We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Base Wellington Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Base Wellington Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Base Wellington Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 272: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Base backpackers in Wellington is a great place to stay, we were greeted by helpful staff. The room was clean and warm (visited in a very cold part of NZ winter). The accommodation was well priced and we were able to do everything we hoped to do in wellington from its central location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bevanandiona_lloyd
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey Great to hear you had such a good stay with us, Enjoy the rest of your travels. Timo Hummel

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in September 2015 in a double ensuite. Room was spacious and bed was comfy, although the decor was a little sad (patchy paint and broken curtains) and the floor we were on was fairly noisy. The best part of this hostel was definitely the location, literally 5mins from city centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather N
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the great feedback, we are at the moment in progress to refurbish our building and it is under work and progress. Enjoy the rest of your travels, Timo Hummel

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 September 2015

So the staff in question is one called CODY absolutely disgusting person to have working at a hostel has the worst attitude iv ever seen and doesnt want to be any help or assistance what so ever!!! He clearly rather hates his job, or just finds it very hard to be polite, and was very sarcastic about anything i needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gareth2785
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Gareth, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete an online feedback. I am surprised to get such a bad feedback form you, I believe there were a few breaches in our policy from you to vacant the room in time or to extend as we needed to...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Base Wellington was an okay hostel. I would not say it was my best hostel experience but definitely not the worst. Rooms can be a bit small and stuffy. A bit untidy as well since many people staying there are long term guests. The building itself was going through a lot of maintenance. Painting on one floor, one elevator was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ziggy28104
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the fair feedback, we are aware that sometimes long termers and our location have there challenges. Timo Hummel

Shepperton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2015

The beds here weren't actually too uncomfortable for a hostel and we spent a quiet night here. However a couple of us had very disgusting stains on our duvets and a few stray hairs - we found this pretty unacceptable and tried to sleep without using any sheets at all. Thinking back we probably should've complained to reception but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DawnEast
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Great Feedback although very surprised you did not mention this to Reception, if you choose to sleep in a shared Dorm Room sometimes people do sit on other beds or make a mess and if...

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Private double en suite room with a balcony over looking the city. Standard basic hostel facilities in the room. Only really used the hostel for sleeping in - but as we were quite high up there was little to no noise from other guests. We used the shared kitchen to cook in which was very well equipped, clean and comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora Chris, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your great Feedback, enjoy the rest of travels. Timo Hummel

Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

As far as buildings go it's a bit run down, but that is the one and only criticism I have. They are upgrading and they are winning. The bathrooms are excellent. But the stand alone reason I rate this backpackers "very good" is the staff. More friendly and helpful I have never met. Special thanks to Tobias, Nathan, Sam, Daniel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N7492XHgregs
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora Greg, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you very much for your great and honest Feedback, we do fight against the issues of an old building but we do believe we are getting on top of things. I will pass...

Manchester, UK
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend away to visit friends in Wellington. Booked a private twin room which was a good size with comfy beds The kitchen is one of the best hostel kitchens I have seen - well equipped and spacious Good location to visit all of Wellingtons attractions and nightlife with friendly staff on hand to help with any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sineaduk
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you very much for your great feedback, Timo Hummel

Reviewed 20 July 2015

This place does a job but nothing more. The rooms are fairly clean but very basic, the staff are reasonably helpful but nothing special and the location is pretty good just round the corner from one of the main streets of restaurants and bars. However, Wifi is pretty expensive and having paid for the premium wifi it really wasn't great....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atlas9192
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your great feedback, although we believe our internet offering is for an uncapped internet connection ( NO Data allowance and speed of 512k for low speed & 4MB for high speed)is good value...

Swansea
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Good for a base of operations if you are travelling and looking to explore Wellington. Hostel is centrally located and waking distance from many of Wellington top destinations. I'd recommend to back-packers as a place to stay. Café was pretty good and has its own bar/nightclub too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swiftearth
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your great feedback, enjoy the rest of your travels. Timo Hummel

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
641 reviews
1.2 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
1,518 reviews
0.2 km away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#2 of 47 in Wellington
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Base Wellington Backpackers

Address: 21-23 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $28 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Wellington Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Base Wellington Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Wellington Backpackers Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Base Wellington Backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
New Plymouth, New Zealand

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Base Wellington Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The higher the room, the better the sleep”
 of 5 bubbles 974jaccip, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for harbor view.”
 of 5 bubbles avram22, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“It's noisy on every floor, especially near the kitchen, and the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles G4933PPmeganw, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would say though, go the private rooms. The view of the city was spectacular from the eighth floor!”
 of 5 bubbles Barbary_Skipper, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Good staff”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5