We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Around the World Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Around the World Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 90: English reviews
Start your review of Around the World Backpackers
 Click to rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in a private double room. Bathroom, kitchen & room were clean. Nice area outside for sitting. Good free wifi. Unfortunately some sort of issue with the hoover which meant every morning it was used a horrible smell was left behind. Had to keep the room window open to try and get rid of the stale...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suziend
HildeTBG, Manager at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Pleased to hear you enjoyed our clean facilities and outside area. I am very sorry you happened to stay with us on the days that we had issues with our vacuum cleaner. We weren't able to solve the smelly issue so have purchased a brand new vacuum cleaner since. Apologies again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely, little hostel in Christchurch with clean, cozy facilities. They only have 4 bed dorms, so it's not too crowded in the room. Bathrooms are very clean and well looked-after, TV room and Computer room available 24/7, a big DVD collection to choose from and free popcorn :) The kitchen sometimes is a bit crowded in the evenings, but also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank knoedelator
HildeTBG, Manager at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for the amazing review. Our team works hard every day to make sure we offer a great service and clean hostel. I'm so pleased you have noticed that. Thanks again and safe travels!

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really comfortable room - only shared with one other. Arrived late and left early but the hostel were very organised about late arrival and left me a friendly and full note as well as instructions in advance about what to do. The bed was a proper bed (not bunk bed) and a towel was provided. The bed linen was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
HildeTBG, Manager at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, Sally. Pleased to hear you have enjoyed your brief stay in the Twin Room with us. Safe travels!

Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 January 2017

This hostel was my first stop in New Zealand and it was just perfect for start living in a new country. Very helpful and nice staff, clean bathrooms, nice kitchen and a lovely garden! Got back to Christchurch twice and stayed of course again in ATW :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClaraHen
HildeTBG, Manager at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice review! We're always happy to help our guests with anything they need. We help travelers coming to NZ for a longer time with setting up a bank account, IRD number and get them a SIMcard etc. Gives them more time to enjoy beautiful New Zealand. Thank you again and hope to see you...

Quito, Ecuador
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Clean 4-bed room, good kitchen facilities (stove, fridge, utensils, etc.), computer room, suitcase storage, clean showers and kind receptionists. Walking distance from city centre and fair price. Nice hostel guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M S
HildeTBG, Manager at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. Glad you enjoyed the hostel and everything which comes with it. Safe travels!

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed in the single room out back by the kitchen. It was so quaint and comfortable! Lara was incredibly nice and accommodating when I checked in and helped me with all the questions I had. The hostel feels very welcoming and they offer to book tours and other accommodation along your travels. Stay at their sister hostels to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmheuett
HildeTBG, Manager at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Our staff always goes the extra mile, I'll pass your great feedback on to them. We have traveled most of the country ourselves and done many of the great activities around, so we want to make sure our customers experience these as well and are happy to book activities, recommend other accommodation or get...

Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

The hostel itself is a small one, I like that. It is super clean and tidy and the staff is ultra friendly and helpful. If you stay for a few days (recommended) you will make friends in no time. Also free WiFi is a bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steffen S
HildeTBG, Manager at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the great review! I'll pass your feedback on to the staff. We all try to go the extra mile all the time. Thanks again and safe travels.

Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Very nice Hostel. The bathroom, kitchen and the rooms are very clean. They have a really nice garden, a TV and a computer room and you can also borrow some DVDs. The staff is very kind and we were allowed to use the facilities after our checkout.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivien B
HildeTBG, Manager at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! I'll pass your feedback on to the cleaners who work hard every day to keep our hostel clean. Our check-out time is 10am but we're always happy for our guests to stay around a little longer to enjoy our facilities, luggage storage and Free Wifi etc. All the best for your travels!

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

This hostel was quite far from public transport, about 15 min walk and a half hour bus ride from the airport. The hostel is kind of in the middle of no where but given the geographical situation Christchurch is in I am satisfied with my stay. The hostel itself doesn't have the best atmosphere. The facilities are okay, the kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebeca A
HildeTBG, Manager at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us after your stay with us. We are one of the closest hostels to the central bus station and city centre. This will be a 10/15min walk or there are two busses leaving from right behind the hostel which can take you to or from the central bus station. We try to create a kind and...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Awesome little hostel, great clean kitchen (also my main hangout area), free tea and coffee, all the supplies you need. We even cooked a 10 person diner over there. Great garden with hammocks, tv room, computer room, board games. Stayed for 1,5 weeks and was never bored. Clean bathrooms and enough space.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fenna v
HildeTBG, Manager at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review! Good to hear you got to enjoy everything in and around the hostel during your time with us. The hammocks are a great hit on these beautiful sunny days. Thanks again and all the best for your travels!

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#31 of 148 in Christchurch
1,395 reviews
0.6 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
1,628 reviews
0.6 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 148 in Christchurch
883 reviews
1.7 km away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#9 of 111 in Christchurch
219 reviews
1.3 km away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 111 in Christchurch
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the friendliest hostels on the planet...Around the World Backpackers provides a sanctuary from loud, large hostels. Our 36 bed hostel is approx. 10 Min walk to the Restart Mall, and to the Intercity bus depot. A great place to meet people from all around the world! Kick back, relax and stay awhile. •FREE Internet •FREE unlimited WIFI •FREE tea, coffee and spices for cooking •FREE herbs (and whatever is growing in the garden)•FREE SKY TV - Movies and Sport•FREE DVDs to view•FREE phone for local Christchurch calls and national 0800 numbers•FREE off street parking (on a first-in, first-served basis) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Around the World Backpackers

Address: 314 Barbadoes Street, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $29 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Around the World Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Around the World Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Around the World Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles RebecaA576, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Each room is very similar, and each bed comes with a personal reading lamp. Nice, simple rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles JeannineBradley, 3 Aug 2014 | Read review
“This is a nice quiet hostel and therefore room choice is not so very important in my experience. The backyard is a well-maintained garden with trees and birds and a herb garden, and is sunny, large, and private with large picnic tables and outdoor clotheslines(which I love).”
 of 5 bubbles alpinewriting, 25 Apr 2014 | Read review
“I stayed in the double room and different dorms and they all very clean and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles TylerJohnWells, 23 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Brilliant mattress in the double room we had.”
 of 5 bubbles tomf897, 21 Nov 2013 | Read review
5 of 5