Alpine Village
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Alpine Village

Lounge / Dining area
Traveller (37)
Lounge & kitchen
Dining (5)
Room & Suite (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#21 of 33 apartments in Queenstown
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Modern, clean apartments on the shores of Lake Wakatipu; all have fantastic mountain and lake views.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Vending machine
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Parking
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
77Reviews1Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 22
  • 24
  • 17
  • 8
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Michael G wrote a review Mar 2018
Augsburg, Germany
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Pro: Lakeview, on-site parking (most reserved for dedicated apartments), lakeside footpath to town, easy self-check-in

Drawbacks: worn-out carpet, limited parking slots in total, noise from adjacent apartment, wi-fi often not available and limited to 500 MB per apartment
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check that a dedicated parking slot for the apartment is granted
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ERavat wrote a review Jan 2018
Walsall, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The first thing to know about this place is that the view from the apartments of Lake Wakatipu are absolutely incredible! The apartment itself was very spacious with a generous kitchen (which was fully stocked) and bathroom. They also provide laundry facilities inside your apartment, which is handy if you are planning and kind of hiking, water sports, physical activity etc. The place was very clean and comfortable all round. It is a little out of the main city centre, but as the prices are so high there it's worth the drive. There is also a shopping centre 5-10 mins drive off Frankton Road, so you can get all of your supplies pretty easily. There is a regular bus into town for just $5 (NZD) There is not much in the way of walking attractions, but you can take a short walk out your front door and be at the Lake in seconds.
The majority of our stay was very enjoyable, however the one downside was the inability to reach any members of staff or the owner. You have to collect your keys from an outdoor lockbox, which is fine, but we had some issues with our sink on the first night and were unable to contact anyone to resolve this and had to sort it ourselves. Sometimes the parking was a little tight but the space was always reserved in front of the apartment.
Can i recommend that someone is present to give a walk through of the apartment and check for any difficulties and then hand over the keys rather than the lockbox, as this would ease any concerns and prevent future issues. And further the Wifi allowance was just not enough, there was me and my wife who were staying for 3 nights and we ran out of internet of the first, can I suggest that you increase the 500mb limit proportional to the duration of stay and number of guests.
Overall a nice cosy, spacious apartment with great views and good location.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
goodtimes1950 wrote a review Aug 2018
Sydney, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked for 9 nights. Arrived Saturday afternoon and was delighted with the location, view, spaciousness and peacefulness.

Inspite of the above there were a few problems that should not have existed.

1. There was no hot water and after travelling from Adelaide a hot shower or spa would have been appreciated
2. The second bedroom (no view or balcony) and facing the rest of the complex and therefore noisier was configured as 2 twins with heavy blankets.
Emails and phone calls were sent to managing agents who did not respond promptly
They arrived around midday the next day with no apology but a pleasant manner as they fixed these problems.
(I had to wonder how cleaners could thoroughly clean without hot water)
3. My anticipation of a hot shower in the second bathroom was short lived as the tap fell off and was therefore unusable. Very annoying
4. We cooked at home as the kitchen was well equipped with Smeg and de Longhi appliances. However, the 2 frypans were rusty and needed replacing. They were promptly replaced with expensive brabantina pans. Nice touch.
5. Some of the cutlery was not clean.
6. There was insufficient dishwasher powder for a long stay.

However, I would recommend this book a bach.

The view of the Remarkables, sunrises/sunsets was lovely. Very private courtyard space with birdsong.
Very comfortable beds with quality linen and towels. Spa bath was nice.
Well equipped kitchen and comfortable dining and living area.
Gas fire place was heartwarming in early morning.
An enormous TV could block out the sun but provided good viewing of the Bledisloe cup.

It is a fast 60 minute picturesque walk along the Frankton track into Queenstown.
Parking is impossible in town so walking in and out each day for a Ferg pie was good exercise.

A garage with internal access and laundry facilities was much appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ecuatoriana wrote a review Dec 2005
Sydney, Australia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The Breakfree Alpine Village resort in Queenstown is a total disappointment. Our family stayed in apartments here for a week over xmas/new year. It is very new (some sections still being built). The design is very modern, wonderful views, but lots of little things make this experience awful. The sleek modern apartments have beds that are very cheap, hard and back-destroying (seriously, these make futons seem like soft cushioned mattresses), there are no shower screens so the whole bathroom ends up totally wet, cheap appliances like air conditioners which tend to give up, or terrible reception on the TV, or cheap chinese toasters which will probably start a fire one day. Best of all is the surley staff. You will either have a backpacker who can't answer any questions, or the manager who is unhelful, unsmiling and unwelcoming (don't ask - nothing is possible). Also - be aware that unlike most serviced apartments in Queenstown and Australia - these have a communal laundry in the old fibro shack, which costs $2 a wash. A weekly service involves the towels being changed but nothing cleaned. We checked out, and for the same rate have got a much better and centrally located serviced apartment... with friendly and helpful NZ staff.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
winters wrote a review Dec 2005
Brisbane, Queensland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband & I stayed here for 1 week and although we got off to a bad start, we were quite satisfied. It was undergoing major refurbishment and building and the reception area was a mess. When we were shown to our apartment we discovered that the TV didn't work and were offered to have it fixed the next day or move to another apartment. We chose to move. We went up another floor which provided us with better views of the lake and mountains, but were disappointed the bedroom was at the back with no view and plenty of road noise. The photos on the website show the bedroom with a balcony and wonderful views. As it was new it was clean, modern and warm. Incorrect information from reception regarding how close the city centre was saw us walk for nearly 1.5 hours at night. Once we worked out that the bus drove straight past the complex we travelled that way with no problems. We probably would stay there again if there were any specials on offer but would like underfloor heating and an open fireplace for a touch of luxury that you like on holidays.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2005
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren B wrote a review Aug 2016
Brisbane, Australia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me start out by saying that the apartment itself is very nice. An average view compared to some of the other places we stayed in NZ and some of the other places closer to town but still amazing, however not unobstructed...
The kitchen facilities were more than enough for what we required. The bathroom is very large and we finally worked out on our last night that the switch above the light switch was for the bathroom floor heating which is a nice touch. These reasons are why I have given 2 stars instead of 1.

The truly bad as part of our stay was when noticed that the couches were deteriorating the arms had cracked and occasionally when we sat down the chair would crack as though it was going to break. The bed was the worst part, unfortunately we had booked to stay for 6 nights, which turned out to mean 6 nights of awful sleep tossing and turning waking up with sore necks and shoulders. We did a 12 hour Milford sound trip which included 10 hours of sitting on a bus, this was where we slept the best for our entire stay in Queenstown. My husband decided to try and sleep on the lounge but that was no better. The small wall mounted air conditioner was adequate to heat the living room but not the bedroom which was freezing of a night time but there was an electric blanket and plenty of warm blankets on the bed so as long as you wanted to stay in bed rather than brace the cold you were fine but the bed was so uncomfortable who would want to stay in it? Also we are told that you must remove all of your rubbish upon departure which is all well and good but we only get given a small shopping bag for rubbish also only 2 toilet rolls for a week.

We did consider phoning the contact number about being moved to a different room however after seeing the managers responses on trip advisor decided this complaints would not have been well received.

Something we did think would be a good idea would be a store room for all guests to place unused items such as tomato sauce and unopened pasta to be used by new guests arriving to avoid food wastage.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Explore12742 wrote a review Mar 2006
Queensland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed there last week and aside from a few minor gripes we had a pleasant experience. The units are a way out of town and would be a long walk if you don't have your own transport, but this is advertised. The buildings are 3 level buildings arranged up the hill between the waters edge and the road. Four rows all up. The bottom floor is a garage that has direct access to the middle floor. The top floor accesses the driveways between the buildings and has no defined car accomodation, though there seemed to be ample room for about one car per unit to park just outside. The units are numbered with a whole number for the bottom unit (with garage) and a number followed by an "A" for the top unit (ie 5 and 5A). Apart from the front row of units the only view the bottom unit has is of the building in front. The top units can look over the top of the unit in front. The units number from the top of the hill down to the water, so if you are in unit 2 for example you are on the bottom furtherest from the lake. We were first placed in a bottom unit which I didn't really like, so my lovely wife used her manners and politely asked if we could have a unit with a view. We were pleased when the girl from reception said it was possible. It made for a more enjoyable time to have a view. The staff were friendly and helpful in our experience. The units were modern and clean. They are not serviced daily. Don't expect new towels and your bed made every day. The beds are very hard!! The first night we spent there my wife was in fits of laughter over just how hard they were. I've been to motels where they leave the plastic on the mattress but they were never that hard. They would have to go to a special shop to get those. Necessity is the mother of invention, so the next night we remade the bed with the extra blanket underneath. You could probably get extra blankets from reception to beef it up a bit more. I haven't suffered any ill effects. The TV did have crappy reception, but I don't go on holidays to watch TV. The kitchen has an oven, microwave, 2 burner gas stove, small fridge and a breakfast bar. The loungeroom adjoins the balcony. Large modern bathroom with heated towel rails, fan heater and hair dryer. No shower screens, but didn't have that much of a problem with water. The windows in the bedroom only have wooden blinds and the front door is glass, which means lots of light from the ample outside lighting comes in. If you like it pitch black when you sleep you'd better take blinkers. There is still construction happening on the site off to the left of view. This didn't pose any problems, with work happening only during the regular hours. In conclusion, I think that I would stay there again if it came at the right price. We had a voucher which made it worth while. There is no way that I'd pay top dollar to stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2006
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ros-Ann13 wrote a review Feb 2017
South Australia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Have tried to phone, have tried to email twice from their website contact page and have had not response. I'd advise boook someplace else where the managers are polite enough to return phone calls and answer emails promptly.
How do you contact them if you arrive and the instructions for the key check in (no office) do not work - are you left stranded? They do not provide a mobile contact number.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick M wrote a review Mar 2010
Haversham, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Pete Townsend does the minimum. there is no meet and greet. They are greedy. We had 3 coat hangers 2 mugs to 3 people. No proper instructions about the TV, Internet.
The place is fine but we still could not waste bins. The parking is grim and the ggarage was not available. We were disappointed annd he helped himself to the balance using a credit card that I did not want to use BEFORE we checked in. There is no phone "because people use their mobiles". We had a phonecard which we could not use. Tourist help is zero.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2010
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Deucenz, Manager at Alpine Village
Responded 9 Apr 2010
When you make a booking at Alpine Village you are sent and email that clearly shows you the check in procedure and that the receipts for the payment will be in your envelope. This payment is charged to your card that you supplied when making the booking. The rates at Alpine Village are kept very competitive because we don't have to run an office on site 7 days a week. The compendium has all instructions on how to work the TV and the dumping of rubbish. All apartments have 6 coffee/ tea cups in it, in this case someone had left two of their personal coffee cups, the next morning 4 more large coffee cups were supplied. Apologies were made about the coat hangers as they are often taken by other guests, 10 new ones were supplied. Nowhere in any advertising does it say that Alpine Village have dishwashers and telephones, the owners of the apartments elected not to install phones another reason the rates are very competitive. There is statement about using cellphones and we no there is good coverage there as we recieved 4 phone calls that night about the above. Thank you. Any thing but greedy!!! Alpine Village
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mulays wrote a review Aug 2006
Singapore, Singapore
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort was still partly under construction when we stayed here and we got a very good deal for the place ( NZ $ 150/ Night) for the 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the lake , spread over 3 levels with a lock up garage. Great Property at a very attractive price !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2006
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael G wrote a tip Mar 2018
Augsburg, Germany115 contributions297 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check that a dedicated parking slot for the apartment is granted"
Read full review
walmit wrote a tip Nov 2016
Wellington, New Zealand96 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a room not so far away from the wifi"
Read full review
Nancy wrote a tip Mar 2016
Sydney, Australia174 contributions70 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Studio rooms front the water and offer a spectacular view."
Read full review
jer-jeanne wrote a tip May 2013
Glen Ellen, California123 contributions54 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms appear to have lake views."
Read full review
allaird wrote a tip Sept 2011
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"book the waterfront studio, extremely quiet and comfortable with a luxury feel."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Queenstown area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$444 - AU$707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alpine village hotel queenstown, breakfree alpine village hotel, breakfree alpine village queenstown
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
BreakFree Alpine Village Resort
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionQueenstown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
58
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ALPINE VILLAGE: 2024 Prices & Reviews (Queenstown, New Zealand) - Photos of Apartment - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Alpine Village
Which popular attractions are close to Alpine Village?
Nearby attractions include Skyline Queenstown (3.6 km), iFLY Indoor Skydiving Queenstown (3.6 km), and Break One (1.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Alpine Village?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a spa, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Alpine Village?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Alpine Village?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alpine Village?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fogo South American Bbq Experience, Nest Kitchen + Bar, and Perky's - Floating Bar Queenstown.
Are any cleaning services offered at Alpine Village?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Alpine Village?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Vesta Design Boutique (3.4 km) and One Mile Power House (3.9 km).
Does Alpine Village have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
All Queenstown HotelsQueenstown Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in QueenstownHotels near Alpine Village
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars