We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Christchurch

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The George Christchurch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The George Christchurch
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,184: English reviews
Nz
Reviewed 1 week ago

The reception service was excellent, it was a very pleasant surprise to have been up graded on arrival to a park terrace view room, the room was spotlessly clean, we were surprised at the supply of towels in the bathrooms this was excellent, the only gripe was the spa bath did not work. Instruction on the coffee machine would of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 526drh
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear 526drh We are very pleased we were able to extend to you an upgrade to one of our Park Suites on your recent stay and also to hear you appreciated the service from our Reception team. Our Maintenance Team have since checked the spa bath in the room you were allocated and it does appear to be working. We...

Grimsby
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We loved this place. This is how a hotel should be run, and after a dire experience in Aoraki Mount Cook, it was refreshing to see that fine hotels exist here in New Zealand. Perfectly presented and well equipped room, friendly staff, hotel very central. All areas of the hotel oozed understated class. We would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonothan_and_Elaine
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Jonothan_and_Elaine We are thrilled to receive your kind words and to hear that everything about your recent stay with us, from the comfort of your room to the service you encountered from all our team, met with, and hopefully exceeded, all your expectations. We certainly hope we might welcome you back on a future occasion and thank you for...

Usa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent small hotel within walking distance of restaurants. We stayed only one night but were impressed with the service and cleanliness. Loved their guest laundry area where I was able to do some loads in a clean and tidy area. Across from a beautiful park which we enjoyed walking around.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Terry G We are delighted your recent stay with us was an enjoyable one and that you left with a positive impression of the service you received from our team, the cleanliness of our facilities and the convenience of our location to the Park. We are also pleased you were able to make use of our complimentary guest laundry...

Usa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very comfortable beds. Bathrooms had heated floors and towel racks. The food was amazing. Very friendly staff eager to meet all of our needs. Washer, dryer, soap free of charge. Loaner bicycles with helmets also free of charge. Walking distance to Botanic Gardens.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G3754ASmichellef
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear G3754ASmichellef Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us. We are delighted you found our rooms and beds so comfortable, our staff so friendly and helpful, and that you also appreciated and were able to make use of our complimentary guest laundry and bicycles. We appreciate you taking the time to post this review. Kind...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well if it's good enough for royalty it's good enough for my wife. Seriously great boutique hotel with two restaurants 50 On Park and Pescatore. Both were good choices. The bar staff are engaging and tireless. Breakfast is self serve but sufficient but if you need other choices they available. The team were great and we would come back. Plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michaelmith
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Michaelmith We are thrilled your recent stay with us met with, and hopefully surpassed, all your expectations. It is very pleasing to hear you enjoyed your dining experiences in both our restaurants, found our staff so engaging and also that you appreciated our complimentary guest parking and the efficiency of our WiFi. Thank you for taking the time to...

United States
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff is excellent and helped me organize a day in Christchurch. The room was nothing special, it was modern and had okay amenities, but nothing really remarkable. The laundry was convenient. And the location was good as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 729travel
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear 729travel We are pleased you found our staff so helpful and that you also appreciated the use of our complimentary guest laundry during your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General Manager

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely stay, the rooms are a great size and everybody made our stay very warm and comfortable. The location is very good and a reasonably easy walk into town. The restaurant was pleasant as were the staff and the food was enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jodierolanding
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear jodierolanding Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that all aspects of your stay met with your satisfaction and we hope we might welcome you back on a future occasion. Thank you again for your feedback. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General Manager

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went for lunch at The George on a cold and wet afternoon. In March 2017. The staff were very welcoming and we were seated promptly on a table of our choice. The menu was interesting and had a lot of different choices. I opted for the Groper and my partner for the Lamb. Both were beautifully presented and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Gary W We are delighted to receive your kind comments relating to your recent lunch in 50 Bistro at The George. It is especially pleasing that all aspects of your dining experience, from the warm welcome you received to the quality and presentation of the dishes you chose, combined to ensure it was such an enjoyable experience. Thank you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a third level standard room that overlooked a green area - not sure what it was - but it did provide privacy and didn't overlook the car park. The rooms were a little tired with the desk area having a very worn top that detracted from the appearance. The bed was comfortable. Chocolates are provided every night with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RowePCCA
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear RowePCCA We are pleased that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us recently and appreciate your positive comments relating to the comfort of our bed, our turn-down amenities and your dining experience in 50 Bistro. We acknowledge and appreciate all your constructive feedback and thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kind regards Bruce Garrett...

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As we checked in we were told that they had upgraded us to a Park Suite which was really, really nice. As the name suggests it overlooks the park and is massive. Sets of sliding glass doors lead to the bathroom and to the walk-in wardrobe. Solid sliding doors separate the bedroom and the sitting room and kitchen. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrookieLondon
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear CrookieLondon We are delighted we were able to extend an upgrade to you on your recent stay with us and to hear your appreciation, not only of the Suite and its amenities as well as your enjoyable dining experience, but most importantly, of the service you received from all on our team. Everyone you have mentioned is so pleased...

258 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (198)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.0 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
602 reviews
0.9 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
6.7 km away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
1,627 reviews
1.2 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
556 reviews
1.3 km away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $294 - $672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George Christchurch staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The George Christchurch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try not to overlook the car park.”
 of 5 bubbles RowePCCA, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you eat in the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles CrookieLondon, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms on upper levels would be best. Views from rooms are nice and varied.”
 of 5 bubbles lindaaswift, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room overlooking the park.”
 of 5 bubbles , 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 5th floor so had a view and a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles 359SueS, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5