We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

712 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 627: English reviews
EEUU en Andalucia
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I found a good deal on the line for their guaranteed lake view room and booked it for three nights I managed to squeeze in to a Queenstown visit. I spent most of my time excursions so I only slept in the hotel and did not use the rest of the facilities, but they have a great location just a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CWason
Bowral, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'll preface this by saying I was on holiday with my husband AND his mother so you take the review in the spirit of frazzled wife. We had a room with two double beds which had an amazing view over the lake and the reception staff were delightful. However sharing a small double with a horrible squashy mattress, with my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and sorry you did not get such a good sleep! We appreciate the feedback and glad you enjoyed the views.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago

For our first visit to the Queenstown area, my husband and I decided to keep it low key. We didn't have enough time to explore Fiordland, Te Anau, and the sounds so I'm glad we selected the Copthorne Hotel. It's a 5-minute walk into town but far away enough from the noise and ruckus of the bars and restaurants. It's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dreamyr227
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to post a review for us. We certainly appreciate all feedback and I shall pass on your comments to our staff. Happy to hear you enjoyed your trip to Queenstown.

Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm a frequent visitor to Queenstown, some call me a local lol but this is the very first time I've noticed this property. Its just off Franklin Rd before the big descent into town, so is convenient. Looks small on the outside but stepping into the reception lobby wow..was amazing. The afternoon staff were friendly and nice very helpful. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 652serahb
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank You for such a great Review . We certainly appreciate your feedback and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your room and your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post and I shall pass on your kind comments to our staff.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having a four day stay at Copthorne and visiting surrounding attractions in Queenstown was a dream break. From the time we checked in we felt in good hands. Central location easy walk to the buzzing town. Our Room and facilities were great In house bar and restaurant is always a welcomed addition. Cheers to all the staff we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helenmB1911MZ
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank you for your Wonderful review Helen . It is very much appreciated . I shall certainly pass on your kind comments to our staff . Thank you for taking the time to post feedback and happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Queenstown.

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Could have had 5 stars but... a bit cheeky to charge more for wifi access. Also, no air con and despite balcony door being left open all night the room was too hot to sleep comfortably. Bathroom lock a bit temperamental. Otherwise a decent hotel room with comfy beds.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank keithdratcliff
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank You for your comments Keith and I appreciate your comments regarding wifi , I shall pass on to Head Office. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and I apologise no fan for your room was offered to you, as yes it can get quite warm at this time of year. Hope you enjoyed your time in Queenstown .

Ottawa
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights and when we arrived we checked to see if we had a lake view room but to our disappointment our agent had not booked this and we had an interior view but asked for an upgrade and they could only accommodate us on the last night of our stay and we decided to take...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jacques1543
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Wow , Thank you Jacques for a wonderful review and I'm very happy to hear we could accommodate you in a Lakeview room during your stay. We certainly appreciate your comments and are always looking for ways to improve directions to different blocks . Thank you.

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Hotel nicely positioned a little above the main town and the lake. It is a short walk into town although the return journey is uphill. An hourly shuttle bus is available from the sister hotel across the road, although we didn't use it. The hotel is a complex of buildings at different levels - so the layout of rooms can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeeJ158
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank You for Your review Dee ! We appreciate your comments and feedback . Hope you enjoyed your time in New Zealand and Queenstown .

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

My family and I had a wonderful 3 night stay at the hotel during out 8d vacation in the South Island. When we were initially allocated a room in the 3rd floor (lobby at the 5th), we were expecting for the worst , but to our pleasant surprise, we were blown away by the picturesque view of the lake when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KelvinTan88
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank You Kelvin for a great review and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the wonderful views from your room . I will pass on your comments to our staff . We do have a sign up with Millennium Hotels Loyalty club for free Wifi in any Millennium Hotel and my apologies this was not offered to you...

Reviewed 30 November 2016

The room, and location are good. Service was extremely slow at dinner, eventually got the starter, but main course did not come until 1 hour 20 mins after we had been seated. I had a problem in my room... no power to the plugs meaning my alarm did not work and I missed one of the main trips of my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Lynn, I do appreciate your feedback . I will certainly look into the dining experience for large groups and understand your frustration with you missing your trip, however we have had no power cuts recently. I understand our staff did try to help you book other activities & my sincere apologies to you if you...

293 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (258)
Viewed
View from Room (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
0.1 km away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#33 of 57 in Queenstown
742 reviews
0.3 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
2,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
1,260 reviews
0.2 km away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
824 reviews
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#16 of 57 in Queenstown
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Queenstown Lakefront has a Qualmark Enviro Gold Award for Sustainability. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

Address: Corner Frankton Rd & Adelaide St, Private Bag, Queenstown DX ZP95021, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $182 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Booking.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Queenstown Lakefront
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lakeview rooms are the best in Value and also views..stunning. However, they are located on the otherside of the hotel and is quite a walk.”
 of 5 bubbles 652serahb, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“check if you want a room with views”
 of 5 bubbles ianm658, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Spend a little extra and get the Lake view rooms - huge windows where you take in the magnificent view.”
 of 5 bubbles KerryThied, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a lake view are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms would be quite”
 of 5 bubbles Bubbles10024370, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay