We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 218: English reviews
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2015 via mobile

Very clean hostel, bathrooms kitchens and bedrooms are cleaned daily. Good lounge areas and DBS selection. Free daily soup is tasty. Storage for snowboards/bikes etc is very helpful. Small hot tub spa is available if wanted. Needs more electric outlets in dorms.

Helpful?
Thank AlexFace A
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed in a private room here in September, as it was good value for 6 nights, it was in a building to the side of main reception. The building seemed untidy particularly the showers, even just after cleaning had hairs and grit in the bottom. We had a communal balcony adjoining our room, the view was great but smoke drifted... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather N
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
284 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised! We got a double room with ensuite and had everything we needed!! Would have cost the same to get two beds in a dorm and we got our own bathroom. Not modern but perfect place to stay when you're up on the mountain everyday and more so needing a functional place to stay. Staff were very friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank kimrux
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

The Sir Cedric's Southernlaughter backpackers is located a 3 minutes walk up the hill from the centre of Queenstown. Supermarket, Bars, Restaurants and Attractions are all in foot walking distance and how to get there will be explained the staff. The hostel itself offers free wifi and free soup which is a plus especially if you are on a Budget.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickNZNSK
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2015

My room was tiny and my television didn't work - which was a little annoying. The bed was okay and the room stayed very warm - which was a big plus whilst staying in Queenstown in the Winter. There were some rather large problems however - the curtains were paper thin so didn't block out much light, and there was... More 

Helpful?
Thank katt_252014
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey there Kat! We were shocked to see that you had so many issues whilst staying with us. had any of these been brought to our attention at any point during your stay our friendly staff would have been able to assist you! since reading your review we have looked into the points you raised and everything was an easy... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

Booked a double room just for one night. It was quiet, clean, and comfy. It was our first destination after our long flight from the U.S., so the warm room and warm shower was much needed and very nice. Price was great! I am also very happy with the free soup.

Helpful?
Thank world_ismy_oyyster
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Always a pleasure to greet people as they arrive in our beautiful town for the first time! and glad we could provide with a place to rest your your tired- traveler heads! come back anytime for some homemade soup!! More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2015

A group of six of us recently stayed in Southern Laughter for four nights. I stayed in a double bedroom with my partner called the "love shack" which was absolutely perfect for weekend away. The room was warm, clean and comfortable with a small fridge, television, heater and own private bathroom. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and... More 

Helpful?
Thank nztravelfoodie
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there! So glad to hear that you enjoyed the comforts of Southern Laughter and the love shack. We totally agree that our spa is an awesome way to round up the day and are glad you took advantage of it! Always a pleasure to hear that our staff's friendly attitude is appreciated. Please come back and stay any time... More 

Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

Was disappointed with the stay! Booked based on previous reviews. It was what it was. Not the cleanest, spent as little time as I needed to in there! Staff were really nice and helpful on the plus side. Would I stay again? Prob not! Really good location though.

Helpful?
Thank Niamh F

Travellers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter was good value for money. I stayed in a private room with a double bed and although the room was small it was warm and clean. The bathrooms were shared so not always the cleanest but they were definitely cleaned regularly. The staff were friendly and helpful. The soup every night is ok if you get... More 

Helpful?
Thank CaitlinJHamill
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there! Thanks for staying with and reviewing us! Very glad to hear that you would recommend us to your friends, and always nice to hear that our guests are getting value for money in a very competitive town! Come back any time to stay! More 

Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2015

I want to start by saying this is no reflection on management, the staff we came across were helpful & quick to apologise in the morning & refund us for the nights we prepaid as we refused to continue on staying there. Having said that...we were placed in a room in the share house next door. Given the price we... More 

Helpful?
Thank MochasGold
JIMatSL, Front Office Manager at Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there! We are disappointed to hear that Southern Laughter didn't live up to your expectations. As you pointed out the staff did try and deal with your noise issue promptly and with minimal fuss. We can assure you that the noise-makers were dealt with accordingly and we have taken steps to ensure that this wont be an issue for... More 

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.7 km away
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
#33 of 87 in Queenstown
169 reviews
0.3 km away
Sir Cedrics Tahuna Pod Hostel
0.3 km away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#10 of 87 in Queenstown
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#24 of 87 in Queenstown
164 reviews
0.3 km away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 87 in Queenstown
390 reviews
0.4 km away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#9 of 87 in Queenstown
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A friendly toasty warm – backpackers located in central Queenstown within quiet surroundings. We have plenty of off street parking and just a 2 minute walk to bars, supermarkets and shops.Our rooms are configurations of cozy 3, 4, 6 or 8 beds as well as 5, 6 and 8 person self contained units with kitchens. We also provide comfortable private double and twin rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers

Address: 4 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $26 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Laughter Hotel Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If your travelling with a small group ask for the four bed dorm you get a balcony with a view and a little kitchen it was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles JMadventures96, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles lucih721, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Recommend Private Room, Number 5, in one of the main buildings, you have to walk outside for some other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 298annee, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Definitely get an ensuite - and nowhere near the washing machine.”
 of 5 bubbles katt_252014, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in Room 27 (the "love shack") which suited us very well.”
 of 5 bubbles nztravelfoodie, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay