and fits in rooms are nice and neat. In the heart of the town walking distance to the shops and one movie theater that show the beauty of New Zealand. Good place to stay out for your cruise trip for doubtful sounds. Close to the glow worm caves too

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Preetifabs
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Preetifabs Thanks for your review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Te Anau is a great small town with lots of activities and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed some of them. Regards Brent Stander

Reviewed 7 July 2015

Distinction at Te Anau is in a perfect location, walking distance to shops, Travel information centers, restaurants and the beautiful lake. The staff are amazing, friendly and helpful. Our door wouldn't unlock and was broken, no hassel it was all fixed while we were out for the day. I traveled with 3 girlfriends and we shared a double room, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liselou789
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Liselou Thanks for your glowing review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our wonderful staff amazing. We sincerely hope to see you back again soon. Regards Brent Stander

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 July 2015

It's not always easy to find 2 bedroom options for family traveling but these stand alone villas weren't overpriced. They have high wood ceilings which give a little more sense of space. The spa and sauna area was worth a splash and the staff were helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Mark Thanks for your review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay in our villas and we hope to see you back again in the future. Regards Brent Stander

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 July 2015

Arrived at the hotel expecting a lake view room as advertised, lake view it was not but otherwise a nice room. We came back to our room from a beautiful outing to find our iPad had been badly damaged by housekeeping. When we raised this with management our response was that housekeeping do not touch private belongings and they would...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cole888
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Cole Thanks for your review and I am disappointed to hear your claim of our team damaging your ipad and that you felt our staff member was unapologetic. Due to the large amount of people for this event and our chefs carving meat off a spit, on occasions to speed up the flow of traffic our staff served the...

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (178)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.9 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
330 reviews
0.3 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#4 of 24 in Te Anau
444 reviews
0.3 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.6 km away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#7 of 24 in Te Anau
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $199 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Orbitz so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel And Villas Fiordland National Park
Distinction Hotel Te Anau
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#7 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lake view room was very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles wkiser44, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“laundry, bar, restaurant, great views”
 of 5 bubbles lotr_whit, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a lake view”
 of 5 bubbles nikbannister, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the first floor are more convenient”
 of 5 bubbles foodie1945, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lake view room to get the best view of the lake”
 of 5 bubbles 904sivas, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay