We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Trek Global

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Trek Global
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 197: English reviews
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It was my 2nd stay at Trek Global and this time I have to say that it was really great. My room was located in the retreat area and there was also a nice little terrace. I really enjoyed the fact that it was quiet and that not noisy at all. The staff was also really helpful and nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L2692JDelisabeths
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Definitely worth staying several days! In the city centre, cozy beds, clean rooms and toilets, lovely and helpful staff and lots of great people! Would absolutely go there again and recommend it to everyone!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank audreyx346
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked for one night and immediately knew I wanted to stay somewhere else. The front desk staff are friendly enough but don't make any other effort than just to check you in and take your money. The kitchen was dirty and incredibly poorly stocked, but the kitchenettes on each other floor were much better. The mattresses remind me of thin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill R
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review

Hi Jill, thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay. I'm sorry to hear we weren't able to meet your expectations. All of our staff are perfectly happy to make the extra effort to be helpful in any way possible (and would far prefer if we didn't have to take your money at...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Stayed here for a night booking with a friend through hostel bookers site. When we arrived we were told they had over booked and that we had to have separate rooms. I asked the staff why they didn't inform us sooner, as I would have found a different hostel to stay in had I known this beforehand and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Torrey F
TrekGlobal, Trek Global Guest Services at Trek Global, responded to this review

Hi Torrey, Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Due to the timing of your booking, we could not guarantee that you and your friend would be in the same room. We do try our best to assign friends together as bookings come in. We do pride ourselves on our customer service, and are sorry to...

Ashburton, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

My first time in a backpackers...as an over 50 y old woman and I had my doubts! But this place was great. Staff were friendly and helpful. Yes there were naturally a lot of youngsters and good for them but there was no partying. Building is old...but is cleaned well. All I needed was somewhere to sleep at night and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne F
TrekGlobal, Trek Guest Services at Trek Global, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, Yvonne! Come again soon!

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

The room was OK, staff are nice and helpful. However, it is nott the cleanest place. I'm talking about the bathroom. We were with a car and it was a nightmare to find a parking spot in the center. The hostel offers a car park, but it is 20$ per night. So if you are with a car I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elżbieta W
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review

Hi Elzbieta, we appreciate you taking the time to give your feedback. Our central location is very convenient, with most of the city's attractions within easy walking distance. However, for those with a car the central city can be decidedly inconvenient! While our first recommendation is to simply not bring a car to Wellington, we have secured a few spaces...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 December 2016

The rooms are very cramped and there are not enough toilets. OK for young singles or couples on a shoestring budget. There is free wifi. It gets quite noisy at night with partying backpackers. The ONLY advantage is it's very central location!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brkrishnan2016
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review

Hi brkrishnan, thank you for your review. In general, we have tried to maximise our usage of the space we have in order to keep prices as low as possible for the budget-conscious traveller. Unfortunately, this does mean we are unable to provide facilities more suitable for families with young children, although we certainly accommodate all of our guests the...

Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Me and my friend have just finished our stay at the trek global backpacker. We stayed at the purple floor in a double room. Overall, it's a thumbs up. What I like: Friendly and helpful staff, location, value for money, free games area What I don't like: Cold freezing shower, slightly humid room, poor noise insulation (if someone or a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin C
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback, Gavin! We truly value our guests, and all of our staff are happy to do whatever it takes to give the best service possible. Also, we have recognised that there are some noise issues, and so we have an after-hours security guard on site at night to help keep noise to a minimum....

Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Definitely not the best hostel I've stayed in, but not the worst. This is not an ideal hostel if you are looking to be involved in activities or necessarily meet many people. Also, the bathrooms were not always the most clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review

Hi Jessica, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We work hard here at Trek Global to offer our guests absolutely the best service we can with what we have available. Our housekeepers thoroughly clean the bathrooms and kitchens at least three times per day, and we put on social events throughout the week (such as bingo,...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016

This place is truly like a second home to me. Stayed at two different times long term and a couple days here and there. Staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome, answering any queries you have and giving great local knowledge. Purple wing - the most quiet wing so go here if you want peace and quiet Orange...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fell4NZ
TrekGlobal, Reception at Trek Global, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the amazing review! We will continue to do our best! Look forward to seeing you again!

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.0 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#14 of 46 in Wellington
606 reviews
0.3 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#13 of 46 in Wellington
2,316 reviews
0.6 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
664 reviews
1.0 km away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#3 of 45 in Wellington
524 reviews
0.3 km away
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Trek Global is the fresh, fun, and friendly backpackers in central Wellington. Close to everything, we've got all your backpacking needs covered as well as some great extras and freebies to tantalise your time in the Capital! Join in on the free in-house activities which take place once or twice a week or chillax and make yourself at home with our range of facilities on offer, outside BBQ area, exclusive girls only floor, games and pool table, Global Gossip WIFI access in all the rooms (extra charges apply), parking facilities (extra charges apply) or why not hire one of our top range bikes. Our Trek reception team are on hand to give you the entire lowdown on local knowledge around the city. We can book your Wellington activities as well as help plan the rest of your journey around New Zealand. With rooms and packages to suit all budget types from a basic bed in a 6 dorm, to twin & double rooms, right through to a family sized suite with Sky TV and some comfy beanbags! So whether you're flying solo or backpacking with friends, we guarantee no matter what you're looking for in a backpackers you'll find it at Trek Global! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Trek Global

Address: 9 O'Reily Avenue, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $23 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trek Global 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Trek Global reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Trek Global staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Trek Global staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“retreat area (quiet area)”
 of 5 bubbles L2692JDelisabeths, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Find a better place if you can afford it!”
 of 5 bubbles brkrishnan2016, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Purple - quieter floors, Blue/orange - best for socialising, red - cheapest”
 of 5 bubbles Fell4NZ, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I liked the top floor but it's female only”
 of 5 bubbles 22merelh, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Close to lots of transport.”
 of 5 bubbles HUZISADVENTURES, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay