We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sumner Bay Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sumner Bay Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 30: English reviews
Start your review of Sumner Bay Motel
 Click to rate
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just finished 35 day tour of New Zealand, north & south islands, stayed in over 20 places, this was the best, & best value for money by far. Roger, the owner, was just brilliant, he really couldn't do enough- book it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevinmorley2
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 October 2016

A Choice made again, having stayed & Enjoyed previously. Management & Team all Friendly and helpful. Walking Distance to all Eateries, Beach and other Amenities. Very Comfortable and Clean, will be back. Bus to Town or Car park outside your Unit.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Garry T
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2016

The staff at this motel were exceptionally helpful and on-hand to answer any questions. The rooms were very clean and well proportioned with toasters and microwaves in addition to traditional kitchen wares for your convenience. Free wifi was very useful. My only slight complaint - which was admittedly not communicated with staff - was that the single beds were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
Temuka, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 March 2016

We have stayed several times in the past and have never had a complaint before. This time I was disappointed, and found the one bedroom upstairs unit to be very tired, dusty, dirty and ill equipped for the price ($185). Sumner is still a beautiful place but has a long way to go to recuperate it's attraction and prices should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathrynh937
Reviewed 23 February 2016

This place is a stones throw from Sumner and Scarborough beach. We really loved our time here and being beach lovers was the perfect place to be during our stay in Christchurch, we got the 2 bedroom suite which has lounge, 2 rooms and a kitchenette with mini fridge, stove and kitchen utensils etc, place has free wifi which is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark P
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 December 2015

We had a nice apartment in Sumner, the bedroom is on the first level and the kitchen/lounge was upstairs, with a balcony. Although it had no views. The hotel is modern, clean and comfortable, staff helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Net M
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 November 2015

We stayed at the Sumner Bay Motel while at a friends 40th who lived in Sumner. I wish we could have stayed longer! Modern and comfortable with a superb location. Clean, light with all the amenities you could ask for. I come to Christchurch often and this would be my preference of accommodation. To wake up next to the ocean,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sezman12
brentmanager, Manager at Sumner Bay Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for kind review. We hope you choose Sumner Bay Motel again on return visits.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 October 2015

When we stayed had a woderful time the rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff and manager were helpful and friendly so nice to be close to the beach and shopping fabulous resturants as well had a great time very comfrtable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sadergeorge
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 August 2015

I hardly know where to start. After looking at the web site with the word 'luxury', I felt comfortable making my booking for two nights. The one bedroom unit was shabby and dirty and I felt like I had arrived in a student flat. For $200 per night I felt ripped off and left after only one night, still paying...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Inverness1966
brentmanager, Owner at Sumner Bay Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Inverness1966 for posting your review. I am not sure if you have posted this review for the correct place, where you were accommodated in July. I have gone back through our records for July, and can't find anyone that booked and paid for two nights accommodation and then left after only staying one night. Quite often guests will...

Reviewed 14 November 2014

Only 15 mins drive outside Christchurch, I stayed at Sumner as options were very limited during cup day. Fortunately, the Sumner Bay Motel offered a great option. Compact, reasonably equipped, functional and a comfortable bed. For one or two nights, it's an ideal stopover motel. Worth a try.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CEK0001

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
10.7 km away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#35 of 146 in Christchurch
877 reviews
12.3 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
538 reviews
0.1 km away
Sumner Re Treat
Sumner Re Treat
#25 of 110 in Christchurch
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Cave Rock Guest House
Cave Rock Guest House
#77 of 136 in Christchurch
5 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Petit Hotel Sumner
Le Petit Hotel Sumner
#13 of 136 in Christchurch
109 reviews
0.7 km away
Abbott House Sumner B&B
Abbott House Sumner B&B
#49 of 136 in Christchurch
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Sumner Bay Motel

Address: 26 Marriner Street, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $127 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sumner Bay Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Sumner Bay Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sumner Bay Motel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sumner Bay Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground Floor or First are all Easy Access, we had a choice & chose, Ground Floor”
 of 5 bubbles 357garryt, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book an upstairs room”
 of 5 bubbles sadergeorge, 25 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The rooms at the far end would have less road noise - not that there's a lot of traffic at night; no trucks these days, with Evans Pass closed.”
 of 5 bubbles Daring2Go, 28 May 2014 | Read review
“I am guessing that they are all good rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles sbhbeachlover, 13 Feb 2012 | Read review
“First or second floor may be a little quieter than the ground floor units we had but it wasn't really an issue”
 of 5 bubbles gibraltarwgtn, 16 Jan 2012 | Read review
5 of 5