We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Christchurch

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The George Christchurch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,181: English reviews
Start your review of The George Christchurch
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

situated opposite a huge park, rooms are lovely, bathrooms in particular are great and staff very helpful.. dinner in the restaurant was very good only real let down was the small off site gym and no pool

 Report
Helpful?
Thank panamahat10
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear panamahat10 We are delighted you enjoyed our location, the comfort of our rooms, your dining experience and the service you encountered from all our team on your recent stay. While we do not have an on-site gym our sister hotel, just 2 minutes walk from us, does have facilities which are available for our guests to use. Thank you...

Christchurch
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed our wedding night and the night after at The George. They upgraded our room and the service from all of the staff was outstanding! It was luxury and such and so relaxing and comfortable. I would not hesitate to stay again and would recommened to anyone who is considering to stay here.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Robin B We are thrilled you chose to spend such a special occasion with us and even more so that all aspects of your stay ensured it was a memorable experience for you both. We hope we might have another opportunity to welcome you back - perhaps to celebrate your 1st wedding anniversary! Thank you for taking the time...

Entraygues-sur-Truyere, France
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

There is nothing wrong with this property. Staff are first class, situation is good but there are not many competitors in the city to compare it to. Our trip plan gave us two visits to this property. Rooms were good but neither gave us a view. First time we had electricity unit in garden and second time we had a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank d2morg
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear d2morg Thank you for your feedback following your recent stays with us. We are particularly pleased to hear that the service you received from all our team left a positive impression on you, however we are sorry that the views from the rooms you were allocated did not quite with your expectations. Thank you again for taking the time...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Boutique hotel located directly across from Hagley Park and a few blocks from restaurants and shops (still an easy walk to city centre as well). It's an older property (as most are in Christchurch) but quaint and cozy. Loved the heated floors in the bathroom and the front desk staff was extremely attentive and friendly. I also love how they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luv2travelgrrl
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear luv2travelgrrl Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us. We are very pleased you enjoyed the convenience of our location to nearby attractions and facilities and also that you appreciated the amenities in our rooms, the friendly and helpful service you received from our front office team and especially our special gift of George Bear!...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Overall hotel was pretty good - comfortable room, good location, nice restaurant in a pleasant setting. One thing I did not like was the bathroom design, where the door was on a frosted glass wall right next to the bed. Provided no privacy, plus ensured you would wake up your partner any time you turned on the light.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JRB06
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear JRB06 We are pleased that overall you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us recently and that you found your room comfortable and your dining experience in our restaurant to your satisfaction.There is a small night light just inside our bathrooms which can be left on during the night but we do acknowledge your feedback relating to the design of...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A new discovery on my first trip to city. Wonderful hotel in every way. Location perfectly​ situated across from the gardens. Superb front desk team who could not be more helpful or willing to go the extra mile to accommodate my needs

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwitraveler2017
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear kiwitraveler2017 We are delighted to hear your recent stay with us was a memorable experience and that the service you received from our front office team particularly stood out for you. We hope you might return to stay with us in the future and thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General...

Casablanca, Morocco
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the George. The rooms are really nice. The location is excellent. The hotel atmosphere is calm and quiet so it makes it very pleasant. We also appreciated the availability of laundry machines which we needed after traveling for a long time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karim B
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Karim B Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of your room, our location, the ambience of our property and also that you were able to make use of our complimentary guest laundry. Thank you again for your feedback....

Nz
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The reception service was excellent, it was a very pleasant surprise to have been up graded on arrival to a park terrace view room, the room was spotlessly clean, we were surprised at the supply of towels in the bathrooms this was excellent, the only gripe was the spa bath did not work. Instruction on the coffee machine would of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 526drh
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear 526drh We are very pleased we were able to extend to you an upgrade to one of our Park Suites on your recent stay and also to hear you appreciated the service from our Reception team. Our Maintenance Team have since checked the spa bath in the room you were allocated and it does appear to be working. We...

Grimsby
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We loved this place. This is how a hotel should be run, and after a dire experience in Aoraki Mount Cook, it was refreshing to see that fine hotels exist here in New Zealand. Perfectly presented and well equipped room, friendly staff, hotel very central. All areas of the hotel oozed understated class. We would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonothan_and_Elaine
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Jonothan_and_Elaine We are thrilled to receive your kind words and to hear that everything about your recent stay with us, from the comfort of your room to the service you encountered from all our team, met with, and hopefully exceeded, all your expectations. We certainly hope we might welcome you back on a future occasion and thank you for...

Usa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent small hotel within walking distance of restaurants. We stayed only one night but were impressed with the service and cleanliness. Loved their guest laundry area where I was able to do some loads in a clean and tidy area. Across from a beautiful park which we enjoyed walking around.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Terry G We are delighted your recent stay with us was an enjoyable one and that you left with a positive impression of the service you received from our team, the cleanliness of our facilities and the convenience of our location to the Park. We are also pleased you were able to make use of our complimentary guest laundry...

254 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (198)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.0 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
601 reviews
0.9 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.0 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.2 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
553 reviews
1.3 km away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $294 - $676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George Christchurch staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The George Christchurch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try not to overlook the car park.”
 of 5 bubbles RowePCCA, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you eat in the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles CrookieLondon, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms on upper levels would be best. Views from rooms are nice and varied.”
 of 5 bubbles lindaaswift, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room overlooking the park.”
 of 5 bubbles , 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 5th floor so had a view and a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles 359SueS, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5