Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Waterfront

Traveller (231)
Room & Suite (158)
living room and kitchen
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#6 of 33 apartments in Queenstown
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Waterfront is centrally located just a short stroll from all the action of downtown Queenstown, and unlike many other resorts is situated on the same level as the lake. The Waterfront provides spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments right on the waters edge of Lake Wakatipu. With modern furnishings, apartments provide comfortable accommodation to suite all occasions. All rooms are self contained with full kitchens and laundries, heating, DVD & stereo system, iron and ironing board, in-house movies, intercom, Sky TV and security system. Penthouse guests have the added comfort of there own rooftop terrace and BBQ. From your lakefront facing balcony you can watch the famous TSS Earnslaw head out from the nearby Steamer Wharf on its daily journey across the lake. For those feeling energetic, take a walk around the lakes edge fringed with weeping willows and pine trees. Whether you are visiting in winter for action on the slopes, or to enjoy the many summer activities, The Waterfront is perfect for couples, families and groups alike.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary tea
Skiing
Massage
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Car park
Wifi
Room features
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, German

Location

109 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300 New Zealand
348Reviews9Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 181
  • 107
  • 39
  • 10
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
PauletteNZ wrote a review Sept 2020
Whakatāne, New Zealand34 contributions57 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a large group staying across 4 separate apartments and every one of us was so impressed with our apartments.
The location was simply unbeatable. 2 min walk to town, pubs, restaurants and shops.
Not only that, but but the views were beautiful.
The rooms themselves were exactly what we needed. And the service we received was top notch. They helped us with changing our booking when we needed to and were happy to allow us to check in early.
We really had a great time here and will definitely be back.
Thanks team!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
M45dxb wrote a review May 2022
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates12 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wow! John and the team at, 'The Waterfront' have an AMAZING property, that sits right 'smack bang', in the heart of Queenstown; one of New Zealand's most magnificent and iconic tourist destinations!

From our first contact with them, the whole experience was first class. We decided early on, to forego the usual 'hotel' stay, and instead go with a boutique style fully contained apartment.

The views from our two bed, two bathroom (4th floor) apartment was truly stunning! The kitchen was well stoked, and also had a dishwasher, toaster, and a microwave.

Even though we had a fully stocked kitchen, we ate out everyday. But the choice to stay IN and cook, was great to have.

Vogel's toast in the morning with our Nespresso coffee (machine came with us as airplane carry on luggage) was the only "cooking" we did.

We with 100%, most certainly come back and stay longer in a Penthouse Suite.

Thanks Again to John and the wonderful crew!

Marcus
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: One tip: Choose this place. You won't be disappointed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MickyJohn Waterfront, Owner at The Waterfront
Responded 24 May 2022
Thank you Marcus, we loved having you both stay with us this week, and we're stoked that you had a great experience during your stay! The whole team at The Waterfront look forward to seeing you both on your next visit. John
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JUINI wrote a review Nov 2023
55 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The apartment is very spacious and with a gorgeous view of Lake Wakatipu, Walter Peak and Queenstown Gardens. It seems newly redecorated with nice carpets, clean painted walls and nice French windows. The heater works well and rooms are quiet. Furnitures are old dated but clean and cozy. Kitchen with full set of equipments is convenient. The guest laundry is in the garage, it costs NZ$4 for washing and another NZ$4 for drying. They offer hang-dry rack, too. Location’s good; supermarket, restaurants and shops are all in 5 to 10-minute walking distance. We stayed there for 6 nights, prices aren’t sweet, but definitely worthy. It’s joyful and truly relaxed. Definitely recommend it. They’re bloody full-booking, just do it as soon as possible.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John doe wrote a review Jan 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely disgusting premises, we booked a penthouse apartment (namely apartment 4a) for $300 for the night. We arrived, the place was stone cold, dirty fingerprints and footprints on the walls and sills, and what seemed like one billion possible children stains on the bed. All the taps were loose and flopping around. Water pressure ya could wee harder than, and the cleaners must be stoned because they haven’t even done their jobs. When we asked for a refund we were denied profusely. Staff are incredibly rude, both in person and on the phone. And owners seem to have a certain arrogance about them if they are in the hospitality industry and refuse to provide standard customer service.
If you value your time in Queenstown then please don’t ruin it by staying at this armpit of Queenstown!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MickyJohn Waterfront, Owner at The Waterfront
Responded 13 Jan 2021
This is a malicious and grossly exaggerated review. We would like to respond to the authors comments. Please note there is also a review posted from ‘Georgie’. Georgie was the other guest, sharing with John doe. The guests arrived around 35 minutes after making a 'late in the day' online booking. The rate was $283.50, not $300.00. We always ensure that our rooms are warm and welcoming when we are expecting guests. 35 minutes was simply not enough time to warm the apartment to our usual standards. Our small team are accommodating and very friendly. We pride ourselves on our warm, personal customer service. many other reviews will confirm this. We absolutely refute the authors comments around cleanliness, our housekeepers hold themselves to high standards, and they do a great job. We have not had any complaints regarding water pressure. The scuff makes on the wall are from luggage. This is where the luggage rack is usually located. Granted, the wall is due for a repaint. The mark shown on the bed throw is actually a water mark left by the guests after showering. The guests used the shower and the bed, then decided to leave. Both guests were verbally abusive toward our staff, using many expletives when offered a 50% refund. The guests would have been offered an alternative room, or a full refund if they had contacted us with their concerns after checking in. The guests did not do this, and instead decided to use the showers and bed. The Waterfront is a fantastic place to stay when you are in Queenstown, this is backed up by our overwhelmingly positive reviews. Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ann-Kathrin B wrote a review Jan 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates231 contributions142 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We are on our honey moon and it was my husbands birthday and we had done our booking 5 months ahead for the penthouse studio and informed the hotel that we prefer to have a king size bed. We got a queen bed which was quite difficult for us to sleep in.
The penthouse on the highest floor has several cons:
1. there are 15 stairs in a narrow staircase where no one helps bring the luggage up
2. it is quite hot when the temperatures are up
3. no darkening possible so I could not sleep well and woke up early once sun rised
4. no service in the apartment which was not told us upfront so we had no change of towels, no cleaning and bring the garbage away ourselves. Sorry but for the prices you are asking you should consider to do more for your guests.
5. We used 2 plugs in the kitchen to load our batteries and the fan started working. It happened in the late evening and it took us 1 hr to find out how to stop the fan bcs we were about to sleep.
6. you may provide more comfy chairs on the balcony which was only the case in 1 penthouse. Feels like 2. class.

The location and views are wonderful.
For 400 NZD per night you really should consider a better information about what to expect and a better service.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MTandJM-Waterfront, Owner at The Waterfront
Responded 7 Feb 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We hope you really enjoyed your stay, and yes, aren't the views incredible! In response to the points you raised... 1. The Waterfront Apartments are non-serviced, We do not have porters, however we would encourage guests to ask our check-in staff for assistance if required. They would be more than happy to help :) 2. The Queenstown area did experience hotter than normal temperatures during your stay. There are fans provided in all rooms for this. 3. Great time to get up and enjoy a stroll along the lakefront :) We will have a look at the drapes however. 4. Again, we are not a hotel and we do make it clear that these are non-serviced apartments. You only need ask at reception if you need assistance, such as additional towels. 5. The switch for the fan is the center one, the other two switches operate the plugs. We will look at labeling the fan switch. Thanks. 6. We have operate a regular schedule for upgrading furniture/beds, and will ensure that that any outdoor furniture is included in this. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Missouri wrote a review Feb 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand2 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This place was below expectation! I found a giant toe nail under my bed the day I arrived along with lots of rubbish- obviously hadn’t been vacuumed. The double room is dark and dingy and has a tiny window that looks into the hall at eye level so anybody walking past can look into your room- you have to keep the blind closed if you don’t want somebody peeping in but then the room is super dark. You have to take out your own rubbish and the rooms are not serviced - definitely not a resort as it has no ammenities like a pool/gym/spa/daily cleaning. Absolutely not worth the price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicki T wrote a review July 2022
Perth, Australia5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I phoned the Waterfront after my children and I caught covid while staying in a different hotel in Queenstown. Our accommodation wasn’t going to last the length of our required isolation and we needed to move from a tiny hotel room! Bikesh was so accommodating, the two bedroom apartment was lovely and just the comfort we needed! Bikesh was careful to make arrangements so we didn’t affect other guests while ill, and with the amazing views and brilliant kitchen it was the ideal place for us to be stuck. I would love to have the opportunity to stay there again (without covid of course!). Thoroughly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
snowline365 wrote a review Nov 2023
Te Anau, null, New Zealand4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having stayed at The Waterfront on previous occasions, we once again enjoyed the amenities of a spacious two bedroom, two bath apartment with lovely views of Lake Wakatipu. The location offered easy access to the shops and eateries of downtown Queenstown and nearby easy walking tracks leading to the historic One Mile Power Station and beyond. Our apartment was nicely appointed and offered upgraded appliances, comfortable and tasteful furnishings, and easy access via the lift. The managerial staff was responsive to all special requests and answered all emails promptly. Manager Bikesh was especially knowledgeable and helpful with getting up settled in and assisting with our departure. We are already looking forward to our next visit!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Georgie wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
waterfront penthouse is the most un hygienic hotel room I have ever step foot in. Apartment 4a to be exact. As soon as you get to the shabby stairs that lead to your room you are underwhelmed by the darkness and stink of the place. The room itself is filthy. It’s cold, there’s scuffs on the walls, all the tap ware is loose, the air vents are noisy, the furniture is like what you 80year old nana would have, but filthiest of all is the massive stain on the bed, if that doesn’t show poor cleanliness levels I don’t know what does. We left the hotel room in utter disgust, our ‘penthouse’ was a disaster. Hotel workers were no help and all blamed eachother rather than someone taking responsibility. Could not have had a more unpleasant experience. The most horrific hotel Experience ever, save your self the disgust and stress and book literally ANYWHERE else in Queenstown.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MickyJohn Waterfront, Owner at The Waterfront
Responded 13 Jan 2021
“Please see our response for John doe”
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wendy H wrote a review Mar 2023
36 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location. Parking spaces very tight. Laundry available but only one washing machine. Provide clothes airers so not reliant on clothes dryer. Apartment not serviced, kitchen well appointed. Would benefit from small blanket while watching TV so don't have to use heater as much.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from heiranig
Tahiti, French Polynesia288 contributions334 helpful votes
I don’t know because we had a car and didn’t need luggage storage, sorry
Roddyp123 asked a question Sept 2017
Vanuatu2 contributions33 helpful votes
Do you have one (1) suite that could fit 2 adults and our 4 teenage children?
Answer from Faircrit
Guernsey, United Kingdom174 contributions114 helpful votes
Hello Kerrie, I think you have contacted me in error. If you want to contact the Waterfront direct their email address is: info@thewaterfront.nz. We hope you enjoy yoiur stay as much as we did but don't forget - the higher the room the better. Faircrit
oops_12 asked a question Apr 2016
Manila, Philippines4 contributions2 helpful votes
Do all rooms have a view of the water in front?
Answer from marchellica
Singapore, Singapore36 contributions8 helpful votes
Yes - I don't remember any room facing backwards, since the backside was a steep upward slope.
Kate P asked a question Jan 2016
San Diego, CA8 contributions13 helpful votes
Is this hotel suitable to stay in with a baby (will be 9 months at time of travel)?
Answer from ka p
Arlington, Virginia28 contributions28 helpful votes
hello. i would say it is suitable for a baby, but if you could be more specific, i could advise you better. like i stated in my booking review, our room was not ready when we arrived, there was mildew in the tub, the owner/manager was not very helpful and it was more expensive than all of our other hotels and b&b's. but it was right in the heart of Queenstown.
AS_IT_IS_24 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Sydney, Australia168 contributions83 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check what apartments have balconies before you book. Some do and some don't. You should be able to ask what's what."
Read full review
Pam wrote a tip July 2023
Brisbane, Australia6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to avoid skiing on weekends & drive up early to avoid parking lower down the mountain. Lifts open at 9am, we were there just before."
Read full review
Trip630243 wrote a tip Mar 2023
31 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hotel very expensive for the substandard room "
Read full review
M45dxb wrote a tip May 2022
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates12 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"One tip: Choose this place. You won't be disappointed."
Read full review
Gingerules wrote a tip Apr 2022
Napier, New Zealand109 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great parking, underground, lift too"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Queenstown area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$414 - AU$603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
breakfree the waterfront hotel queenstown
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionQueenstown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WATERFRONT: 2024 Prices & Reviews (Queenstown, New Zealand) - Photos of Apartment - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Waterfront
Which popular attractions are close to The Waterfront?
Nearby attractions include iFLY Indoor Skydiving Queenstown (0.4 km), Escape Quest Queenstown (0.3 km), and Browns Ski Shop (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Waterfront?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at The Waterfront?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Waterfront?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Waterfront?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Waterfront?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fogo Brazilian BBQ Experience, Perky's - Floating Bar Queenstown, and The Taj Indian Kitchen.
Is The Waterfront located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Queenstown.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Waterfront?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Waterfront?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Vesta Design Boutique (0.4 km) and One Mile Power House (0.1 km).
Does The Waterfront have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Queenstown HotelsQueenstown Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in QueenstownHotels near The Waterfront
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars