We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

530 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
See the most recent reviews
Showing 473: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 26 February 2015

A good utility hotel located in a fabulous place; the location (right in the center of town) is its biggest USP. A supermarket, restaurants, shopping places, iSite and Real Journeys Glowworm caves departure point are all located within 100 metres of the hotel. We were put up in a Superior room which looked into town, and the receptionist was prompt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RohanYR
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. We are very lucky indeed to be located right in the heart of town and next to the lakefront. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

newport pagnell
Reviewed 19 February 2015

We stayed here for 1 night on tour and it is very well situated for the lake and shops. There is lots to see here if you like retail! Hotel was clean comfortable and quiet well organised with the cases. Food was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davena c
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable experience and found your room comfortable and food excellent. Trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 14 February 2015

This hotel was one of the best we stayed in on our trip. The management were very welcoming and so organised with our luggage. This is a big thing when you are traveling and each night is a different hotel. Restaurant was very well set up, good food and lots of choice in the buffet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay and all your expectations were met. Trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Witney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2015

The Distinction Luxmore at Te Anau is in an excellent position very close to the shore of Lake Te Anau. Also close by is the visitor centre (I-site) and a number of restaurants. The room was a good size but a bit dated. The really annoying feature was that the Wi-fi is only available in reception, which is not good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RodJill250
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. We are very lucky indeed with our central location, glad you found this conductive to your needs. My apologies about the inconvenience with the WIFI, but we are in process of upgrading this service so its available across the hotel. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Reviewed 9 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed here as it us a great base for a day trip to Millford sounds. Also loads of great eateries close by. Staff were really helpful but the rooms were tired and dated and we had hoped for more. Easy to confuse it with another hotel with the same name on the lakefront.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad you experienced our warm southern hospitality and found our central location conductive to your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Warwick
Reviewed 7 February 2015

Stayed only for one night on an AAT Kings tour. To my mind it was the best on the tour . Despite its slightly old fashioned foyer the staff were very good. Food was truly excellent both dinner and breakfast. Rooms were spacious,airy with picture windows. We both really enjoyed it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay and experienced our warm southern hospitality. Trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in NZ and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Mission BC
Reviewed 1 February 2015

This hotel is by far the worst we have ever stayed at. We were made to feel like 2nd class citizens as the hotel was full of Chinese tourists and our group was put in the annex. These rooms were very mildewy smelling & very fusty. Obviously not used very much. Everything felt damp. No lights worked (no bulbs available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller092
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. It would seem you booked a standard room which are our run of house rooms and i do agree they are in a need of an update. This is however reflected in the price we charge for the room. We have other rooms options (Superior rooms, Deluxe...

Bridgetown, Saint Michael, Barbados
Reviewed 27 January 2015

The front desk service at this hotel is very welcoming. The hotel is convientlly located in the centre of shopping, currency exchange, supermarket and other amenities. The rooms were clean and spacious. The service in the restaurant is excellent and there is a variety of food for breakfast and dinner to suit all tastes. The only down side is wi...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Muriel N
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am delighted to read you found your room to be clean and spacious and our staff made a lasting impression . We are in the process of extending our WIFI services across the hotel which should be completed in the near future. Once again, thank you for...

Paris, Île-de-France, France
Reviewed 2 January 2015

It is ok hotel. nothing bad nothing extraordinary. The wifi is kind of painful. To use it, you should go to lobby.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JPfromParis2014
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Seasons Greetings!! Thank you for your review about your stay with us. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Waikanae, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 December 2014

Rooms are modern and clean and tidy......no wi fi in the rooms so you have to sit in reception along with hundreds of others to use the internet. Spacious rooms with all amenities provided. Very quiet

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank myscreenname822
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad you found your room spacious and modern. We are in the process of installing WIFI across the hotel which should be completed in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
1.2 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#4 of 24 in Te Anau
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
345 reviews
0.4 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.8 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#19 of 24 in Te Anau
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to easily explore Milford Sound and the Fiordland World Heritage National Park. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms offering Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites, some with spa bath as well as wheelchair accessible rooms. Free unlimited WiFi, parking and gym. Guest Laundry facilities. Elevators on every floor. Two on site Restaurants and Bars and Conference facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Address: 41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $142 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Luxmore Te Anau
Hotel Distinction Luxmore
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau Fiordland National Park
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not book 102-112 due to loud music from neighbouring bar”
 of 5 bubbles nzrev, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the family room were very spacious”
 of 5 bubbles Budgie0769, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a side room and 3rd floor could see out car parked from window very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles S6975VJelizabeths, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms are a long way from Reception but lift helps.There have been renovations in recent times - we keep coming back!”
 of 5 bubbles mcitours2015, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't wait for room quietly...complain!”
 of 5 bubbles deborahbC3444RB, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5