We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Garden Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Garden Hotel
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 59: English reviews
Start your review of The Garden Hotel
 Click to rate
Sydney
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After driving for 7 hours from Queenstown when I arrived at this hotel I was dehydrated and in a state that I did not know where I was so confused I was not making sense as I could not see any high rises I kept asking the reception staff where I was and how far is the airport and let...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogers_kumar
New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was quite nervous about staying here after reading various reviews...but we didn't have time to be picky due to being evacuated from our home during the Port Hill Fires. However I must say, I was pleasantly surprised. The grounds are lovely, the flowers are beautiful. The staff were very accommodating due to our situation. They managed to get our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aly252014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The restaurant was closed for both our visits here but the motel is just seven minutes' walk from the large Palms shopping mall with a supermarket open till 10, and there are basic cooking facilities in the unit. The units are spacious and comfortable and the motel is easy to access from State Highway 1 via Marshland Rd. The free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J2381KUjamesb
Garden H, Garden Hotel Reception at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for sharing with us feedback on your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us and that your time in Christchurch was well spent during the festive season. We recently upgraded our wifi accessibility and increased the time limits which has proven to be very popular. We are lucky to...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Spent one night here and was quietly pleased I had chosen to stay here. At reception, everything was efficient and quick, our room (a two room apartment) was big and clean although one of the rooms had no natural light). The cooking facilities were good, and wifi worked a treat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LocalTouristNZ
Garden H, Garden Hotel Reception at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience on your recent stay with us at The Garden Hotel. We are absolutely thrilled to receive your positive feedback and are most pleased you enjoyed a comfortable stay and found the room type you booked was well suited and accommodated your needs. On behalf of the whole team...

Otaki, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Came to Christchurch for an aunt turning 90. Stayed at the Garden Hotel and also had the function there at the restaurant. We wanted clean, comfortable and convenient and that's what we got. The staff were faultless at reception and in the restaurant / bar - cafe. A memorable weekend. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
Garden H, Reception at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Ross, Thank you for taking the time to write and share your review on your recent stay with us. On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for your lovely feedback. It is our aim to please and we are thrilled to hear on this special occasion we achieved this for you. Its great...

Oxford, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I had no issue with the cleanliness of our room. It was spotless, though the paintwork is very shabby and chipped. The kitchen is old-fashioned and not user friendly. The bedroom/sitting area was a good size and seating was comfortable, though the bed was very soft (hubby and I do prefer a hard bed). The bathroom facilities are tired. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kezzie K
Garden H, Reception at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Kezziekat, Thank you for taking the time to post and share your review on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed a comfortable stay and that you found the room to be clean and tidy as well as the service provided. We appreciate all feedback and thank you for your comments pointing out...

Newmarket, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel was booked 3 months in advance but on arrival the room was not available. However it was quickly sorted and I found myself ensconced in a two bedroom unit. It was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Kitchen facilities are limited but sufficient. It's in need of some tax bug I'm guessing the empty hooks in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
Garden H, Reservations at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Jan C, Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us at The Garden Hotel. We understand there was a slight confusion when booking -with the difference in Room types not being what you had originally thought was booked. We were happy to make alternate arrangements to accommodate you and are so pleased once this issue...

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Booked this motel for 4 nights. Every night I was charged a different rate apparently due to occupancy. Only 12 hours free wifi which starts each day from the time you arrived on your first day. Minimal Sky channels. Terrible water pressure in shower. Lock broken on bathroom door. The whole place is out dated. Gap under door causing a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deb H
Garden H, Garden Hotel Reception at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Deb H, Thank you for sharing your review and bringing to our attention the concerns you had during your recent stay with us at The Garden Hotel. First of, may I address the issue you had regarding the "rate change". At the time of booking you were advised of the flexible rates for the dates , you proceeded...

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the garden hotel for 3 nights. Rooms were more than adequate for a family of 4. Facilities were great including wifi access. Buffet restaurant was great value with plenty of choices for everybody. Service from the very friendly staff was wonderful and i would definately recommend this place for everyone! A special thank you must go out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank westybear
Garden H, Reception at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review

we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the garden hotel. it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. thank you again...

Reviewed 25 August 2016

comfortable, reasonably priced room. Walking distance to Palms Mall and has restaurant and bar onsite. Heaps of other food options located just beside Hotel. Disappointed with the free wifi - it was slow and only 12 hours worth... I left my ipad in the room while we were out so it counted it as being used during that time even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melanie A
Garden H, Reservations at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Melanie A, Thank you for taking the time to post and share your review on your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your time spent here. We are sorry to hear you experienced difficulty with the wifi. We would have been happy to assist and provide you with a complimentary access code had we known....

30 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
4.3 km away
Quality Hotel Elms
Quality Hotel Elms
#36 of 145 in Christchurch
237 reviews
3.6 km away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#63 of 145 in Christchurch
61 reviews
4.1 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 145 in Christchurch
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Christchurch Park Motel
Christchurch Park Motel
#94 of 145 in Christchurch
13 reviews
2.7 km away
Avalon Court Accommodation
Avalon Court Accommodation
#105 of 145 in Christchurch
42 reviews
7.6 km away
Tui Lodge Motel
Tui Lodge Motel
#121 of 145 in Christchurch
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Garden Hotel is conveniently situated minutes away from the Palms Shopping Mall. The hotel features 62 hotel/ motel rooms. We have rooms that are suitable for families, tourists, sports groups/ teams, business or corporate travelers that are visiting the "Garden City". Our units are quiet and we have a spacious free car parking available.Our hotel units are fully installed with air conditioning. For wine and dine options, you could choose from the different facilities that we have - Garden Restaurant (Buffet) GBC -Garden Bar & Cafe. We are only 5 minutes drive away from the heart of the city where you can take a stroll along the picturesque Avon River, from which the views of the Southern Alps can be seen. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Garden Hotel

Address: 110 Marshland Road | Shirley, Christchurch 8061, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $112 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Garden Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 226 I was at home car parked outside”
 of 5 bubbles rogers_kumar, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Superior rooms are nice and spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles Aly252014, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms easily accessable. Plenty of room in our 2 brm suite.”
 of 5 bubbles 450RossM, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one of the rooms in the 2 storey building - they're much nicer.”
 of 5 bubbles , 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“if arriving after 9.30 pm, or running late, it may pay to give the Hotel a call to update your arrival time. Receptionist accommodating”
 of 5 bubbles 640darrylh, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5