We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chapel Apartments

Hotels.comUSD 248*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Chapel Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 121: English reviews
Start your review of Chapel Apartments
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As soon as we saw the Chapel we knew we had found a unique and special place to spend in Dunedin and we weren't disappointed. A beautiful renovation to the chapel has created an extremely spacious and interesting apartment. Everything required for a relaxing stay was provided and it's location was perfect for our stay. A little mix up with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Two nights with family. Our three-bedroom apartment was very spacious with full kitchen, dining table and laundry, huge TV, and excellent WiFi. Large bedrooms, one with ensuite, and plenty of heating for winter visits. Loved the big bath. Being on Moray Place we were right in the middle of town so a short stroll to the big shopping mall on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisF443
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Travelled for Warriors game. 6 of us, had 3 apartments. Overall cost is above average. Come from Auc kland where prices are normally high. This was above average price. Did not see anyone while here. Arrived 5.30pm and spoke by phone. Thought we had breakfast ordered but no such thing. Not keen on walking upstairs from bedroom to lounge area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KL4424
Jon L, Manager at Chapel Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to review the property. The price you paid is the normal price for our property the only difference being that normally we would have 4 people for the apartment you booked and yourself being part of a group of men needing 1 bed each and only having 2 persons in each 2 bedroom apartment that would...

Reviewed 23 February 2017

What a beautiful place to stay when in Dunedin. We had the three bedroom apartment for three couples and after being on the road for a few days it was great to settle in one spot for a couple of nights and be able to cook a meal and eat in. All the rooms are a great size with comfy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracey C
Jon L, Manager at Chapel Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review :-)

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the 2 story 3 bedroom apartment Which was perfect for our group made up of 2 families (4 adults, 15yr old, 3 yr old, 8 month old) The apartment was clean and spacious, with fully equipped kitchen It's location was very central to everything Would stay again and recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheGypsyPirate
Jon L, Manager at Chapel Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments about the service we provide.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 December 2016

stayed with a group of mates. well price, walking distance to the CBD and a wide range of eating places. Modern , warm (it was november) and nice lounge. No sky, and poor internet however. would recommend, great place ! very comfortable beds and uber trendy bathrooms (the showers were space age..)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swannynz
Jon L, Manager at Chapel Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we have had the wifi fixed for everyone's pleasure.... We are always looking for ways to improve our service.

Tumbarumba, Australia
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Chapel Apartments were booked for us by our Australian travel agent. We were two couples travelling in New Zealand and had just finished cycling the Otago Rail Trail. We loved the central location, the converted church makeover and the comfortable cosy style of the apartments. The bedrooms were large, both with ensuites which had underfloor heating. We used the washing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
Jon L, Manager at Chapel Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! we work hard to please our guests and have a no-fuss policy. We are always available for you at just a phone call away. We are happy that we have made your stay in Dunedin enjoyable and hope to see you in the future! :-) Cameron,

Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

Nice accommodation with off street parking. Unusual that there is no reception and just a phone to call the manager who is off site. I liked having a pin on the door and no key, I just hope the pin is changed regularly! The wifi was free but very slow. Appreciated the black out curtains and under floor heating in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rabbitnom
Jon L, Manager at Chapel Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We operate The Chapel Apartments in a way that we need no reception, which suits every guests needs. We are only 5 mins away at our other office if anyone needs assistance. We are looking into your concerns and thank you for your input. We hope to see you again! Cameron.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We took our two adult children and had a great stay with two bedrooms and two bathrooms and all cooking facilities available. The are very central and close to the Octagon and the main shopping area. There are restaurants of all kinds nearby and small corner shops if you want to cook for yourself. The apartments are very nice, clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane255115
Jon L, Manager at Chapel Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and please come and stay again when in Dunedin!

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 21 October 2016

These units are really well situated but we found the service a bit lacking. On arrival there was no-one at reception to explain what goes on and parking seems to be an issue. The units themselves have been done quite well but the small things are lacking. There is a micro-wave but no micro-wave bowls or dishes. No bread knife,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lochy54
Jon L, Manager at Chapel Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. we send all arrivals an email which reads: Hello .... You may use the park for Apartment 1 at the bottom of the steps. (may differ depending on availability) Being an inner-city, historic building, on-site parking at the Chapel is limited. Unfortunately the apartment you have booked does not have an allocated space and those...

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 km away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
1.2 km away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 57 in Dunedin
739 reviews
0.5 km away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.1 km away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#33 of 57 in Dunedin
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chapel Apartments offers a unique accommodation experience. An innovative contemporary design finished to the highest standard housed in an historical building, the oldest church (1863) in Dunedin. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chapel Apartments

Address: 81 Moray Place, Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Price Range: $189 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chapel Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Chapel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chapel Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“3 bedroom is one level andf a large size, 2 bedrooms have bedrooms downstairs and have to walk up and down stairs (quite steep) each time”
KL4424, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet because Dunedin is quiet and the apartment building is not on a main street.”
Diane255115, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get two other couples together and book a three bedroom apartment and enjoy some luxury.”
329vickim, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Check the location of different apartments before you book.”
JanetteG847, 7 Feb 2016 | Read review
“One bedroom has a car space”
timeofourlives, 1 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 248* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 248
Hotwire.comUSD 248
PricelineUSD 248
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates