We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Expedia.comUSD 95*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

552 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 494: English reviews
Start your review of Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
 Click to rate
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I so wanted to give this hotel an excellent rating but poor communication has let it down. We arrived mid afternoon and was met with a nice smiley receptionists, our room was ready and we were assisted with our Luggage our room. The room has a great view of the lake, and was clean tidy and modern no complaints (except...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJTM45
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I don't really know where to start! Graham & I had just completed The Dusky Track ... had managed to complete the day early and had therefore arrived at Te Anau with no booked accommodation. I had remembered the place as we had been there for breakfast 10 days before and the staff had been accommodating and friendly. And the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank astrid s
Paphos, Cyprus
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Large, modern hotel, situated near the water. We had a room on the first floor, facing the main road. External noise was not a problem. The room was large, clean with a friend and tea and coffee making facilities. The furnishings are a little outdated. Lovely large bath to wallow in! Only issue was the large window in the roof...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolmac44
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and found our central location conducive to your needs. Trust you had a great time in beautiful Fiordland and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This lovely comfortable hotel is in the centre of town. You can walk straight to the lake front. The place is well organised and rooms are very well looked after. The chef is excellent and very generous ; he offers you lamb, beef and pork all very well cooked and he cuts for you an much as you want You...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GizaN7
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am delighted to read you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your meal in Hilights Restaurant. Trust you had a great time in beautiful Fiordland and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

New Zealand
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a larger family group. Hotel is perfectly located right in town. Easy walk to restaurants and the lake. The children in our group - aged 8 to 12 - loved the playground across the road. Rooms, although not fancy, are tidy, roomy and extremely clean. Breakfast staff are particularly lovely. The restaurant get extremely busy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BGermaine
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and experienced our warm southern hospitality. Trust you had a great time in beautiful Fiordland and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Somerville, Australia
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Very nice, clean and reasonably priced accommodation. Attentive and informative staff Great location, close to shops and restaurants. Would recommend. Stayed one night on the way to Milford Sound. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad to read you had an enjoyable stay and found our central location conducive to your needs and experienced our warm southern hospitality. Trust you had a great time in beautiful Fiordland and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction...

Peterborough, Australia
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Rooms very clean and tidy with a view from our level 2 room. As usual no air conditioning in the room. The best meals (in buffet restaurant) we had on our tour were here, they were fab! Staff were very helpful with what ever one wanted to know. One problem is the bathroom had a shower over the bath, NO...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4x4wheelers
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad to read you found your room comfortable and all staff made a lasting impression. Trust you had a great time in beautiful Fiordland and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Excellent location in the heart of 'downtown' Ten Anau within walking distance of all of the local eateries, bars and lake-front, although with some associated noise on my Saturday night stay. The rooms are fantastically dated, but impeccably clean, spacious and comfortable. Aside from a little bit of noise on Saturday night I slept soundly. Creature comforts are sparse but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thereichinger
ohio
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed two nights. First night was a Saturday night and our room overlooked a restaurant next-door and we got a considerable noise from the restaurant until very late. The second night was a Sunday and it was much quieter. No air conditioning in the room and we didn't like leaving the windows open due to sandflies, which we had plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. My sincere apologies about the inconvenience caused on your first night due to the restaurant next door. We are in discussions with the people in-charge to ensure this does not affect our guests in the future. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Reviewed 22 March 2017

To be fair there is nothing wrong about this hotel but very little of it felt right to me. The location is superb in that there are lots of places to eat nearby and the lake is 30 seconds away. Supermarket just across the road as well. The room itself is very dated and the beds and pillows have definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark S

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
1.2 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
489 reviews
0.4 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.4 km away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to easily explore Milford Sound and the Fiordland World Heritage National Park. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms offering Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites, some with spa bath as well as wheelchair accessible rooms. Free unlimited WiFi, parking and gym. Guest Laundry facilities. Elevators on every floor. Two on site Restaurants and Bars and Conference facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Address: 41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $104 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Luxmore Te Anau
Hotel Distinction Luxmore
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau Fiordland National Park
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for luxury,,,get a spa room. Its worth it”
astrids296, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“I elderly get a room with a shower, not a shower over bath.”
  • Shower over bath NO GOOD !!
  • Very clean and modern
4x4wheelers, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Third floor facing away from the main street have views of the distant mountains.”
thereichinger, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not book 102-112 due to loud music from neighbouring bar”
nzrev, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the family room were very spacious”
Budgie0769, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 95* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUSD 203
TravelocityUSD 98
Orbitz.comUSD 98
View all 15 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates