We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Countryhouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Countryhouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Countryhouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 193: English reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and wouldn't stay again. We found it to be noisy and the double room which we payed $90 for was not much larger than the double bed it contained. We found that the single power point was frustrating given that we needed to charge multiple devices and there wasn't a bedside light which would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwi-yeti
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi there, Thankyou for your feedback of our hostel. It is dissapointing to hear you had problems with noise in your bedroom, all our rooms are fully insulated which does help to supress the noise of others. However I'm sure our reception team would have happily accomodated a room change if there were issues with the location of your room....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We only stayed at this place for one night. We had a private room with a bathroom. The vibe is pretty chilled, courtyard is nice, the bed is comfortable and the place is clean. However the room is very tiny and there is zero amenities. We don't require much but for the money we paid, an electric water kettle and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thegoldenapple
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi there, Thankyou for your review of our hostel. We are glad you enjoyed the atmosphere here, and the general facilities. We are sorry that you found your room too small, we will definately consider adding some small amentities in to the rooms as you have suggested. We hope you still had a great time here in Christchurch! Best Wishes...

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 weeks with my fiancé and it was just an amazing chilled out place (most nights) with an added bonus of a hot tub and sauna to use FOR FREE! Not come across that at all anywhere. Impressively clean too in all places and the beds are some of the comfiest I've come across in any hostel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Metallimaniac
Remuera, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a small dorm and loved it. This hostel is impeccable clean and all the staff is really nice and friendly. They helped me organise my trip through NZ and all the recommendations turned out well (though I didn't get to do them all). I especially loved the garden. The weather was beautiful on my stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed in The Old Countryhouse twice while in Christchurch. A really pleasant experience from the start with exceptional service from all the staff. On my second trip when arriving after hours I had from them an email with clear instructions as to how to find my bed. They also helped me with finding my way in and around Christchurch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank prraj
Schluechtern
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The family room at this hostel were simple and small, but very clean. The service and namely the friendlyness of the team make this hostel a very nice place to stay over a few days as we did. We will certainly come back. Very good value for an affordable price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthias L
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights last month.I got a 4 shared room, quite small.Clean bathroom and kitchen. It's close to supermarket, fish n chips place, and Subway. The only thing I don't like about this hostel is it is too far from main road.Its about 3km away from Intercity bus stop at Bealey Avenue

 Report
Helpful?
Thank prue w
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi there, Thankyou for your review of our hostel. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and all of our facilities. We are sorry that our location is not ideal, however intercity terminal has since changed its location and is now at the main bus station. Easily accessed from the public bus service that ges straight past our...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is definitely one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. It is well organised, clean and with lots of personal touches, one of them being lovely big Max, the resident dog. The large garden and the carpark is a real bonus for a city location and the spa and sauna is definitely and extra treat.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine H
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I only stayed here for 1 night before my ridiculously early flight back to Sydney (6:00!) So I chose a single room to get a proper sleep. So bear in mind that I wasn't at the hostel that long. But my impressions where that it was pretty crowded. In the little house at the bank they somehow fit 8-10 rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dutchcookie
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi there, Thankyou for your review of our hostel. We are sorry that noise was an issue during your stay with us, we do ask guests to be considerate of their fellow guests however we unfortunately can never guarentee this. The credit card surcharge is identified in our confirmation emails and our $20 key deposit is important for us considering...

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We loved this place when we came here 7 years ago. It was a fantastic hostel back then but they now have taken backpacking to a whole new level. The gardens are nicely established, and they have added a spa area with a sauna and spa pool, what a treat in a hostel. Everything is well maintained, the kitchen and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Finn M

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
1,510 reviews
1.4 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,668 reviews
3.8 km away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 102 in Christchurch
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#11 of 102 in Christchurch
221 reviews
2.2 km away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 102 in Christchurch
185 reviews
0.9 km away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#15 of 102 in Christchurch
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Well loved,upmarket and Multi Award Winning Backpackers Hostel in Christchurch. We welcome guests from all over the world since 1998. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Countryhouse

Address: 437 Gloucester Street, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $30 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old Countryhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your The Old Countryhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Countryhouse Hotel Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Countryhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“House 3 doesn't have a common room but is my favourite!”
alicebw1531, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great atmosphere and staff - very pleasant, clean, safe and comfortable.”
TravelChapRotorua, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just ask them, they will give you a corresponding offer”
sannchen2016, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check booking.com for good deals on the rooms.”
Leeuw605, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Nice place, a little outside town”
  • Kitchen
V2C, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5