We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Countryhouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Countryhouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Countryhouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 188: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 10 November 2016

No complaints. We came late and left early, and they left a key for us which was nice. We stayed in a private room which was clean and neat with a modern hot shower. For an older married couple this was toward the lower end of perfectly acceptable - not particularly memorable in either a good or bad way -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dcpolicysmith
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi there, Thankyou for taking the time to review our hostel, it is great to hear you enjoyed your short stay with us. We hope you had a great time in Christchurch and that you got the opportunity view and appreciate the city. Best Wishes The Old Countryhouse team

Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

This hostel has a great atmosphere, located not too far from the center but still very quiet. It's clean and the rooms are spacious, and not to forget: free wifi! Only negative things are the shower pressure (bit low) and the pillows (bit small) but these are just tiny notes :) Best choice in Christchurch!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geertje v
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi there, Thankyou for your review of our hostel, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and location of our hostel as well as amenities. We hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels, and we may see you in Christchurch again some time! Kind Regards The Old Countryhouse team

Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Gorgeous backpackers! Lovely girls at reception did a great job of looking after us and creating a warm atmosphere. The facilities are exceptionally clean, tidy and well thought out. I was in a 7 bed dorm and was very happy with the room and bedding. Rooms are nicely laid out and provide a cosy and comfortable place to meet people....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evan_Callie
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hello Evan, Thank you for your lovely comment and we are happy, that we made your stay with us comfortable. We sure do looking forward to welcome you back sometime. OCH team

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Really nice, clean and friendly hostel, that's not to far of a walk to the majority of 'tourist' type things to do in Christchurch. Had a couple of quite helpful and friendly girls at reception, would definitely stay here again next time I'm in Christchurch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 276bladem
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi Blade, Thankyou for taking the time to review our hostel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and stopped to have a chat to the reception team. We hope you had a great time around Christchurch, and we look forward to welcoming you back here in the future! Kind Regards The Old Countryhouse team

Balmoral, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We booked a double room here. The room has a good size and is clean. The cleanliness goes for the whole hostel. Well looked after. The kitchen has everything you need and it's all easy to find. The look of the hostel is nice as well with all the blue and wood features. Their motto is that hostel life works...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leeuw605
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi there, Thankyou for your review of our hostel, it is great that you enjoyed the atmosphere and look of our hostel. We are please hear you had a good night sleep, as well as an over all relaxing time with us. It was nice that you stopped by to have a chat with our team, they alway like to...

Reviewed 27 September 2016

My husband and I had a great time in Chirstchurch and loved The Old Country House! They were very kind and helpful! We had a private room with a comfortable bed! Free WIFI! Bathrooms were clean and convenient. Deff great place for backpackers!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle V
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi Danielle, Thankyou for your feedback of your stay with us. It is great to hear you had a lovely stay with us, made good use of all our facilities! We definately enjoyed having you stay with us and chat with our team. We wish you all the best for the remainder of your travels, and we look forward to...

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Having paid a deposit we arrived late after a long journey to be turned away and not refunded. The woman owner was so rude it was unbelievable. I have stayed in many back packers and this was not in line with the others. Having travelled the world and arrived in many places late, no where was a problem except here....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 111111james
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi James, Unfortunately we have no record of you booking or staying with us over the time period you have suggested, we do not have any emails in regards to this incident either so can not fully identify why this situation took place. As this was almost a year ago, our staff are also unsure why we would have turned...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We spent only one night here but we would definitely go back next time we go to Christchurch. The central heating was beautiful in the middle of winter. They had a spa pool. But most importantly there is a friendly dog there to meet. Plenty of parking all around the place too was important to us (some of which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fuchsiagem
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hello, Thankyou for taking the time to review our hostel, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Even though your stay with with us was brief, it is great to hear you had a comfortable stay. Max the dog also would have been happy to meet you to, he loves all the attention he can get :) We...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 July 2016

After arriving to New Zealand(before finding a suitable house) we spent first five days in this beautiful backpacker. Nice,clean rooms..great spa and sauna infront of the backpacker..great staff,specially their duty manager Lucka,who was a big help to us..close to he city centre..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evasmrekar11
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi there, Thankyou for your review of our hostel. We are glad to here you enjoyed your stay with us and made use of all our great facilities. Yes, Lucka is a wonderful asset and leader in our team. It is great you stopped to chat to our team members and they could help you with some tips around Christchurch....

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Really lovely hostel with a great homely feel. It was a little bit far out of town but I think that's pretty standard for Christchurch. The staff were so helpful and gave us good advice on everything. Only issue was it got a bit cold at night and some of the other guests never did their washing up. But overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rush91
TheOldCountryhouse, Front Office Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you so much for reviewing our hostel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff was able to help you out. Because it can get a bit cold in the rooms we have some hot water bottles for rent, to make sure everyone is nice and warm during the cold winter...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 145 in Christchurch
1,221 reviews
3.1 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#5 of 145 in Christchurch
532 reviews
3.8 km away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 110 in Christchurch
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#9 of 110 in Christchurch
217 reviews
0.9 km away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#15 of 110 in Christchurch
101 reviews
2.2 km away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 110 in Christchurch
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Well loved,upmarket and Multi Award Winning Backpackers Hostel in Christchurch. We welcome guests from all over the world since 1998. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Countryhouse

Address: 437 Gloucester Street, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $33 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old Countryhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Countryhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Countryhouse Hotel Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Countryhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great atmosphere and staff - very pleasant, clean, safe and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles TravelChapRotorua, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just ask them, they will give you a corresponding offer”
 of 5 bubbles sannchen2016, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check booking.com for good deals on the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Leeuw605, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Nice place, a little outside town”
  • Kitchen
 of 5 bubbles V2C, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“if you arrive after 8pm, pick a private room”
 of 5 bubbles carinas90, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5