We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
05/11/2017 06/11/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Victoria Hotel Dunedin

    137 St Andrew Street | PO Box 5737, Dunedin 9011, New Zealand
    011 64 3-668 0632
    Hotel website
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    05/11/2017Check In 06/11/2017Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    USD 97*
    USD 94*
    SAVE USD 3
    USD 97*
    USD 96*
    Traveller (39)
    Room & Suite (16)
    Dining (2)
    Overview
    • Excellent40%
    • Very good37%
    • Average18%
    • Poor4%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “cadbury factory” (19 reviews)
    “the penthouse” (6 reviews)
    “great location” (30 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast Buffet
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Kitchenette
    Multilingual Staff
    Wheelchair Access
    Conference Facilities
    Laundry Service
    Self-Serve Laundry
    3.5 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    5 Nov.6 Nov.
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      USD 94
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      USD 97
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      USD 96
      View Deal
    View all 54 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (253)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 236 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    Booked into the Victoria Hotel as friends were staying there to go to the seafood festival with us. They arrived earlier in the day, we arrived late afternoon. We were in the 'older part of the hotel, but the room was fine. One queen bed...More

    Thank SouthernFoody1957
    Response from B_Cochrane_Dunedin, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel DunedinResponded 1 week ago

    Dear SouthernFoody1957, thank you for the Four Star review of your experience with us! Great to know you liked our location and and facilities, it's perfect if you want to be only 10 minutes walk from nearly all city attractions. I am sorry to hear...More

    Hotel's Favourite
    Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

    We often stay elsewhere for our trips to the "Edinburgh of the South" , but chose the Victoria Hotel for a stay in Dunedin for three reasons: 1) Close to Queen Mary Dunedin Hospital, where my wife was having a baby; 2) 24-hour reception (see...More

    Thank AndEBee
    Response from B_Cochrane_Dunedin, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel DunedinResponded 14 June 2017

    Dean AndEBee, thank you so much for the lovely review. It is great to hear that we managed to be flexible for you during your time in Dunedin. As for the renovations, the rooms in the main block will be similar in standard and decor...More

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Excellent service combined with a very clean well appointed near new room.The location was very close to the Central business District and easy walking distance to the key retail shops & cafe/restaurants.More

    Thank GJNZ
    Response from B_Cochrane_Dunedin, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel DunedinResponded 3 weeks ago

    Dear GJNZ, thank you for your 5 Star Review and great feedback on our service. I am delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us in our New Block of Superior rooms and found the location to be convenient. We look forward to seeing...More

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    Spent 2 nights in Dunedin and stayed here at the Victoria hotel. No complaints whatsoever, very central to town, walking distance to all ammenities. Staff are excellent, rooms were clean and quiet. would highly recommend it.

    Thank Tipperaryboy
    Response from B_Cochrane_Dunedin, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel DunedinResponded 4 weeks ago

    Dear Tipperaryboy, thank you for your Five Star review. I am delighted to hear you had a great experience staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Ben Cochrane

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    Arrived after midnight and were able to check in at reception. Nice they have 24/7 coverage. Booked this place as it's nice and central and we didn't want to pick up our hire car yet. This worked out well for us. Saw and did all...More

    Thank samD2580YR
    Response from B_Cochrane_Dunedin, Front Office Manager at The Victoria Hotel DunedinResponded 4 weeks ago

    Dear samD2580YR, thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found our services for late check-in, our location and the attractions to be satisfactory. I hope that you were offered assistance with...More

    Bluestone on George
    741 reviews
    #1 of 61 hotels in Dunedin
     
    Pacific Park Suites
    291 reviews
    #11 of 61 hotels in Dunedin
     
    Amross Motel
    293 reviews
    #3 of 61 hotels in Dunedin
     
    Alexis Motor Lodge
    481 reviews
    #5 of 61 hotels in Dunedin
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Room Service
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Restaurant
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Room Service
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Conference Facilities
    • Laundry Service
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Room amenities
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Things to do
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Restaurant
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 88 - USD 153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Hotel Style
    • #15 Business Hotel in Dunedin
    • #20 Family Hotel in Dunedin
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Suites ,
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 72
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Victoria Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • South Island >
    • Otago Region >
    • Dunedin
    • Also Known As
    • Best Western Dunedin ,
    • Dunedin Best Western
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (39)
    Room & Suite (16)
    Dining (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (41)
    Bathroom (3)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Alexis Motor Lodge
    481 reviews
    .66 km away
     
    Amross Motel
    293 reviews
    1.03 km away
     
    Pacific Park Suites
    291 reviews
    .99 km away
     
    Bluestone on George
    741 reviews
    .85 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Gaslight Restaurant & Wine Bar
    329 reviews
    .13 km away
    Golden Harvest Restaurant
    173 reviews
    .16 km away
    Paasha
    177 reviews
    .24 km away
    Laneway Cafe, Bar and Tapas
    38 reviews
    .23 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Dunedin Railway Station
    2,324 reviews
    .35 km away
    The Octagon
    180 reviews
    .36 km away
    Otago Farmers Market
    213 reviews
    .30 km away
    Dunedin i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
    81 reviews
    .31 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Katherine S
    7 April 2017|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from tessybear15 | Reviewed this property |
    We chose this hotel as it was walking distance from the train station. Sorry I can't answer your question but I'm sure the hotel can advise the best/most economical way.
    0
    Votes
    Skypsl
    13 August 2015|
    Answer
    Response from B_Cochrane_Dunedin | Property representative |
    Good morning, thank you for your enquiry. To get our special free parking offer, please look up the Victoria Hotel Dunedin on tripadvisor. Near the top left-hand corner you will see " Special Offer Free Parking". If you... More
    0
    Votes
    eireneshe
    10 July 2015|
    Answer
    Response from B_Cochrane_Dunedin | Property representative |
    Dear guest Unfortunately that taking Taxi may be the only way to get to us or the city area from the Intercity Bus station. The walking distance from the station to us is about 15 minutes while the Taxi may only cost around... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "higher floors get a better view, needless to say."
    Read review
    "My room was on the 4th of 5 floors Lift available Room was quiet and comfortable view of Cadbury factory"
    Read review
    "Ask for a room that has been refurbished."
    Read review
    "It doesn't matter what you book, they will shunt you anywhere for there own profits and convenience."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing