We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Explorer Motel & Apartments

Show Prices
#14 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Explorer Motel & Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 162: English reviews
Start your review of Explorer Motel & Apartments
 Click to rate
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the explorer motel for three nights in March 2017. We were given a really warm and informative welcome by the lady who runs reception. The room/studio was spacious, very clean, and the furnishings were of a very good standard. There were little touches that impressed us such as providing fresh milk for tea/coffee, and complimentary laundry powder....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had two stays here, separated by the Kepler Track. They were super helpful and offered to let me leave my car and luggage and put my bags in my new room for my return. The staff was all very nice, including letting me checkin really early when I returned and was stinky, wet and cold. The rooms are huge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aknoble
Management response:

Thanks for your great review of our property and we are glad that you enjoyed your stays with us before and after walking the Kepler Track. It is great to get your feedback and we are glad that you were comfortable here. Enjoy the rest of your stay in New Zealand. Many thanks again Mary Climo

york
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a two night stay which was very comfortable and was a great place to stay when visiting Milford Sound. Arrived without baggage (thank you virgin Australia). Staff were very helpful with assisting with delivery of bags whilst we went out for evening meal. Motel is easy walk to shops and town centre, so no need to drive. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlynnWells
Management response:

Hi Glynn Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad that your luggage turned up for you without too much extra delay! Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope the rest of your holiday is enjoyable too. Kind regards Mary Climo

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

All you need in this motel category Enonomy Cabin to make your own food. The only thing I can complain was the soft mattress. If you moved the whole bed was moving. Free fast WiFi, but limited to 1GB surf.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Centh
Management response:

Hi Centh Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in fact in the midst of updating beds at present with another delivery due at the end of this month. Glad to hear that the wifi worked well for you but sorry you ran out as we would have been...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

There had unfortunately been poor weather the day before we arrived, and as such, some of our activities had to be cancelled or rescheduled. The staff at the motel, though we hadn't booked through the motel, voluntarily handled all of it, calling and rearranging times. Our room was large and spotless, and the location was within easy walking distance of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Twaize
Management response:

Thanks so much for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The weather has certainly improved during the last week and I'm pleased that we were able to assist you with re-arranging your tours. Enjoy the remainder of your holiday in New Zealand and we hope to see you again! Kind regards Mary Climo

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 February 2017

After an eventful & splendid trip to milford sound we decided to stay the night in te anau & we picked here how wrong were we, it was outdated Old & not very comfortable at all & management were rude & less than accommodating I wouldn't stay here again & neither should you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesSS01
Management response:

Hi Pete and Kerri, I am sorry that you found our motel uncomfortable, and we do realise that our units are not completely modern. However, we normally have great comments on the spaciousness and cleanliness of our units and the outdoor garden area. Having only been here a couple of months, we are beginning a refurbishment program. I apologise if...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 February 2017

We stayed here for three nights after doing an overnight cruise on Doubtful Sound and in anticipation of visiting Milford Sound. The hotel is in a great location, very close to the center of town, near restaurants, stores, etc. The staff was very helpful, especially when trying to book online and having a little glitch. Mary quickly responded to emails...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathryn l
Management response:

Hi Kathryn Thanks so much for your review and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you are enjoying the rest of your time in our country and that you enjoyed all your Fiordland experiences! Kind regards Mary Climo

Melbourne
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Relaxing place to stay. The room we had was spacious and welcoming, and the kitchen was also well equipped. We found the reception staff to be very friendly and helpful. They arranged tours for us and this was done efficiently even though we had a few changes to make. The location in Te Anau is handy too - a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank airbus777
Management response:

Thanks so much for the great review of Explorer Motel & Apartments. I am glad that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly, but would be disappointed if we weren't! We are lucky to be located nice and handy to town which is a bonus to travellers who like to go out for dinner etc. We hope that...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

We booked here for two nights when doing Milford Sound. Lovely, big, comfortable room with nice modern bathroom. The electric blankets on the beds were very welcome on a damp cold few days and the caddy of milk on arrival facilitated a quick and welcome cup of tea. Only thing might be worth doing is including instructions for the frying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emohhhhhh
Management response:

Thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us despite the horrific summer weather we have been getting! it really should not be necessary to use electric blankets at this time of the year! We will look at putting some instructions up for the hotplate and appreciate your feedback regarding that. Enjoy the rest of...

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We had two rooms and both were so clean and extremely comfortable. Really close to the town but in a great quiet spot. We had been emailed info re trips before leaving the UK by a wonderful lady Monique, she was so helpful and her advice was 1st class. We had an great three days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacqui S
Management response:

Thanks so much Jacqui for the review and we are thrilled to hear that Monique has looked after you well. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and trust you enjoy the rest of your time in NZ! Best regards Mary Climo

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.9 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
478 reviews
0.4 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.3 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
352 reviews
0.5 km away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 24 in Te Anau
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Explorer Motel & Apartments offer warm spacious apartments with spectacular mountain & park views,free wifi and friendly service. All apartments are self contained with the choice of studios or one and two bedroom apartments. We can accommodate singles, couples, families, corporate travellers or small groups. We have a movie/games room & communal kitchen with an extensive range of equipment (i.e. rice cookers, woks & hotplates), as well as a laundry with washers and dryers for guests use. Explorer Motel & Apartments is set in a park like gardens with guest BBQ area, it is a great place for relaxing in the evenings, after a long day visiting Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound or Fiordland National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Explorer Motel & Apartments

Address: Corner of Mokoroa and Cleddau Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $92 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorer Motel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Explorer Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorer Hotel Te Anau
Comfort Inn Te Anau
Explorer Motel & Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#12 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Explorer Motel & Apartments staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Louisville, Kentucky
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Explorer Motel & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book your day trips with the help of the team at Explorer”
 of 5 bubbles 849jacquis, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles Daccord, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The upstairs room offer a private balcony”
 of 5 bubbles 201xaviern, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is excellent”
 of 5 bubbles Jerraquaffers, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we liked being on the end room”
 of 5 bubbles alderyacht, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5