We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

545 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
See the most recent reviews
Showing 487: English reviews
Mission BC
Reviewed 1 February 2015

This hotel is by far the worst we have ever stayed at. We were made to feel like 2nd class citizens as the hotel was full of Chinese tourists and our group was put in the annex. These rooms were very mildewy smelling & very fusty. Obviously not used very much. Everything felt damp. No lights worked (no bulbs available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller092
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. It would seem you booked a standard room which are our run of house rooms and i do agree they are in a need of an update. This is however reflected in the price we charge for the room. We have other rooms options (Superior rooms, Deluxe...

Bridgetown, Saint Michael, Barbados
Reviewed 27 January 2015

The front desk service at this hotel is very welcoming. The hotel is convientlly located in the centre of shopping, currency exchange, supermarket and other amenities. The rooms were clean and spacious. The service in the restaurant is excellent and there is a variety of food for breakfast and dinner to suit all tastes. The only down side is wi...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Muriel N
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am delighted to read you found your room to be clean and spacious and our staff made a lasting impression . We are in the process of extending our WIFI services across the hotel which should be completed in the near future. Once again, thank you for...

Paris, Île-de-France, France
Reviewed 2 January 2015

It is ok hotel. nothing bad nothing extraordinary. The wifi is kind of painful. To use it, you should go to lobby.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JPfromParis2014
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Seasons Greetings!! Thank you for your review about your stay with us. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Waikanae, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 December 2014

Rooms are modern and clean and tidy......no wi fi in the rooms so you have to sit in reception along with hundreds of others to use the internet. Spacious rooms with all amenities provided. Very quiet

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank myscreenname822
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad you found your room spacious and modern. We are in the process of installing WIFI across the hotel which should be completed in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 December 2014 via mobile

The rooms are a little outdated, but otherwise there is really nothing wrong with this hotel. Free wifi at the lobby, no wifi at all in the rooms. Rooms are a good size, we received an upgrade after arrival. Located right at the center of Te Anau.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcel K
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. We are in the process of upgrading our WIFI offereing around the hotel which should be completed in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Lancashire
Reviewed 15 December 2014

We goofed here a bit. Hotel fine, good location, upgraded room fine. Coach trip to Milford Sound OK, if lengthy. Boat trip ruined by pushing, shoving Japanese tourists with cameras on selfish sticks etc...really poor manners...gave up...suggest, don't stay in Te Anau but Queenstown & fly over Cook & Milford? But then, found an ace Italian resto...which redeemed Te Anau...a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SirBillTaylor
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. I am glad you found our central location conductive to your needs and your room comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

corlette
Reviewed 14 December 2014

Stayed one night to the gateway to Milford Sound was nice and clean.Excellent buffet for tea and just as good for breakfast.Ideal position walk to chemist bank tourist shops supermarket.Nice walk along the foreshore.Staff were happy and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mandyCorlette
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay and experienced our warm southern hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Narooma, Australia
Reviewed 2 December 2014

After a long travelling to Milford Sound and back, you don't need much from a hotel. Unfortunately, the room was pretty run down, particularly the plumbing. Just about anyone taking a shower would wake you up with the pipes rumbling. Top that off with an unsolicited 6am wake up call. But the shower was good and the sheets were nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rory K
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. My sincere apologies about your wake up call in the early hours of the morning. We have taken your comments on board and will have a look into it. Glad you enjoyed your breakfast in Bailiez Cafe and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards,...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 November 2014

Fantastic and comfortable room. Receptionists on front desk wonderfully helpful - helping out with suggestions of local restaurants/bars that might suit us plus really helped when i couldnt log into the wifi system at the reception area. Very clean, presentable, pretty noise proof rooms. Buffet breakfast was very plentiful and waitresses lovely. Bathroom had a great shower.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jill B
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your glowing review. I am glad you found your room comfortable and experienced our warm southern hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Brisbane
Reviewed 5 November 2014

This room was clean and perfectly comfortable however the walls were very thin meaning we could hear the noises from the guests in the room next to us. The plumbing was also very noisy meaning when the room above us had a shower we could hear the plumbing pipes in our room. It's what I consider a standard motel room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bindi1974
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad you found your room comfortable and clean and found our central location conductive to your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
1.2 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
478 reviews
0.4 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.8 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#19 of 24 in Te Anau
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to easily explore Milford Sound and the Fiordland World Heritage National Park. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms offering Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites, some with spa bath as well as wheelchair accessible rooms. Free unlimited WiFi, parking and gym. Guest Laundry facilities. Elevators on every floor. Two on site Restaurants and Bars and Conference facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Address: 41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $125 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Luxmore Te Anau
Hotel Distinction Luxmore
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau Fiordland National Park
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Third floor facing away from the main street have views of the distant mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles thereichinger, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not book 102-112 due to loud music from neighbouring bar”
 of 5 bubbles nzrev, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the family room were very spacious”
 of 5 bubbles Budgie0769, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a side room and 3rd floor could see out car parked from window very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles S6975VJelizabeths, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms are a long way from Reception but lift helps.There have been renovations in recent times - we keep coming back!”
 of 5 bubbles mcitours2015, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5