We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Comfort Inn Riccarton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Comfort Inn Riccarton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 67: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms are simple but very clean and are serviced perfectly each day. Staff are very friendly and quick to offer travel tips. Close to city centre - Riccarton road is the perfect location in Christchurch. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Mim23G
Auckland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The host at this property is very welcoming and helpful and the service was great. However, the first room I was given I walked into and there were someone else's suitcases on the bed, which was a concern. There was no problem in being given another room, (an upgrade) which fortunately for me moved me to the back of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicky J
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Myself & my partner had only planned to stay one night, but with the amazing price, great service and clean room we extended it to 3 Nights. Couple were so friendly and offered me umbrella so I didn't get wet. Room was big and spacious, shower dome was amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Oliviapaige126
ComfortRiccarton, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Hi Oliviapaige126, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. It's fabulous to read that you loved your stay so much that you extended it for an extra 2 nights! Thanks for mentioning the service received from our team. We are incredibly lucky to have staff who love what they do and they gain a lot of... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016

I would recommend the Comfort inn as a convienent and clean stay near the CBD. Free, Wifi, easy parking, great cooked & delivered breakfasts right to your room, owner operated who do a good job. One let down was the compendium although stating free spa for guest use "ask for the key at reception" is incorrect as they only have... More 

Helpful?
Thank TJ-NZL
ComfortRiccarton, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Hi TJ-NZL, Thanks so much for taking the time out to write a review. We love our location too! A short walk to Riccarton's best cafes and a short ride to the CBD. Great place to stay to explore Christchurch. It's fabulous to read that our brekky exceeded your expectations, the Kitchen team will be pleased to read this. We... More 

1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Easily one of the best accommodation services available in Christchurch. Modern and spacious room, clean bathroom, fully functioning kitchen area (microwaveable), fast internet, Satellite TV, easily accessible from major shopping areas and friendly/supportive reception. (Many special thanks to the staff again) I would love to stay here again when I visit the city. Definitely recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Alex P
ComfortRiccarton, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Alex P, Wow, thank you very much for leaving a fantastic review and for awarding us full marks! Our team simply love what they do and it's reviews like this one that make it all worthwhile. We are incredibly lucky to have staff working with us that simply love taking care of people. They gain a lot of satisfaction... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016

I spent one night here on business. I was in a ground floor room with parking right outside, which was convenient. The room was smaller than I expected. It was also cold so I cranked up the heater. The next morning there was more condensation than I have ever seen, there were puddles of it on the window sills.

Helpful?
Thank NicoleDann
ComfortRiccarton, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear NicoleDann, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor. Great to hear that you found the car parking convenient during your business stay. We are disappointed to read that you found our Queen Studio room to be small. We have a great choice of rooms types. Our Studio Queen rooms are popular for those who... More 

Travellers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2016

We stayed two nights in this motel. We required a simple unit but, although the motel boasts 28 units, we were told when we booked that we could not have the same unit two nights in a row but would have to vacate between 10 am and 2 pm. We then decided to pay extra and upgrade to a unit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Noyeraie
ComfortRiccarton, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Noyeraie, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Comfort Inn Riccarton. We are disappointed to read that you were not totally satisfied with your experience while staying with us. We are sorry that the room you requested was not available for two consecutive nights. Given the circumstances, we believe we went above and beyond... More 

Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a night and from the outside it wasn't super appealing but the rooms were great! The lady at reception was super helpful with everything, she made the experience much better! The rooms are a good size, nice big bathroom and a comfy bed! Good wifi is a huge plus also :)

Helpful?
Thank Kyle V
ComfortRiccarton, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Hello Kyle V Thank you for your time in leaving us a great review! We're excited to hear that you found our staff very helpful, with in our clean and tidy rooms as well as our excellent service. We're delighted to hear about your enjoyable experience during your stay, thank you again for leaving your feedback. We hope to have... More 

1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

Love, love, LOVE this place! Amazing room, Amazing stuff members , overall AMAZING!!! Felt like home, my kids loved their stay and felt free and comfortable. Really looking forward to planning another family trip, just glad I can trust that my family and I will be in a warm, comfortable and reliable place to stay while traveling. Or maybe just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leesha14
ComfortRiccarton, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Leesha, Thank you so much for giving us full marks. It's wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our AMAZING friendly staff and our clean and tidy rooms, being very comfortable, we're glad to hear it helped you enjoy your stay. We appreciate the fantastic review and we look forward to... More 

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Had several concerns with this motel. We had booked a 3 bedroom unit for a family weekend away and ended up very disappointed. What you would expect from the photos on the website is not what you get! Cleanliness was not high on their list: The unit had not been dusted for a very long time. Any surface you touched... More 

Helpful?
Thank nelson728
Clydemotel, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

We value your feed back.Thank you for taking the time to respond. Had we know about your concern at the time when you arrived, or during your stay, would have been able to rectify the matters. Concerns after you have left, leaves us no opportunity to put it right for you the guest. Please note this guest, did damage to... More 

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.2 km away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#67 of 144 in Christchurch
60 reviews
0.8 km away
Athena Motel & Apartments
Athena Motel & Apartments
#78 of 144 in Christchurch
34 reviews
0.3 km away
ASURE 306 On Riccarton Motel
ASURE 306 On Riccarton Motel
#45 of 144 in Christchurch
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge
FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge
#44 of 144 in Christchurch
120 reviews
0.2 km away
Christchurch Motel
Christchurch Motel
#82 of 144 in Christchurch
80 reviews
0.1 km away
Vita Nova Motel
Vita Nova Motel
#75 of 144 in Christchurch
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Christchurch motel offering you affordable accommodation with a true Rural Southern Hospitality welcome to an Urban in Christchurch New Zealand. Being Kiwi owned and operated your hosts Bob & Zeta Pringle extend a very warm welcome to Best Western Clyde on Riccarton Motel.Your first choice for exceptional, affordable Christchurch accommodation offering 23 quiet, luxury, self-contained units, all with fully equipped kitchenettes, Sky TV, wireless broadband and some with spa baths. Ample off-street parking, BBQ/play area in garden setting. For your convenience we offer in every unit,Wireless high-speed broadband internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Riccarton

Address: 280 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $109 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Riccarton 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Riccarton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Christchurch
Christchurch Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Comfort Inn Riccarton staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Comfort Inn Riccarton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the back to avoid the road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles VickyJ573, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Comfy beds”
 of 5 bubbles Oliviapaige126, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose an upstairs room away from the road if you can. Do not dare complain!”
 of 5 bubbles Noyeraie, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“Enjoyed ground floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles Mysistahgirl, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Check everything out first thing, when you get in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles World_Traveler-RM, 1 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay