We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

West Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
West Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

389 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for West Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 366: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 September 2016

If you are just looking for a place to rest in Wellington, you can't go past this hotel. It was centrally located and the price wasn't bad either. The hotel is small and the room we were in look a bit tired but it didn't really bother us. We didn't try the food there so can't comment on that. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank syoke
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We agree that the central location and the value for money pricing make West Plaza Hotel a great mid-range accommodation option in the city. It’s also good to hear that you would be happy to stay again. We appreciate your comments. Regards, Julie Wilcock - GM

Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

I'd stayed here a few years ago and been disappointed, so was not looking forward to my night here. However, apart from the hallways, which I don't think that you could do much about, the rooms have been refurbished nicely and the bed was just fantastic. It was also really nice to be able to open windows, and the provisions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LornaMurray
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments about the hotel, it’s always so good to hear when guests will return. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option with a fantastic location and our next planned refurbishment is the lift lobbies and corridors to the guest rooms. This project starts in December 2016 through to February 2017. We appreciate your positive feedback...

Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 September 2016

I really felt this hotel was slacking in service - On check the two girls at the counter were having a disagreement someone was being overly bossy to the other girl. Every-time I had a shower the whole bathroom turned into a lake. The rooms were not serviced and there was no one at the counter in the late afternoon....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Janette H
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

I was disappointed to see your negative comments about the service at our hotel. This is not our usual standard, as you can see from the many positive reviews. We are extremely proud of how helpful and friendly our staff are. I have spoken with the reception team who were working when you checked into the hotel and the two...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Stayed here for WOW and was pleasantly surprised as this hotel is in a good location for events & cbd shopping & cafes. Room was adequate for a one night stay & we dined in hotel for pre show dinner and also breakfast the next morning. Very pleased with both the service given and no complaints with dinner or breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sher341
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive feedback, it’s always so good to hear from guests who have enjoyed their stay with us. I was also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals at City Dining & Bar and that you received great service. Thanks again we appreciate your review and hope to see you again. Regards, Julie Wilcock - GM

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights while attending a conference. The location is excellent being within walking distance of Te Papa and main shopping streets. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant. The hotel foyer was good with comfortable seating areas but the rest of the hotel is in need of updating. The colour of the paintwork in the hallway...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith1016
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your feedback. I was disappointed to read your comments about the corridors to the guest rooms. We have plans to refurbish all of the corridors and the lift lobbies starting from December 2016 through to January 2017. I have also passed on your concerns about the toweling to the housekeeping team. We are a mid-range value for...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Very central to many great Wellington attractions. Walking distance to Te Papa, Dominion Museum, Michael Fowler Centre and the shopping precinct. Comfortable room with nice furnishings. Some of the paintwork was a bit tired but overall felt it was goid value. The staff were very good. Room service food was good quality and quick. We would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 757carol
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the feedback, it’s good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your positive comments about the hotel, the staff and the location are much appreciated. We are a mid-range value for money hotel in the central city and your review will help others to choose West Plaza Hotel when next in Wellington. Thanks again. Regards, Julie...

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

What bugged me most about this hotel is that the photos of the lobby and restaurant are misleading. The walk up to the rooms is like entering a creepy old hospital. The room I had was small, with low worn and damaged ceilings and worn and chipped, uneven tiles in the bathroom and just a curtain in the small shower,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emilie O
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

I was disappointed to read your negative review of the hotel. I am sorry we were not the style of hotel you were looking for. We have a full selection of photographs available on our website and TripAdvisor that show all areas of the hotel, not just the lobby/restaurant areas. It is a shame that during your time at the...

Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Food looked nice.. varieties for everyone with beverages to suit. Place was spacious and clean. Staff were prompt and nice. Some food a little high price for quality(chicken curry). But other food looked amazing (steak, chicken etc) Central wellington so close to public transport and water front. Did not stay in the hotel but did see some of the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sierra P
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments about City Dining and Bar. It’s always nice to hear when guests enjoy dining with us. I will pass your comments about the meals onto the Kitchen team. Regards, Julie Wilcock - GM

Nelson
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Being on Wakefield and close to Cuba Street makes for a very convenient inner city location. It is also close to the bus route to and from the airport. The hotel is clean and tidy and offers the normal in room facilities expected of a hotel in this category. The staff are always friendly and accommodating. We requested a different...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZWillco
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your positive comments about the hotel, the location and the staff. It was also nice to hear that your enjoyed the Breakfast Buffet. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option situated in the heart of Wellington and your feedback is appreciated. We hope to see you again. Regards, Julie Wilcock - GM

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 September 2016

My work booked rooms for both my colleague and me in one booking but he got upgraded to a suite for free (which looked great) while I was stuck with a dark, little room with a shower that I couldn't fit under without bending my knees (I'm only 5'5"). Bathroom looked a bit unclean and there was no hair conditioner....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ritchyroo
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your comments, I am sorry that you were unhappy with the style of room you received. I was also disappointed to hear about the bathroom as this is certainly not our usual standard. As you can see from the many positive reviews we have received, we are very proud of the standard of cleanliness at the hotel....

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
1,945 reviews
0.4 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#13 of 46 in Wellington
2,288 reviews
0.2 km away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
0.3 km away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
1,100 reviews
0.6 km away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Address: 110 Wakefield St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $113 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from West Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from West Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room at the back of the building, quieter...and check trip advisor! Hotel reduced price for me due to trip advisor email!”
 of 5 bubbles Roitacop, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't worry about the views..you are so close to the happenings in the city around you...and quiet too!!!”
 of 5 bubbles guggetravel, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 502 has lovely sun first thing in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles PatriciaJoy, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles JanetteH484, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“No real difference where you book the room I stayed in was quite and good blackout curtains, a must for my wife.”
 of 5 bubbles davidrT1825DP, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay