Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel

Traveller (786)
View from room
Room & Suite (335)
InterContinental Wellington
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

AU$289
Save more with IHG One Rewards
AU$289
Get rewarded with One Key
AU$289
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#10 of 53 hotels in Wellington
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
2023 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
Boasting stunning waterfront views, InterContinental Wellington is five-star hotel in New Zealand's capital. Centrally located in Wellington near premier arts, shopping, and culinary destinations, our hotel is a tranquil respite from the vibrant city below. Enjoy exceptional international dining at GPO or an elevated coffee at Two Grey, escape to our award-winning Club InterContinental lounge, and unwind in our serene contemporary guest rooms and suites.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
On-demand films
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Afrikaans and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
2,106Reviews33Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,164
  • 612
  • 220
  • 71
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Andy wrote a review June 2023
Washington DC, District of Columbia25 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
For my week in Wellington for work and fun, I wanted to make things as easy as possible logistics wise -- and I wanted a good view. The InterContinental provided to be a great choice and well worth it to pay extra for Club access and a harbor view. The Club provided breakfast as well as evening hors d'oeuvres that made additional dinner not necessary. (The hors d'oeuvres were less impressive than some Marriott M Clubs I've been to, but still decent.) The excellent chefs make tasty omelette and egg sandwiches for breakfast. Also, the Club staff -- and all the staff, including the front desk -- were friendly and helpful. I also liked that the rooms were modern. And again, what a view of the harbor!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jordie Willis, Owner at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Responded 11 July 2023
Dear AndyF_20008, Thank you for your lovely feedback. The team and I are pleased you chose to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, a positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in and are vey happy to hear your stay was enjoyable. We hope you will visit us again. Warm regards, InterContinental Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zoey wrote a review July 2020
Palmerston North, New Zealand3 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We ask that our room be serviced while we were out the day. We returned the night late only to find that the card still hangs on the door, we can not enter because the card lock light was red. Had to go down to ask assistance to get into the room and discovered that nothing was done in the room. We went out for dinner and on our way out we asked if they can please clean the room, was then informed that housekeeping was done for the day. Ask if they can supply is at least with amenities since we relay on them for not bringing anything along and some clean cups and coffee. Returned and find some delivered and clean cup but no saucers or spoons. Feel that if housekeeping bother to go to the floor to do cleaning they would have cleaned the room and reported the lock not working , for a 5 star hotel this was unacceptable and being in the industry can not see why the duty manager could have find away to clean the room even if housekeeping was not there. After all I paid for 5 star treatment and must say received better service in a 3 star in Rotorua!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ed k wrote a review Jan 2020
Canberra, Australia92 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is my second stay at IHG Wellington, and I and leaving the review again as I would like to give my special thanks to the housekeeping staff who kept the room in neat and tidy conditions, and applied common senses to find the right timing to clean the room when we were out.

We stayed for a week, and had a rather irregular schedule, but we were never interrupted when we slept in or when we came back to the hotel during the day for a break. We knew they were doing other rooms on the floor so we expected them to knock on our door to do the cleaning, but they somehow organised their routine so that they did the job when we were out of the room. We had early morning tours and late arrival from ferry trips so we really appreciated it when we could take an uninterrupted rest during the day or late morning.

Other staff at the hotel were also very friendly and helpful, especially the gentleman at the bar who assisted us with drink orders.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ICW1, Administrator at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Dear Ed, Thank you for your kind review. The team and I appreciate you choosing to stay during your recent visit to Wellington. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your time here, especially the neat and tidy conditions of the room. We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Warm regards, InterContinental Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth R wrote a review Apr 2020
7 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here midweek and arrived late at night on a Tuesday. It was raining and we were wet, tired and ready for a room. The staff was quick to get us checked in and were so friendly that we felt right at home and as an unexpected bonus, we received an upgrade. We can’t thank you enough for this experience. It went so far beyond expectations. The room was spacious and well appointed. We purchased a room rate which included lounge access and we received more than expected for this cost. I ate the best omelette ever; kudos to the chef. We will definitely stay here again. Thank you so much to the entire staff for going above and beyond during our stay. Simply perfect!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pathmini m wrote a review Feb 2020
Wellington, New Zealand28 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Went for high tea today. Party of 11 adults and 3 children. Booking was made Friday 21.1.20 clearly stating 3 vegetarians. However, order got mixed up. 2 friends got their vegetarian orders but I didn't. Was told they could make one up for me but would not be the same as the other vegetarian order as they had run out the sweet items.
Well, obviously I had no choice as I couldn't walk out ( this would have been my first choice)..it was a friend's birthday celebration and I didn't want to be a debbie downer. Anyway, waited for about 40 minutes and the food came. At most, it had 4 items out of the items on the menu, all savoury. The sweet items .....well I could have gotten those in any old cafe, don't need to go to a 5 star hotel for that.......so pathetic. Absolutely regretted going and honestly did not enjoy it. Even my 11 year old thougt it was a rip-off. They apologised and didn't charge me for my daughter's meal which was $19 but I paid my full $39 for a less than average meal. Absolutely appalled as unfitting for a so called 5 star hotel as it appears that they gave difficulty managing any bookings over thd single digit. I certainly will not be repeating this experience again and advise that anyone wanting to try to do so with caution.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ICW1, Manager at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Dear pathminim2018 Thank you for your candid review. We sincerely apologise that your recent High Tea did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent product and service, this is extremely unfortunate that we failed on this occasion.We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. We would much appreciate if you could get in contact with us directly at levi.kenny@ihg.com. Sincerely, Levi Kenny Lobby Lounge Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BGJohn wrote a review Jan 2020
Staffordshire, United Kingdom24 contributions41 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed the night on our tour. Can’t fault the hotel but there is improvement to be made for parking. Upon arrival the concierge told us we could pay $45 for valet parking in hotel spaces or park ourselves for $7 for the night. We parked ourselves. It would be great to make it clear that you can only pay until 8 am. We therefore ended up having to set an alarm and get up and go and add more money to the car at 8 o’clock to avoid a parking ticket. This just seems a crazy situation at such a nice hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ICW1, Manager at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Responded 18 Jan 2020
Dear BGJohn, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you chose to stay with us during your visit to Wellington and are delighted to see you enjoyed your time here.We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, InterContinental Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SandK91 wrote a review July 2020
New Plymouth, New Zealand123 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for two nights; Friday Saturday. Booked thru the hotel for a very good rate including breakfast and parking. The 6th floor corner room was a good size with plenty of storage. Comfortable bed and pillows. Bathroom was well appointed with a selection of toileties and had large bath towels. The room was clean and well presented. All staff members were a pleasure to deal with and all requests were seen to quickly. Breakfast was good, not a huge range but still good. The hotel is in a very good location for walking around the city and close to the waterfront. There was very little noise from the street below. Will stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Manuela S wrote a review Mar 2021
Gisborne, New Zealand15 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely loved our stay at this hotel. A great plus is the central location without the rooms being noisy (double glazing if not triple glazing). We chose the InterContinental because of the parking availability and the valet service which was much appreciated after many hours of driving. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are super comfortable and the beds just divine and promise a very good night's rest. Due to Level 2 we didn't have buffet breakfast but a la carte which was served next door and excellent. All in all a 10/10 perfect stay and good value for money considering our rate included breakfast AND parking!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ChrisandDavid2016 wrote a review Jan 2020
Feilding, New Zealand201 contributions120 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It has been a while between visits and we were looking forward to a birthday treat, booking two nights, on the club floor, to ensure we could access the club lounge for breakfast, afternoon tea and evening canapés and drinks. Our room was on the top floor, the 9th. The room was good and met our expectations, however felt some things are starting to look tired. We were unlucky to get two false fire alarms at 1am and about 1.45am which spoilt our first night after walking down 9 floors of stairs on two occasions. We were surprised there was no note or mention of it the next day from staff. We felt the service was not quite at the same level of other Intercontinental hotels we’ve visited in Sydney, Melbourne and Adelaide. However, the location is great! A tip- if you want daily room service remember to press button to alert house staff or mention it to the concierge as you leave the hotel and then it should be done while you’re out otherwise it may not be done. We were out for about 6 hours and arrived back, to our room not serviced and the drapes that wouldn’t open had not been fixed despite a request before we left our room in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ICW1, Manager at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 Jan 2020
Dear ChrisandDavid2016, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you chose to stay with us during your visit to Wellington and are delighted to see you liked the hotel location. However, we apologize that your recent stay did not meet all your expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, InterContinental Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Happy traveller wrote a review July 2021
Auckland, New Zealand5 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Foyer etc are all quite fancy. Room was tired. Bathroom had paint coming off the wall, mould on the tiles and worn out sink plugs. Carpet in the foyer on Level 4 has a nasty bleach stain on it. Change rooms in the pool area are closed. Pool area looks tired also.

Having said all of that the Concierge was the best in the business. So helpful in every respect.

Bar staff not so much. We ordered a mocktail that required a top up of lemonade to make it more palatable for our daughter so I asked for a small jug "We don't do jugs" so was promptly charged $6 for a whole glass of lemonade making the mocktail $18 and still undrinkable.

There is maintenance going on all day which if you want to sleep in or during the day is not going to work for you.

If you order room service there is an extra charge of $8 for them to bring it to your room ... Also, no mini bar.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for something that has been updated recently if it exists.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 Aug 2021
Hi 08DeltaOnTheR!se21, I appreciate you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us about your hotel experience. I am sorry to read that you could not fully maximize your stay because of the issues with the cleanliness standards of the amenities, general upkeep of the room, renovation, and the level of service you received from the hotel bar. Be assured that I have conveyed this to the hotel management as a tool to enhance the housekeeping service and hotel features. We hold ourselves to a much higher standard, so we'll have the relevant team look into this. Your insights are valued. I certainly hope that you would allow us to have you experience the worry-free accommodation we deliver to all of our guests. Warmest regards, Zel N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Wandazn
Auckland, New Zealand23 contributions10 helpful votes
I had the same question and actually emailed the hotel few weeks back, the answer I got was the club lounge is temporarily closed due to COVID, they will be looking at reopening it once the boarder is opened again. Hence why not club rooms available for booking.
Lynpj asked a question June 2019
Ballarat, Australia267 contributions87 helpful votes
Does hotel have washing and drying facilities
Answer from Ragdad
Raglan, New Zealand229 contributions47 helpful votes
No. Only a laundry and drycleaning service
Hawaiilov asked a question Apr 2019
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Is this hotel a Marriott
Answer from ICW1
Lower Hutt, New Zealand1 contribution1 helpful vote
No it is not. It is InterContinental Wellington.
T E wrote a tip Mar 2024
7 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a Club Lounge access room "
Read full review
Roy&Pat wrote a tip Feb 2024
Norfolk, United Kingdom97 contributions65 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book directly with the hotel, or utilise the IHG web site, to get the best rates."
Read full review
TJMZ wrote a tip Jan 2024
Auckland, New Zealand18 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No tips."
Read full review
the_Geee wrote a tip Dec 2023
England, United Kingdom381 contributions219 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Use the valet service for ease"
Read full review
OzTravels80 wrote a tip Dec 2023
Perth, Australia745 contributions329 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Include the Executive lounge into your booking, you won't be disapointed."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wellington area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$277 - AU$323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
intercontinental wellington hotel wellington, wellington intercontinental
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandGreater WellingtonWellington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
234
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

INTERCONTINENTAL WELLINGTON, AN IHG HOTEL (AU$277) - 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Mate (0.2 km), Tarot Zamm - Tarot Reader (0.3 km), and Wellington Museum (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, Boulcott Street Bistro, and Pravda.
Are there opportunities to exercise at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Wellington.
Are any cleaning services offered at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Wellington HotelsWellington Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WellingtonHotels near InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars