We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Amora Hotel Wellington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Amora Hotel Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,144: English reviews
Start your review of Amora Hotel Wellington
 Click to rate
New York City, New York
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Recently I stayed at the Hotel with my husband for a week. Loved the city with all the wind and the crazy spills of rain. The way they treat the guest there is quite nice. There was a time when I lost my bag and luckliy the front office duty manger was very efficient and came to my aid with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank milesjj
Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a nice stay here with an amazing view of the Wellington waterfront. The view alone is worth the stay and it was great value for money - we had 2 double beds. The rooms were small (for 2 beds, 1 bed might be fine) but comfortable with great bathrooms. We did not have a package that included breakfast and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chiamaka
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Chiamaka, I very much appreciate you taking the time to provide a review of your experience, and am pleased to read that you enjoyed our wonderful views from the upper levels of the hotel. Thank you for providing feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the capital. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell,...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Amora is a wonderful hotel in a great location of Wellington. Great food. If you are looking for a nice place, stop your search, this is the place to stay. Our rooms were in fine condition. Our breakfast buffet was filled with many choices for any visitor who might be a little picky over their food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbakker
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear jbakker, I am delighted to read your feedback highlighting the fabulous location we are lucky to enjoy, and the quality of your dining experience here at the Amora Hotel Wellington. Your kind comments are very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel staff were friendly, helpful and professional especially the concierge and Arush on reception. Room was spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and despite being on a busy road could not hear any traffic noise. Location was in walking distance of everything we wanted and would definitely return on our next visit to Wellington.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JAK630
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear JAK630, Thanks so much for some wonderful feedback of your experience here at the Amora Hotel Wellington, highlighting the cleanliness of your room and the high standard of service you received from our staff. Your comments are very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell,...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great hotel, great location, great price, great staff, food, bar everything great, don't bypass this hotel, you will miss out ! Couldn't be more helpful, polite and courteous. Rooms are immaculate and your 5 mins walk from everything, shops, bars, museum, harbour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stevesoverview
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Stevesoverview, It is a pleasure to read your fabulous review of your experience here at the Amora Hotel Wellington! Thanks so much for your feedback; it is very much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Amora is in an ideal central location, and a real value. This very good hotel is beginning to show signs of wear, but the rooms are clean and well equipped. We found the staff and service to be excellent. If you are driving, it is highly recommended that you include valet parking for an additional NZ$35 per night as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinMadison
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear WisconsinMadison, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here in Wellington, and your stay at our hotel. I will share your feedback with my team who will be encouraged by your comments. Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your experience, and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back...

Stoke England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel upgraded us to a suite which was excellent. The food was great and because we had a slight leak from a ceiling hatch they also waived the cost of valet parking. All in all a great place to stay with first class service.Unfortunately we only stopped for one night but it was just as well with the cyclone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harris780
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear harris780, I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, and managed to avoid the heavy rain that we experienced due to the cyclone. Thank you for posting a fantastic review; it is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Amora Hotel the next time you visit Wellington. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General...

Northamptonshire UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the moment we arrived the staff were very helpful, directing us to a restaurant we had booked in Cuba Street and taking care of our car for which we had reserved a parking place. The room was spotlessly clean and spacious with an extremely comfortable bed. We were not disturbed by any external noise. We had breakfast in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveller06581
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Traveller06581, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience here at the Amora Hotel Wellington! I will share your feedback with my team whom I am sure will be greatly encouraged by your comments. Thank you for taking the time to provide a review; it is much appreciated and we look forward to your next visit. Kind...

Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for a couple of nights during a weekend break away in March. Right from the welcome at the door by the concierge and reception staff, the friendliness and professionalism was impeccable. The room met our expectations - the decor was modern and visually appealing. The beds were comfortable, and the rooms contained all amenities one would expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gondwana80
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Gondwana80, Thank you for providing a review of your recent experience. I have taken note of your comments and very much appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the capital. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose this only because it was close to Te Papa, the National Museum of NZ, and were delighted to discover extra-cordial and helpful staff and first-rate rooms. Clean and bright, not expensive, nice views of the city and harbour. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 101coastie
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear 101coastie, Thank you for providing some wonderful feedback of your recent experience here at the Amora Hotel Wellington! Your kind comments are very much appreciated, and we hope to welcome you back the next time you are in town. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General Manager

238 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (228)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
1,537 reviews
0.2 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#2 of 46 in Wellington
1,359 reviews
0.7 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.1 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This fabulous, downtown hotel redefines superior comfort and luxury with contemporary style in the capital city. Nearly all the rooms command unobstructed views of Wellington Harbour and/or the city and we’re located right in the arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel's rooms are spacious with 192 Deluxe Rooms, Club Rooms and Club Suites, featuring all the luxuries you would expect from a leading international hotel. Our Club Rooms are located on the top floor and assure stunning harbour views, superior in-room amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge for complimentary refreshments and a gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Wellington

Address: 170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $166 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amora Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, TravelClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Wellington
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Business Hotel in Wellington
#12 Family Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amora Hotel Wellington staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Amora Hotel Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I reckon room on the south east end are better”
milesjj, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher up rooms will be quieter, definitely get a waterfront view room.”
Chiamaka, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on a higher floor which had a partial view of the harbour.”
JAK630, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Request a room on an upper floor with a harbor view. Include valet parking if you are driving.”
WisconsinMadison, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Request a higher floor with a view towards the waterfront”
Gondwana80, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5