We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Te Anau Holiday Houses

GreenLeadersGold level
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Te Anau Holiday Houses
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 35: English reviews
Start your review of Te Anau Holiday Houses
 Click to rate
Coolum Beach, Australia
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Important. This review is based on house 62 parklane only on time of rental early 2017. Pros Walking distance to the cbd of Te Anau Spacious Air conditioning in the top living and kitchen area. 2 oil heaters down stairs where bedrooms are. BBQ 2 bikes, pool table and darts board 2 bathrooms Clothes washing machine and dryer Car parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh M
Reviewed 13 February 2017

This is a very expensive place. Very old house, nothing special. 270 NZD for one night - and there is no internet. Beds are ok but no heating in the rooms, just in the living room. I will not come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natacha D
teanauholidayhouses, Manager at Te Anau Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Hi there Natacha, sorry you felt you got a raw deal - it was a shame you only stayed one night - we do have to add a one night fee - we like to do a two night minimum so guests can really enjoy the Fiordland area. So because of only staying one night yes the fee is quite...

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 January 2017

The friendly owners enabled us to book the house purely online. The access instructions were easy to follow.This house has an awesome view of the surrounding hills and so conveniently located. Suites a family real well. Well kept and clean. The Kitchen is well stocked and yes it a real environmentally friendly house. The gardens are well kept and provided...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lkivutibitok
Scotland
Reviewed 22 May 2016

We booked a holiday home which was just right for our young family. Clean, well equipped, spacious and a stones throw from town by foot. Our hosts made sure we had everything we needed and were a great example of southern hospitality. Definitely use again when visiting te anau.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EttaP
Ireland
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed at beach hut, Gorgeous place to stay, perfect for 2 people, beautifully decorated, amazing detail inside and outside of cabin. Toilets, kitchen all brand new, had an amazing time just wish we could have stayed longer!!! Plenty of kitchen equipment and bed very comfy great place, lovely spot to relax as very quiet and picturesque

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cavemanwal
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Fantastic stay in the beautiful Te Anau. House was perfect for our needs and v clean. Our booking was made so easy with Stef who gave us loads of tips for our trip down south. They definitely know the area and made our stay so much easier. Thanks for all the help and great stay. Will book again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louceaston
stefteanau, Manager at Te Anau Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your response Louise - so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Lakeside House. We look forward to welcoming you back to Te Anau one day soon. Kind Regards Stef

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 10 March 2016 via mobile

We booked two nights at the Te Anau Lakeside Holiday House but we left after the first night for the following reasons: 1. The house was quite a bit older than in the photos online and poorly maintained, so I felt a little deceived. This is made worse by the reminder that the cost of the house is just a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sarah_Chong88
stefteanau, Manager at Te Anau Holiday Houses, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear of your experience with this house - the taps are about to be replaced - yes it is an older house but this shows in all the photos. $170 for 2 people for the lakefront is quite a fair price - most other places are $200 and up. It is a holiday house not...

Queensland
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

This house is dreadful - the beds were not made up, and there were no pillow cases. Very tired house with dangerous uneven floors; the toilet was missing top of cistern. Absolutely NOT worth the money, and we were charged more than quoted. Compared to other NZ accommodation, this was unspeakably bad.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AnnieJeanQueensland
stefteanau, Manager at Te Anau Holiday Houses, responded to this review

The guests did not request linen so that is why the beds were not made up on arrival - if guests request linen then all beds are made up for the number of people staying along with pillowcases and towels Yes the toilet cistern was missing - this was getting fixed - a note was left for the guests to...

Auckland
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Don't waste your money. We definitely won't be back. There's a big difference between a characterful old bach and a poorly maintained old house and this sits squarely in the latter. Yes it's a nice spot right next to the lake but this nowhere near makes up for the house. The place was dirty throughout, including all the cutlery and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NZDE
teanauholidayhouses, Manager at Te Anau Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment - was a bit surprised to read this review - I sincerely apologise to you. This is not how you would normally find a house. We manage 8 houses in the Te Anau area and yes we are managers of these properties and pride ourselves in giving our guests a real 'home away from home' experience...

Tolga, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 11 June 2015

The Sunshine House was a good base for our visit to Milford Sound, the Glow Worm caves etc. A quiet location just a short walk from the centre of Te Anau. Booking with Steff at Te Anau Holiday Houses was easy. Just wish we had paid by bank deposit to avoid the 4% credit card charge fee. Comfortable family home...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
teanauholidayhouses, Manager at Te Anau Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us - it is much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay and yes bank deposit or cash is a good way to avoid the credit card fee. The credit card fee is clearly stated when you book online. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fiordland in the not to distant future....

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
6.1 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
5.7 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
483 reviews
3.0 km away
Blue Thistle Cottages
Blue Thistle Cottages
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
362 reviews
5.9 km away
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
5.9 km away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer a variety of clean and comfortable holiday houses in Te Anau. We have luxurious holiday houses for those wanting to have all the comforts like a motel but larger and for those wanting to experience a real 'kiwi bach' we have a wide variety! All houses offer stunning mountain views and some with lake views. Houses have an array of extras like bicycles, petanque sets, spa pool, pool tables and barbeques. Portacots and highchairs are available on request at no extra charge. Perfect for couples / groups / families - small and large. All houses are clean with fresh linen and provide the ideal base to relax and enjoy the many activities Fiordland has to offer in a 'home away from home' environment. 2 Or 3 night stay minimum / discounts available for longer stays / special deals for school holidays - please enquire. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Te Anau Holiday Houses

Address: 128 Sinclair Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9679, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $121 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Te Anau Holiday Houses Fiordland National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Te Anau Holiday Houses staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sunshine House would be great for families.”
jeanette174, 18 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Its not a hotel its a whole house sooo......”
RuggedBear77, 12 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Just remember to stop at the grocery store & pickup some food to cook...no restaurants nearby!”
brianhB6566ZZ, 2 Jul 2014 | Read review
3 of 3