We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

730 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 643: English reviews
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a lovely hotel, just sit in the lobby, you'll see people from all over the world pass by you..truly an international journey. The rooms are lovely too. If possible, get a suite, you won't regret it. Total class! What I loved most about the place was its staff.....there were two staff members that really stood out. The first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelly S
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments and glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Copthorne Hotel and Resort, I will pass on your kind words about the staff.

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. We paid to upgrade to a suite with a full view of the mountains and water. The room was pretty nice, and the view was great. My only major complaint was that after paying the money to upgrade I asked the manager on duty if they would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheMillPigs
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I take on board your comments regarding the bottle of wine. Glad you enjoyed the views and hope you had a lovely honeymoon.

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Reception staff friendly and helpful. We were on the 4th floor but it was a route march to get to our room. When we opened the door we were greeted with a very spacious apartment with a large sofa and armchair, table and four chairs and a balcony and then in the large bedroom we had another balcony and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank candt1969
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments on the hotel and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, I will pass on to the staff your comments, I hope you enjoyed your time in New Zealand.

Alameda, California
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I was booked into this hotel for three nights by a travel agent and would not stay here again. The main rooms and hallways are badly in need of repainting and refurbishment; carpet is threadbare on the stairs and elevators. The interior of my room was fine, but there was no view to speak of and the rooms facing east...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christy K
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on the hotel and your stay, the hotel is full of guests from all over the world as is the town especially at this time of year just after Chinese New Year. Appreciate your comments and feedback.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I would recommend getting a superior king lake view room if you can get a cheaper rate through a hotel booking site. Our room was nicely furnished and the view of the Remarkables was 'remarkable' although I would ask for a room with a balcony or some outside space too if Booking in advance and paying top $. The standard...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daphnescooby
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments on your stay, we are in the pocess of refurbishing the rooms we are two thirds of the way through, appreciate your feedback.

Somerset
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great views from this hotel. Good location close to town centre which was down a fairly steep hill. Friendly helpful staff. Rooms adequate with very comfortable beds. Food for both breakfast and evening meals gave a very good choice and was cooked well. We were originally staying for three nights but due to my wife tripping over a loose paving...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank holidayhog
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments and I hope your wife is fully recoverd now.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here for three night as part of a month long tour. The lakeside views are wonderful however the room was sadly very shabby and grubby. I could write my name on the dust!The location is close to the town centre and a short cut along the waterfront helped rather than climbing the steep hill. Several package holidays obviously use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juniepie250555
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we appreciate your feed back, I will pass on your comments to ensure we clean your room properly. We are in the process of upgrading the rooms and the next 40 will be done early this year, thanks again for your comments.

Congleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stopped at the Copthorne Hotel for 3 nights, our room had fantastic views over the Wakatipu Lake and across to the Mountain. Queens towns offers lake side attractions & numerous water activities. The Restaurants were numerous and offered plenty of choices for all tastes. We ate at Fishbone Restaurant & Captains Restaurant both had very good food & service....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, glad you enjoyed your stay in Queenstown and the hotel, thanks again.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The best part of this hotel for me was the customer service! The staffs were great and always had a smile on their face. Special thanks to Vera for recommending some excellent dining options and activities. The location is good with lake views from many rooms and just 5 mins walk from the city centre via hotops rise (a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SounakB7
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments I will pass them on to Vera, glad you enjoyed your time in Queenstown

Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is well located and is about 10mins from the town centre. The views are worth dying for with gorgeous vistas of the lake in front with the Remarkables in the background. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which was built as a duplex. Extremely spacious apartment with separate bathrooms and restroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ash2501
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, glad you enjoyed the views and we appreciate your feedback.

298 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (263)
Viewed
View from Room (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
0.1 km away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#35 of 57 in Queenstown
760 reviews
0.3 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 57 in Queenstown
1,289 reviews
0.2 km away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
837 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Queenstown Lakefront has a Qualmark Enviro Gold Award for Sustainability. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

Address: Corner Frankton Rd & Adelaide St, Private Bag, Queenstown DX ZP95021, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $201 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Priceline so you can book your Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Queenstown Lakefront
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lakefront room recommended.”
 of 5 bubbles leow642, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Lakeview rooms are the best in Value and also views..stunning. However, they are located on the otherside of the hotel and is quite a walk.”
 of 5 bubbles 652serahb, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“check if you want a room with views”
 of 5 bubbles ianm658, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Spend a little extra and get the Lake view rooms - huge windows where you take in the magnificent view.”
 of 5 bubbles KerryThied, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a lake view are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5