We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Te Anau Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Te Anau Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Te Anau Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 278: English reviews
wirral
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Te Anau lodge is an old convent which was moved and reassembled from it's original location. Carl made us feel very welcome and all though we had one of the least expensive rooms which was quite small it was adequate. There are no tea making facilities in the room but there are, along with cakes, biscuits and complimentary wine in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank servalan49
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi servalan49 Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I do hope the trip went well into Milford Sound despite the weather. The historic nature of the building does make the rooms smaller than a hotel room but it is more than made up for in the Library and the dinning room which you describe so...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Our stay at Te Anau lodge was excellent. Karl in particular was an amazing host, and most graciously assisted us when we broke the lock of the bikes we were borrowing from the lodge and got stuck in town (oops!). Additionally, the decor of the lodge truly embraced the history of the building as a former convent, which made for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauxk1
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi lauxk1 We always like when guests leave some story of their stay with us, it was not trouble to come and help unlock the bikes when the lock broke. Many guests have enjoyed the fact that the Lodge has kept much of the decor and character of the convent when it was converted to being a B&B, it does...

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

I'm only sorry that we did not have another night here. What a great place, very comfortable bedroom - we had the " Chapter Room" which was next to the guest lounge. Not the biggest bedroom, but had everything we needed and a very comfy bed too. It's a lovely place, quirky as it was a convent in a past...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moxxy-girl
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Moxxy-girl, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you found your stay with us. Our team at the Lodge enjoy hearing our guests talking and sharing stories over a drink in the library, which really is a great place for people to relax and talk. I'm pleased that you liked the muffins that we bake...

Canada
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Karl the manager is kind and very helpful.In a suburbs feeling place. Unfortunately our room was not good. Faced a very noisy road.Basic bed no TV sketchy WiFi. No air conditioning, tea making facilities etc. Lovely common room with wine etc and munchies. Good breakfast. Book direct . Breakfast good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deniece C
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Deniece, I'm sorry that your stay does not seem to have been as enjoyable as you and we would have liked. We try hard at Te Anau Lodge to make everyone's stay an enjoyable time. It's a shame you did not ask about some of the issues you raise as we could have answered them for you at the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 November 2016

great room overlooking lake and mountains really really good host in karl - although the jokes about the Aussie rugby team hurt me deeply ;) great breakfast in a really nice dining room really nice lounge room for night cap highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottyfromSydney
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Scott, we always enjoy having our Australian neighbors come and stay with us, and pleased that you enjoyed the short stay and jokes about NZ vs Aus in sports, note we didn't talk to much about the rugby League or cricket. Do hope you get to come back with your wife for a longer stay. Kind regards Karl

Paddington, Sydney
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Loved everything about this lodge. Great location just out of town but walking distance. We were welcomed by Karl who apologised for a glitch in the online booking system and immediately upgraded us to The Cathedral Room. Karl explains the history of the gorgeous old relocated building and books us into our Milford Sound Cruise within minutes. He is full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolynn K
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Carolynn, Thank you for the lovely review you have taken the time to leave, it was great having you stay with us for a couple of days and get to enjoy both the Lodge and the Fiordland area. Our team at Te Anau Lodge do work hard to make sure guests can enjoy themselves and it's nice to hear...

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Loved this little lodge full of hidden history! Gorgeous views, great breakfast and Karl was a fantastic host. He took the time to show us around what used to be a convent, and nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely be returning!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie_goes2
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Rosie, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to your return. Kind regards Karl Lamb

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We found ourselves in Te Anau later in the evening, not completely sure if we'd be able to make the drive to Milford Sound. In a scramble to find a place to stay, I called the owner of Te Anau Lodge (I forget his name - sorry!). My call was forwarded to his mobile, where he not only answered after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Steven, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, even though you didn't end up staying. I do hope you weren't to late in arriving into Milford Sound that night. We try hard at Te Anau Lodge to help guesst even when calls come out of hours and it was no trouble to come back and...

Bastrop, Texas
Reviewed 29 August 2016

This B&B is absolutely amazing! It was once a convent and is currently run by Karl Lamb. He is a super nice man and a wonderful cook! The accommodations are great. Super comfortable beds, loads of character throughout the entire place! The dining room was once a chapel. The library is beautiful - filled with antiques. The rooms each have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beverly S
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Beverly Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review and the beautiful picture you have taken of the Lodge. We work hard to help make the guests stay and enjoyable one and it is great to get feedback on your stay. Kind regards Karl

Reviewed 26 July 2016

This review is a bit overdue. We stayed in the Te Anau Lodge in November last year. We loved the old house. It has such an interesting history and its a credit to the people who decided to relocate it from its original location. The lodge has been beautifully restored and furnished. Definitely recommend Te Anau Lodge. Enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex B
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Alex, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the stay with us and you do a wonderful job of describing the lovely old building that is Te Anau Lodge. Kind regards Karl Lamb

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
2.2 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.2 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
1.5 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
344 reviews
1.4 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#4 of 24 in Te Anau
473 reviews
0.4 km away
Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the genuine warmth of traditional hospitality in the relaxed and tranquil environment of our 1936 relocated former convent, in one of New Zealand's most scenic locations- stunning Fiordland.We proudly promote our 9 rooms as being a mix of historic charm, combined with modern convenience, luxury and comfort. Based on 7 acres, yet only 15 minutes walking time to Te Anau town centre you`ll enjoy our secluded location, and appreciate all activities in town with ease. Take time to enjoy the little additions we`ve provided to make your stay memorable. Enjoy a game of giant garden chess, listen to the water fountain in our pond while reading a book on our 2 person swing seat, soak up the sunshine in our private gazebo, curl up next to the fireplace in the Lounge Library, and enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony overlooking the estate.Above all else you`ll find the level of interaction with your host, and the friendly staff, one of the most memorable aspects of staying in a Lodge this size.A unique accommodation experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Te Anau Lodge

Address: 52 Howden Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $222 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Anau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Te Anau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Hotel Te Anau
Te Anau Lodge Fiordland National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Te Anau Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Te Anau Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the Belfry room upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles neighboursKent, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Vestry”
 of 5 bubbles Jinny57, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not value for dollar”
 of 5 bubbles 831deniecec, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Each room is unique and very special! We stayed in The Vestry because we needed the extra space. Every room is absolutely gorgeous!!”
  • Mother Superior's Room
 of 5 bubbles beverlys664, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you cannot manage climbing stairs, ask for a room on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles treemom, 7 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5