We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington

Hostelworld.comUSD 37*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 72*
USD 37*
Great Deal
USD 72*
USD 72*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 271: English reviews
Start your review of Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
 Click to rate
Alberta
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location of the hostel was great. Easy walking distance to the museum and the water. Also, close to an airport bus stop. The room we had for four people was very small and very hot. With the window open, we heard a lot of noise from the street below, especially since it was the weekend. We couldn't get the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VoyageuseDeCanada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The location was super conventioneer, right next to Cuba St, so easy access to food and nightlife, and the room itself was decent and clean. My only issue was concerning paying for wifi, but honestly, Wellington has free wifi throughout the CBD, so it's just an incentive to not stay in the room all day

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mayisha K
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay here at Nomads Capital and do hope to see you again. Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Clean place, stay in a four beds room. The only down side is that the internet is not included as most of the backpackers place. Pretty cool that the pancakes are free in the morning. Didn't try the dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantal M
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we do offer free wifi in our welcome packs that we give all our guests on check in, for the most part we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you again. Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff at the hostel were friendly and informative and the free meal provided by the bar next door was good however as my room was just above the bar it was noisy when I was trying to sleep. The sink was also clogged before I arrived in the room. Location was good, very close to supermarket and museum.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophbeard
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, the bar next door does work with us to ensure our guests stay is comfortable therefore they will turn down the music and baring in mind we are happy to change rooms if available, we hope to see you again. Cheers Nancy

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Backpackers are not just for young wanderers, they are a great cost saving option for families too. I had a room with my 2 kids right in the heart of the city for 3 nights for a price of 1 night in a motel. We had our own bathroom. We had access to free breakfasts, light dinner and hot drinks....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ffsgivemeascreenname
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again! Cheers Nancy

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a twin room (double and single beds), ensuite. I hate shower curtains as they smell so sadly wouldn't shower for three days!! A bit noisy-we were at the back but the bar opened out under our window, but other guests were pretty quiet. We didn't eat breakfast so can't comment but overall it's a good place to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, for the most part we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Cheers Nancy

Peterborough, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We only stayed here because when we arrived to town everywhere else was booked solid. The only room left was a private 3 bedroom and although we cringed at the price of $180 it was kind of nice to have such a clean hotel like room with a tv and large ensuite. Dinner was included at the pub next door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kegr123
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we are glad to see you enjoyed our private rooms and free evening meal, we do agree our kitchen is on the smaller side we do have a court yard with a lot of seating also. We do hope to see you again. Cheers Nancy

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hostel is located conveniently right in the center of town. If you are looking for a bit more of a party hostel, I would say this is the place. There are clubs behind the hostel, so there is music to be heard from the nearby clubs. There are beautiful murals in the courtyard, which is located in between a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aaron W
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again. Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here many times already. Our conference was held at MFC. Just across the road!!! Couldnt be any closer than that. My first time to stay in a double room as I usually stay on a dorm/bunk beds. It was smaller than I thought (corner room). I did talk to the receptionist as will be staying again in July but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natureville
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are so glad to see you enjoyed our stay here and we will see you again in July! Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My friends and I were almost scared off by some of the previous reviews, but since almost every other hostel was full the night we needed a place we ended up booking at Nomads. We also ended up being pleasantly surprised. The staff was nice and helpful, our room and bathrooms on our floor were all very clean. One of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kmkabana
NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope to see you again. Cheers Nancy - Hostel Manager

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
720 reviews
0.8 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
652 reviews
0.5 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,180 reviews
0.6 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.0 km away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#19 of 46 in Wellington
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nomads Capital is a 5 star flashpacker hostel right in the heart of Wellington. Five minutes walk from the vibrant Cuba Street, bustling Courtenay Place, beautiful waterfront and award winning Te Papa Museum. With a range of rooms to suit every traveller and budget, and our own on-site bar and Travel Desk, we can take care of your every need while you are in town. This really is the perfect place to stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington

Address: 118-120 Wakefield Street | PO Box 11-247, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $31 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Highly recommended”
lovesoupnz, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“double/ensuite”
, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Opt for the smaller female dorms over the stinky 10-bed mixed ones”
MMurdoch13, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We got a private room (double or twin) and it worked out to be about 50 a night with own bathroom, really great value!”
, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were on third floor which was probably good”
, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
USD 37* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 72
Orbitz.comUSD 72
PricelineUSD 65
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates