We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Christchurch

Save
Traveller (243)
Room & Suite (112)
Dining (26)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good21%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“teddy bear”(112 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,491)
There are newer reviews for The George Christchurch
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,438 results
Traveller rating
1,017
296
88
28
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,017
296
88
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsteddy bearpescatore restaurantsmall luxury hotelpark suitenew zealandturn down servicehagley parkjunior suiteheated floorslovely hotelbeautiful parkour honeymoonavon riverbotanical gardensvictoria streetsouth islandnice room
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
331 - 335 of 1,438 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We were only staying one night, but we were greeted by a nice surprise as they upgraded us to a junior suite in honor of our 30th wedding anniversary. Our room was very comfortable and the bathroom was a nice size. The sink was a...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank charlesmaryc
Response from TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George ChristchurchResponded 3 February 2017

Dear charlesmaryc We are thrilled you were staying with us recently on your 30th wedding anniversary and that we were able to assist in making it such a memorable occasion for you both. It is wonderful to hear that both your room and your dining...More

Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

The hotel has good location, service by staff is inefficient but courteous. The room we were given was mildewed and when I asked for assistance in the smell they just ignored me. I later found that the back of the curtains was full of mildew...More

Thank bernardmcc
Response from TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George ChristchurchResponded 2 February 2017

Dear bernardmcc We are very sorry to hear of the issues you encountered on your stay with us this week and do apologise, both for your disappointment and for any inconvenience caused at the time. We understand that you were offered a complimentary upgrade to...More

Reviewed 29 January 2017

I was amazed to see that this hotel is listed by Tripadvisor amongst NZ's top hotels for 2017, so although I did not make this report at the time we stayed there, I feel that I must do so now. We stayed in a Deluxe...More

Thank skippy402
Response from TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George ChristchurchResponded 2 February 2017

Dear skippy402 We are very sorry for the circumstances that occurred with your bed linen during your stay with us a year ago. Even though we were able to offer you some compensation at the time it is disappointing to hear that this stay did...More

Reviewed 26 January 2017

A great stay. Lovely outlook from the room and close to the city for exploring. We were well looked after, particularly the little extras to make the stay extra special. We were treated like royalty. Thank you.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Z8365QAjulian
Response from TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George ChristchurchResponded 27 January 2017

Dear Z8365QAjulian We are thrilled to hear you left us having been made to feel so special. This is exactly the experience we want all our guests to have when they stay with us and we are delighted that our team delivered this for you....More

Reviewed 25 January 2017

A little out of the centre on the edge of Hagley Park but within easy walking distance of the centre, the I-site, or the nearest tram stop. We were well looked after - particularly the concierges Brian and Mark. One who helped with our missing...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert J
Response from TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George ChristchurchResponded 27 January 2017

Dear Robert J Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your recent stay with us. We are pleased you appreciated the convenience of our location to nearby attractions and that the service from our Concierge team was so helpful to you....More

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Christchurch, New Zealand
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
GreenLeaders Silver level
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Room Service
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room Service
Free Parking
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Hot Tub
Tennis Court
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 243 - USD 493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
USD 243 - USD 493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (243)
Room & Suite (112)
Dining (26)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Joanna R
30 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Danhua F | Reviewed this property |
We enjoyed the hotel as a boutique hotel very much! Ask for one of the more decorative room in the rear part of the hotel with access to a private garden and lounge. No pool but you will not be disappointed with the food and... More
0
Votes
Joanna R
30 January 2018|
Answer
Response from HindyHints | Reviewed this property |
Hi Joanna, congrats on your forthcoming wedding. Your question was posted on my review but think you need to email the George Hotel. It’s a lovely hotel and staff are really helpful so would recommend you get in touch with... More
0
Votes
Natalie S
14 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Bill I | Reviewed this property |
Hi As the temperature was perfect I would assume that there is AC
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Room 310 was bright and cheerful"
Read review
"Corner suites are large and sunny, but face the street"
Read review
"Best View looking at Avon River"
Read review
"a room overlooking the park would be really nice"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing