We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences

377 Frankton Road Lake Wakatipu, Queenstown 9300 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1526)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (797)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#16 of 66 hotels in Queenstown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2023 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
The Rees Hotel Queenstown is a sophisticated five-star hotel situated right on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, in the South Island of New Zealand. The Rees offers a variety of spacious and luxurious accommodation options including 60 Hotel rooms, 90 Apartments and five private, 3 bedroom/ 3 bathroom Lakeside Residences, all with terraces, showcasing spectacular views across Lake Wakatipu to the alpine panorama of the Remarkable Mountain range.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Car park
Wifi
Yoga classes
Personal trainer
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Ski rentals
Skiing
Patio
Highchairs available
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Minibar
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
iPod docking station
Walk-in shower
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
River View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, Dutch and 7 more
2,736Reviews48Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,902
  • 565
  • 167
  • 60
  • 42
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kamolini C wrote a review 17 Apr
1 contribution
My family and I had a deeply unsatisfactory experience during our recent stay at The Rees Hotel in Queenstown. Upon our arrival on February 28, 2024, we were met with an appalling level of service from the staff, particularly from an American employee named Tae (apologies if misspelled). Her demeanor during check-in was dismissive and unprofessional, failing to meet even the basic standards of hospitality. We had specifically reserved a Superior 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Apartment with a Lake-view, at a staggering cost of USD 1500 (NZD 2414) for two nights - the highest rate we have ever paid for any accommodation worldwide. However, the reality of our stay fell far short of our expectations. The apartment's promised lake view was obstructed by a large staircase, and the constant traffic flow compromised any semblance of privacy, preventing us from fully enjoying our surroundings. Despite our polite requests for assistance, Tae seemed unwilling to accommodate our needs and instead deferred the matter to her colleagues. Subsequent discussions with the duty manager only served to exacerbate our frustration, as we were presented with higher rates for alternative accommodations. Our experience at The Rees Hotel was utterly disappointing, particularly considering the glowing recommendations we had received from friends. It pains me to say that this stay has tarnished an otherwise enjoyable vacation in New Zealand. In light of this abysmal experience, we lodged a formal complaint with the Rees Hotel Management via emails, but as expected, their staff behavior continues to be disappointing, and we received no response to date.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Please save your money and go somewhere else. When we arrived in Queenstown, we saw SO many...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Micka McDonald, Revenue Management at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences
Responded 2 days ago
Kia Ora Mr Chakraborty, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. My first concern is that our staff member did not greet you in true Rees Hospitality style. We pride ourselves on our warm and welcoming staff and I can see from the beginning you were on the backfoot due to this. I am unable to speak with the staff member you have named, as she has since moved on from our team. I have, however, passed your comments to our Front Office Manager to ensure her team are providing the level of service our guests expect to receive and we expect of our team. My next concern is that you specifically requested a Superior 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom apartment with lakeview. Please understand that this room type does not have lakeviews and should not be advertised as having lakeviews. This is our alpine view room type. Looking into your booking, I can see your reservation came via a wholesaler (Hotelbeds) which suggests to me that you have made your booking through either a travel agent or a third party website that The Rees Hotel does not have a direct relationship with. Therefore has no control over the content that may be advertised. Its disappointing to hear that you have booked this apartment believing you should have had lakeviews. If you wish to share the booking confirmation with me, I can take this matter up with the third party, as we do not stand for cowboy agents falsely misrepresenting our product and I will get this website or agent disconnected from selling our hotel. I do apologise that you were unhappy with your stay and you feel a full refund should be warranted. As I see it from our perspective, a Superior 2 Bedroom Apartment was booked and the hotel provided a Superior 2 Bedroom Apartment. I do understand that you believe you booked a Lakeview apartment, and for that I am happy to investigate further once the documentation is received. This is the response I have sent to your personal email address as well.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Roving39420840791 wrote a review 9 Apr
3 contributions
Absolutely beautiful suite, amazing views and gorgeous hotel. Very helpful and friendly. Disappointed at the lack of knowledge of Gluten Free - I was asked if I had an epi-pen at the restaurant (ummm I dont have a nut allergy!). Cross contamination was imminent. Restaurant very small considering the amount of guests they service.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Free shuttle service from hotel to Queenstown on the hour and back again.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Micka McDonald, Revenue Management at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences
Responded 1 week ago
Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are thrilled you had a wonderful stay, but just like you are a tad embarrassed you encountered such a question from a member of the team working in F&B. This is disappointing. I have passed your feedback on to the Restaurant Manager for some fine tuning of his team. Warm Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TDT wrote a review 8 Apr
London289 contributions345 helpful votes
We stayed in a 2 bed apartment and were very happy. The views are stunning and the apartment had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Location is good - a 30 minute (ish) stroll along the lakeside to town and only a 5 minute drive from the airport. Staff were friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Micka McDonald, Revenue Management at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences
Responded 1 week ago
Kia Ora TDT, Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel and team. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Warm Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nancy K wrote a review 1 Apr
37 contributions13 helpful votes
Super luxurious rooms with jacuzzi baths, motorized blinds, and lots of amenities. Plus the view out the windows really cannot be beat. The hotel is a big outside the central area of Queenstown, but there is a shuttle...I also enjoyed the 40-min walk into town, though it might not be for everyone. The dining room is also quite good, especially for dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Micka McDonald, Revenue Management at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences
Responded 1 week ago
Kia Ora Nancy, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. You stayed in our magnificent Executive Lakeview Hotel Room which comes with a guaranteed spa bath. It's actually one of few room types where a spa bath is guaranteed. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Japando wrote a review Mar 2024
Lewes, Delaware132 contributions62 helpful votes
While visiting Queenstown we stayed at this hotel. We had a 3 bedroom apartment that acomodate our family. The place is clean and very comfortable The view over the lake in front of the mountains was breathtaking Overall we highly recommend this place
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Free parking Shuttle to town is handy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Micka McDonald, Revenue Management at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences
Responded 1 week ago
Kia Ora Japando, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We a so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your kind recommendation.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
James F wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
The hotel is wonderful with incredible views and facilities but it is the staff who are the real stars. In a time when the hospitality industry is suffering with staff shortages The Rees’s staff are amazing. From front of house through to housekeeping at every level the service was first class with nothing being too much trouble. I genuinely can’t speak highly enough of the hotel and its people.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Micka McDonald, Revenue Management at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences
Responded 1 week ago
Kia Ora James Thank you for taking the time to recognise our team. We are proud of the culture we have built with our team and really invest in hiring the right people - attitude always the clear winner. We are certainly having our fair share of struggles and feedback like yours really highlight the reason why we chose hospitality as our careers. Thank you .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jjo wrote a review Mar 2024
Chicago840 contributions165 helpful votes
very nice, modern, hotel. Our room had a lovely balcony and view of the lake and surrounding mountains. While the hotel is not in the center of town, we liked the location because it was quieter and more peaceful. In addition, the hotel has a good free shuttle service to the center of town. You just have to let the front desk know when you'll be using it. it leaves the hotel every hour and picks up downtown once per hour.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Micka McDonald, Revenue Management at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences
Responded 1 week ago
Kia Ora Jo, Thank you for your super helpful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and benefited from the many benefits at the hotel like our shuttle service. We hope to welcome you back again one day in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Leslie H wrote a review Mar 2024
Connecticut25 contributions7 helpful votes
A room overlooked the lake and had a small balcony. Getting to the room was a challenging walk through a maze of elevators, garages and corridors. We couldn’t figure out why it was designed that way. Breakfast service was chaotic possibly a sign of understaffing. The food was good though. The real negative is that you need to take a 15 minute shuttle to town. A friend highly recommended this hotel, which is why we stayed there. We would not recommend it because of its location.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Micka McDonald, Revenue Management at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences
Responded 1 week ago
Kia Ora Leslie, Thank you for your review. Our hotel is built on the side of a hill overlooking Lake Wakatipu. In order for us to have as many rooms as possible with lakeviews, the corridors and building layout can be a tad confusing to our guests. To remove the confusion, we escort all our guests to their rooms. This is absolutely imperative and part of our check in process. It allows us the chance to guide you and explain the best path to your room (although well signed also). We are located 1.8kms to town. This is generally a 3-5 minute drive via our complimentary shuttle service, however, like most tourist towns, the roads can get congested at certain times of the day. Thankfully our shuttle drivers are skilled in taking a back way to town. Although a little longer, you will get great views from Queenstown Hill overlooking Lake Wakatipu. Sorry to hear our location was a problem for you during your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MichaelP19103 wrote a review Mar 2024
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania5 contributions
We had a great stay at the Rees. The hotel was great and our room was fantastic. The highlight of our stay was our interaction with Ashish. He was our waiter one night at the restaurant and we bonded over our mutual love of wine. Later in our stay we spent a great evening with him at the bar talking and tasting wine. He was a gem. Thanks so much for a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Micka McDonald, Revenue Management at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences
Responded 1 week ago
Kia Ora Michael, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are lucky to have Ash on our team who is so devoted to his love of wines. We think he is equally as spoilt to have such a remarkable wine list to play with. We are glad you got to enjoy both :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Explorer32869977450 wrote a review Mar 2024
United States14 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed in a 2 Bedroom Lake View Apartment and thoroughly enjoyed it. You get all the benefits of an Airbnb with none of the hassles. The apartment was spacious and had a great view of the lake, a washer and dryer, and a full suite of kitchen appliances with dishes and utensils. Daily housekeeping was also offered and they did a great job. The location was also great. You can walk to central Queenstown in about 20-30 minutes and it's almost all flat. The hotel also offers a free shuttle once ever hour in case you don't want to walk. The only downsides were the food and the front desk staff. We ordered room service and tried various dishes. Most of them were quite poor, especially the pizza (it came in a soggy takeaway box for some reason?). The ice cream came in a pre packaged tub. For the prices they charge, that's not acceptable. Also, the front desk staff didn't mention anything about the free shuttle (our taxi driver, of all people, told us) and never asked how our stay was at any point, even at checkout.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Micka McDonald, Revenue Management at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences
Responded 1 week ago
Kia Ora Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel and also take your comments regarding room service and your interactions with the front desk team on board. I have pushed your feedback on to our "new" Executive Chef as he embarks on releasing a new menu and our Front Office Manager and thank you for your honesty.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Queenstown area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$317 - AU$443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the rees hotel and luxury apartments, rees hotel queenstown, the rees hotel luxury apartments
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionQueenstown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
155
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE REES HOTEL, LUXURY APARTMENTS AND LAKESIDE RESIDENCES: 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences
Which popular attractions are close to The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences?
Nearby attractions include Skyline Queenstown (3.1 km), iFLY Indoor Skydiving Queenstown (2.4 km), and Break One (3.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fogo Brazilian BBQ Experience, Nest Kitchen + Bar, and Perky's - Floating Bar Queenstown.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and yoga classes during their stay.
Does The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences have airport transportation?
Yes, The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, Chinese, Portuguese, and Japanese.