We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

West Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
West Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

441 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 412: English reviews
Start your review of West Plaza Hotel
 Click to rate
Masterton, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A weekend break in Wellington and we had stayed at the West Plaza before. A great central location. Able to get a carpark on site. Room okay but shower water flows across the floor to the toilet. The TV options are very poor for this standard of hotel. Unfortunately there was a rowdy party somewhere close which meant disturbed sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, it’s good to hear that you enjoyed our central location and that you were able to leave your car here while you explored. I am sorry that you had noisy neighbours and found it hard to fall asleep because of this. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option situated in the heart of Wellington....

tugun
Reviewed 1 week ago

3.6 star for me , Yes found the Hotel a little Souless was a weeee bit exy for what the room offered, 1 thing a just realized most Hotels do not have A/C , no idea what happens on hot days , we arrived , room was a little warm . Reception were excellent , low 4 s for them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keezaTugun
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option with an excellent location in the centre of Wellington. It was nice to read that the reception staff were very helpful. We appreciate your feedback. Thanks, Julie Wilcock - GM

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed from the 8/317 - 14/3/17 so we could attend a wedding. Location was perfect. the staff were always helpful and friendly (one guy on reception even punched another hole in my sling back shoe strap for me)! Our room was worked well for 3 of us and the domestic staff were fantastic with their cleaning and attitude. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline A
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We appreciate your feedback about the friendly staff, the location and the hotel breakfast. I will pass on your comments regarding dinner to our Head Chef, to help make improvements. Thanks, Julie Wilcock - GM

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at this hotel before and love it's central location, walking distance to markets, Cuba Street, Queens wharf & Te Papa. Our room was well appointed, modern colours including linen & accessories, clean & tidy. Loved the painting of "St Gerard's Church" on the wall, a very tasteful addition of a historic Wellington icon. Shower was amazing and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne F
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your positive feedback, it’s so nice to hear that your enjoyed your stay at West Plaza Hotel. We do hope to see you again in the future. Thanks again. Regards, Julie Wilcock - GM

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a decent room; good size and clean although it had a view of a multi-storey car park. The whole hotel just felt a bit soulless and businessy. The free wifi is really stingy, especially if you have multiple devices (which everyone does nowadays). The location is great; walking distance to absolutely anywhere you might want to go in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. On check in we provide 800mb of complimentary Wi-Fi, most of our guests find this satisfactory for a 24 hour stay. After this amount is used completely we do offer unlimited Wi-Fi at a minimal cost. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option situated in the heart of Wellington CBD and we appreciate your...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Second stay here for 3nights. Arrived after late flight from Sydney, reception were friendly and soon checked me in. Room was spotlessly clean and had everything you needed for a short stay. Asked for a fan in the morning as room was exceptionally hot, and housekeeping soon arranged for this without any problems. Only down side was that I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank s c
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, it’s good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff were friendly and helpful. We appreciate you leaving your positive comments about the hotel. Thanks again, Julie Wilcock - GM

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

At $175 a night we expected to have a really nice room. Instead you can see the whole room needed a make over. I could see a water patch on the roof, as well as some rust on the metal strip by the curtains. The bathroom was DISGUSTING!! There was blood on the toilet seat hinge, pubes and dust behind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tash247
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

We were disappointed to read your negative comments about the hotel, we are sorry that your stay was not as it should have been. We pride ourselves on the standard of cleanliness at West Plaza Hotel and as you can see from the many positive reviews we have a very high standard. Your feedback has been passed directly onto the...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the West Plaza for 4 nights in April 2017. It was okay for a short stay, but I probably wouldn't go back there. Pros: good price compared to other hotels in the cbd, location was perfect, staff were lovely. Cons: I'm pretty sure the bed was only a double size, the bathroom was tiny and fogged up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgina C
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, it’s good to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and that the staff were friendly and helpful. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option situated in the heart of Wellington city. We do charge a fee for parking similar to most inner-city hotels and I can confirm that all of our...

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Second time staying here for work and does the trick. This time I was in the two bedroom apartment. Great size and good location for walking around. Parking was easy. Quick check in and out. We had the ensuite in our room which meant our two girls used it. This works fine for us but could be a hassle with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ajplus3
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option with an excellent location and your feedback will help us to improve. Thanks again, Julie Wilcock - GM

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I find this hotel a brilliant place to stay for a conference I go to in Wellington each year..Close to the venue, cafe's and shopping.... I found the staff this year exceptional..nothing was too much trouble for them to do.... Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ericandlyn
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate your comments about the friendly helpful staff and the excellent location. It is so good to hear when guests enjoy their stay. We hope to see you again at West Plaza Hotel. Regards, Julie Wilcock - GM

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,070 reviews
0.4 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
718 reviews
0.5 km away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
1.0 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,791 reviews
0.6 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Address: 110 Wakefield St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $130 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from West Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from West Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Large two bedroom apartment but only one bathroom/ensuite”
Ajplus3, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were on the fourth floor, very little street noise.”
357lizk, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I would contact West Plaza direct to book”
Rachelann08, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“North facing rooms are quieter”
, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No, all seemed bog standard”
AnonymousMalaga, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5