We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

932 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 888: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is our fifth time staying here and we still love it. Clean, friendly staff, good location and off-street free carparking right outside- perfect for our visits to Christchurch. We especially love the split level rooms - for just a little extra you get a line downstairs and generous bedroom on the second floor. Very nice. Sadly the owners have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi-1976
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hi Kiwi-1976 and thanks for another review - what we like about this is that you are a constant litmus test for us and lets us know that we are consistently getting the things you like right. Been great having you to stay so often!

Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

John and Naomi were welcoming and helpful. Clear direction, maps of places of interest and suggestions on dinning -very useful. The apartment was clean and tidy as expected. They are trying to be environmental consciousness and gave clear instructions on how to participate which made it easy. Most things in walking distance or there is a great public transport system....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnNome
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello JohnNome and thanks for the review. No problemo about the name - would be great if we did share the same name but I am actually Jeff! Thanks for pouring the accolades on our recycling system, we like to think we are doing our bit!

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our party of 3 adults stayed for 2 nights at the end of a 7 week tour of NZ at the end of January. We were provided with detailed local information and recommended local restaurants, attractions etc, supplemented by a comprehensive and up to date room brochure. We needed space to re-organise our luggage for which there was plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billsellicks
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello billsellicks and thanks for the review! Just to pick up a few points, yes, the air conditioning is important and makes the room rest time all the more comfortable. We are one of the few places to have it! Choose well and be comfortable! We donate the purposely left behind clothes to the Salvation Army, its a win win...

Stoney Creek, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Travelled to this hotel as our first stop in New Zealand after arriving at Christchurch airport. The first thing the host did was give us a very detailed round down of the area, the methods of transportation and all of the good spots. The local knowledge was excellent and the attention to detail was great. This actually really helped out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello Simon B and thanks for the review. Great to see you were able to make good use of the way we present guests with info and had a good look around Christchurch. As for that small room, you did book our smallest and cheapest room, and we only have 1 room this size. It is the cheapest room we...

Beijing
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All the positive reviews are spot on. The owner was so welcoming and helpful, giving clear directions to places of interest and suggesting sights. She also provided a separate map and information (address, operating hours, and price ranges) for a great number of restaurants in the immediate area and within walking distance. We liked the two levels, which the unit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MicheleBelle
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hi there MicheleBelle and thanks for the review and for providing balance with the last reviewer who missed the boat. I hope readers realise that it was Naomi, the owner who checked you in, and yes she was the one who checked in the person who took it all so badly. Your review proves that when one is with it,...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately we got off to a very bad start on arrival here, we had prepaid our whole tour in advance yet when we arrived we were asked for our credit card details incase in the ladies exact words 'trashed the room' not exactly the warm welcome, we had been due to stay again but actually booked elsewhere as we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike S
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Yes you did! And please tell me since when was prepayment a guarantee of acting like an angle? We have a policy of confirming credit card details for room guarantee and 99.9% of people understand it as standard procedure. In your case, Naomi - the owner of the motel - had to ask several times in different ways before she...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I travel all the time, and the title, Best Motel, doesn't come easy. It Just had everything I needed when I needed it with no hassle. Friendly staff, great location, clean, spacious and reasonably priced room. The list continues, but you get the picture. From now on, it's the only place I'll stay in Christchurch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TurnpikePete
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hiya there TurnpikePete and thanks for the review which contrasts with the one above this. We like it when experienced travelers book, stay, and review us! Thanks for pointing out the good points and how good they were! We look forward to you staying again next tie you are in Christchurch!

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 January 2017

I concur with other excellent reviews. CentrePoint was ideal for our needs during our 4 day stay. The little table and chairs on the upstairs deck was a great place to meet people. The kitchen items were sufficient to prepare a simple meal. Wifi was good with very simple terms of use that you could actually read, "Be good online"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elizhealy
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review after staying with us for 4 nights. The weather must have been great while you were here and wonderful you made use of the communal balcony area to relax and meet other guests. Haha! Thanks for noticing the Ts'nCs of the internet use, that is what we expect while guests try to chew their way through...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 13 January 2017

The official Centrepoint automobile declares its central location in its motto written on the door, and we were delighted to discover that it truly was within walking distance of most restaurants and attractions that we wanted to visit. And there was always a parking place for our car when we had to use it. The owner/manager helped us move our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Staidthere
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Yes, the CentrePoint mobile does scream the praises of the motel - its proximity to the city centre as well as 30 restaurants within a 10 minute walk. Great to see you loved all aspects of your room, One Bedroom Apartment which gives extra space and separate areas to travelling couples. Oh and ye, we do have a free carpark,...

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in CentrePoint Colombo at the end of December '16. It is one of the two similar motel buildings, the one to the left. Don't miss it). We were greeted by Jeff, the owner, who was very nice to quickly check us in and showed us where we could dine and then have breakfast. The motel is a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dmitry T
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Dmitry T for the review. Yes, the motel next to us, which will remain nameless, looks like ours, they were designed by the same person. We are the newer one (fact), we are closer to town (fact) and we are better (personal opinion, and backed up by Trip Advisor ranking!) But enough about that! Great to see that...

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
533 reviews
0.8 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
1,568 reviews
0.9 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 146 in Christchurch
1,177 reviews
7.1 km away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.8 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $146 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#9 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from CentrePoint on Colombo Motel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Kihei, Hawaii, United States
over a year ago
Seoul, South Korea
Massachusetts
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from CentrePoint on Colombo Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms appear to be ok”
 of 5 bubbles SA5045, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All looked good to us.”
 of 5 bubbles billsellicks, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Close to city center and restaurants”
 of 5 bubbles michelef983, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I preferred the ground floor room with stronger Wi-Fi”
 of 5 bubbles AndrasP, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“It's a low rise building and backs onto the new Salvation Army. We were able to open our windows and have clean fresh air at night.”
 of 5 bubbles 111Mike, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5