We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ibis Christchurch

ibisUSD 87*
View Deal
GreenLeadersBronze level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Ibis Christchurch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

897 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Christchurch
See the most recent reviews
Showing 816: English reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2017

The Ibis is a 3 star hotel no doubt about it, of course the rooms are basic and small but it is centrally located and you can access the small amount of things our broken city has to offer by foot. I am an Accor club card holder which gives us 50% off our meals in the restaurant which meant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mayor_of_littleriver
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

Ibis is very central in Christchurch but keep in mind the rooms are very basic. Also my room had a double bed plus a single. No space to walk no space to relax. Might be okay for one night but not if you spend more time in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saturn01
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Like all Ibis hotels this was a basic three star hotel. The room had a queen and a single bed, but was actually quite small and a bit of a squeeze. The amenities were what you would expect from a standard three star hotel. It was in a good location for walking to the botanic gardens/cathedral square/re:START etc. They have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tanya F
Jonathan5983, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Tanya F, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay, as well as all the nearby points of interest in central Christchurch. While we sadly were unable to assist this time with car parking, as it is very limited, it looks as though our team were able to assist...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 29 March 2017

I really enjoyed my recent stay at the Ibis Christchurch. Check in procedures were very smooth and it was great to be able to check on my cousin's whereabouts via the in-house computer since I wasn't carrying a smart phone from overseas. The in-house welcome drink @ the friendly 1st Floor restaurant cum bar was lovely, and again as with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Perry B
Jonathan5983, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Perry B, Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor, It is nice to hear that you have had a comfortable stay with us, whilst in Christchurch recently. And had the opportunity to enjoy our Restaurant and Bar on level 1, and our team are very proud of both the changes to the menu and the lounge in the...

Auckland
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We had a great view from the 7th floor! Bed was very comfortable, room tastefully decorated and we ate at the in-house restaurant every night! Staff were more than accommodating. A very short walk to the shops and it was easy to get around by foot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LisaBrickell
Jonathan5983, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear LisaBrickell, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at ibis Christchurch. Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the New Menu in the Restaurant so much, that you ate there each night, our Head Chef will be particularly happy about this too!! Thank you again, Alison and the team at ibis Christchurch

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Work put me up here for three nights. Never again! Small, cramped and stuffy rooms. Small bathroom and both in the Ibis template. I had to secure the bed in place with the ironing board (which was torn and therefore hopeless) as minor movements had it rolling on its wheels. The ac was dodgy making the room really stuffy. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rick M
Jonathan5983, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Rick M, Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor, We always appreciate feedback, in both a positive light as well as areas where we can make improvements. I am sorry that you have experienced some concerns with your room, and I will have our housekeeping team, make it a focus to review the ironing facilities and replace items...

Deganwy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017

This is a comfortable IBIS in the centre of (the now being rebuilt) Christchurch. My room had two double beds, and a smallish shower room with an easy to use shower. The hairdryer was reasonable. There was an iron, ironing board and fridge – but no safe. The buffet dinner and breakfast were very good. There was a happy hour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pielle2015
Jonathan5983, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Pielle2015, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at ibis Christchurch, I am glad you have had the opportunity to enjoy the Restaurant and Bar area during your stay, along with all the other experiences you have while in Christchurch and during your travels throughout NZ. Thank you again, and we hope to see you...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Great position for walking round Christchurch. My husband and I flew in, caught the purple bus to the city and walked a couple of blocks - so easy - and cheap. I am a Platinum Accor club member and we had a great room, and a lovely note of welcome in the room. I asked for a late checkout and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
Jonathan5983, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Judy P, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, It's great to see that you and your husband have enjoyed your stay in Christchurch, and have had the opportunity to enjoy all the nearby sights. The Purple bus, is certainly a great option to make your way in to the city, and as you have found, an easy walk...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Like other reviews you may have read, the prices that the Ibis charges for you to stay at the hotel is not cheap, around the mid level $250-$270 per night. I feel most people wouldn't complain if the hotel lived up to it's promise and expectations of the guests but I can understand why the ratings are as they are....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirinlager007
Jonathan5983, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear kirinlager007, Thankyou for your recent TripAdvisor review, I am glad you have taken the opportunity to experience both the hotel amenities, and whats available in the immediate area. The feedback you have provided is fantastic, and I have advised the Maintenance and Housekeeping team or areas where they can make some improvements to ensure our guests have a more...

Scotland
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Decent sized room with a beautiful view looking out at a concrete wall! 6th floor. Food overpriced for what it was. There is parking in the basement for cars but not big vehicles suggest booking and again very expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank astroman042000

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (188)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.3 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
1,607 reviews
0.3 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
392 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#40 of 144 in Christchurch
359 reviews
0.7 km away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $106 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Christchurch staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Christchurch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not pay extra for street view. Not worth it.”
SimonK584, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Views from the rooms along the rear are non existent.”
MOB68, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go as high as you can. We had 607 which was street facing”
Mayor_of_littleriver, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I liked the high up 8th floor rooms. Good views plus it was nice and quiet.”
PerryB137, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade & pre pay online for breakfast if it isn't part of your package. Cheaper.”
ChrisB529, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
ibis
USD 87* /night
View Deal
CancelonUSD 101
Expedia.comUSD 87
Booking.comUSD 87
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates